We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't stop smiling”

Ireland's School of Falconry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A chance for you to fly a hawk around the spectacular grounds of Ashford Castle in a private one hour Hawk Walk. No-one ever forgets the moment when their hawk first swoops down from a tree to land on their gloved fist - Flying a hawk is an experience of a lifetime!
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Couldn't stop smiling”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My family (myself, husband and 3 sons aged 22,20 and 18) recently visited beautiful Ireland and read about this adventure here on Trip Advisor. Since everyone raved about the experience and the School was directly on our route from Ballina to Adare, we decided to take the Extended Hawk Walk. Laura was our guide and we cannot praise her enough for her enthusiasm, knowledge and guidance. All five of us went together with 3 brother Harris Hawks (Ha! 3 brothers with 3 brothers) and took turns flying them through the woods. After that amazing sight (3 hawks zooming through tree branches with ease) we had the privilege of flying Dingle the owl. They don't always offer to fly Dingle depending on his mood and what other birds are flying about, but we were able to handle this amazing creature with his bright orange eyes! Unforgetable! Thank you so much, Laura!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank meesums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    626
    2
    1
    0
    0
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The staff were fantastic, very informative and knowledgeable, i enjoy my hour walk and would highly recommend this activity at Ashford.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SamandRian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Teenager loved it!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My 14 year old son loved this experience- he walked a hawk and an owl. Very educational and really cool. Definitely an activity in Ireland that we will always cherish.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mainer321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Potomac, MD
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the coolest things I have ever done”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Hawk Walk at the Ireland School of Falconry was one of the coolest experiences of my life. Our guide, Matthew, was amazing. The Walk started with an overview of the history of falconry, and a tour of the birds in the school. Matthew told us about each of the birds, how and why they were used, and their particular history. We then each took a bird and went with Matthew around the spectacular grounds of Ashford Castle. This was a unique and once-in-a-lifetime experience that is not to be missed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MD-HockeyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanfransisco
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Activity”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was fantastic, very enjoyable, and informative, its terrific to have the falcon land on your arm. If you go to Ashford book the Falconry

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ldingdong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ireland's School of Falconry also viewed

 

Been to Ireland's School of Falconry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing