We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh”
Review of Molly Bloom's - CLOSED

Molly Bloom's
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

A group of ous dropped into Molly's last week and it was all that a hungry bunch of diners could have wanted. Everything was fresh and full of flavour. The staff informative and attentive. Need I say more? If only we had room for the apply pie.....

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank thymeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a Find and a Real Feast”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We came upon the little gem that is Molly Bloom's last summer. The coffee shop is light and airy and we were welcomed warmly by the friendly staff. We chose to go for the breakfast and our only regret was that we didn't have enough room to sample the wonderful home made cakes on display. We did however buy some to take away and we would highly recomend the New York cheesecake and the wonderful bakewell tart and the muffins and the scones ... the list goes on.

We would recommend this find to everyone and will certainly be returning when we are next in cong.

Thanks to all the staff.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Deirdre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home-baking at it's Best”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stopped here when passing through Cong recently. It had been recommended by my sister. Molly Bloom's is a great find - it lived up to everything she had said - and more.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the fresh homemade cakes, scones and wheaten bread were all wonderful.

The waitress told us that they use local produce where possible. So we asked her "Where is your bread made?" she pointed over her shoulder and said "In the kitchen!".

We all laughed, but we told her we were disappointed because we had been hoping that there was a local bakery where we could have bought some to take with us. She went and checked with the kitchen and although they don't usually do so, was able to sell us a loaf to take with us. We enjoyed delicious wheaten bread at our holiday house over the next two days.

Molly Bloom's is now firmly marked on our holiday map. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Carmel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Cakes, Great Coffee, Warm Welcome”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

For the last few summers, we have stopped at Molly Bloom's as we pass through Cong while making our way to holidays in Galway, Clare and Aran Islands.

I have to say that at first it was good - but it just keeps getting better!

On first impression Molly Bloom's is light, bright and spacious. As you come through the door you are faced by a counter groaning with home-baked goodies! There is a choice of indoor or terrace tables, or there are arm chairs in one corner and a big funky sofa with coffee table right in the middle.

On this visit, to start one of us had Smoked Salmon and the other had the Tomato and Basil soup. The salmon was great - they told us that it was locally produced and smoked - accompanied by a substantial salad. The soup was wonderful! It was a bit early in the year for local tomatoes ... but the chatty proprietor (who isn't actually called Molly! :-) told us that she would be using tomatoes from her own greenhouse when they were ripe.

Both dishes came with their home-made wheaten, soda bread with ... was it pumpkin or sunflower seeds ... perhaps it was both. In any case it was the lightest wheaten bread I have ever had, it complimented the smoked salmon perfectly and was great dunked in the tomato soup.

Home baked cakes are the speciality that brought us back to Molly Bloom's. There was a huge range and they all looked so good that they made it a difficult choice. On the day we were there the selection included: scones, baked cheesecake, muffins, fruit pies, Guinness cake, carrot cake and brownies. After some deliberation we had a slice of rhubarb tart and a brownie.

The brownie was still warm from the oven and was just the right combination of crumbly outside and moist chocolaty centre. Despite having just been made I got the last one of the batch. Someone from a large party of French tourists at the other end of the cafe had tried it and the word had gone around their group. They all had one and asked for take-aways for their friends who had gone to other cafés!

The pastry on the rhubarb tart was delightfully light and the filling was generous and delicious! We had an interesting discussion with the pastry-cook about how to avoid pie-filling looking as if it has shrunk when it comes out of the oven.

The coffees were excellent from freshly ground beans - we had a good double espresso and a cappuccino with excellent froth on top of a coffee that tasted strongly of ... coffee.

In conclusion - everything was freshly made using home grown ingredients and local produce - did I mention that the salad was from their own vegetable garden? The cakes were outstanding. We have been there before and we will be back again next summer!

The bookshop "Rare and Recent Books" moving in next door makes a great addition. I'd recommend starting with a browse through their quirky collection and then settle in an armchair in Molly Blooms with a coffee a cake and a good book!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gr0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Have had coffee and light meals here on a few occasions. Faultless really. Nice homemade cakes and treats! :)

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank leex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molly Bloom's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing