We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashford Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashford Castle
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Wow. I can't begin to to explain the wonderful place that is the Ashford Castle. It is nestled in the enchanting small town of Cong, Ireland that is small yet charming. The people are so welcoming and friendly. The estate is amazingly wonderful. The land it is situated on is large, so take the time to explore what I call it's enchanting forest along the lake where you'll come across historic surprises. Be sure to try the school of falconry, a once in a lifetime fun experience for adults and children alike. Thanks Connell ! We did the boat tour of the lake by the castle, Great tour by local resident and guide providing a rich history of the land. Definitely recommend, too bad I didn't get to visit the island once inhabited by St. Patrick himself! The staff at castle were welcoming and truly made you feel special. The room was great. I can't say enough about this place so I'll leave you with this, you must visit at least once in your lifetime.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TilaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall_Rochford, General Manager at Ashford Castle, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear TilaNYC,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us recently. It’s great to read that you experienced Cong village as well as the castle itself – we couldn’t ask for a more perfect community to be part of.

I hope you can come back for a return trip and visit Inchagoill Island first-hand, and of course a return visit to us.

Yours Sincerely
Niall Rochford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,311
    127
    36
    16
    9
See reviews for
380
762
25
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Branch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

This is our first trip to Ireland, and I have to say it took a couple of days for the reality, or experience if you want to say that, to really sink in. Ashton Castle is almost surreal as you drive up, but the incredible Irish hospitality from Jennifer @ check-in...to Eleanor in the dining room to Captain Patrick of the cruise...is what truly rounds out this whole experience. Patrick is so knowledgeable about the local history of the island that St. Patrick was banished to in the 5th century. He truly helps you to understand the depth of love the Irish people have for the rich history and culture of their beautiful country. Thank you for this wonderful experience. I would recommend staying here without a doubt, but be sure to experience the boat trip, the falconry, the clay pigeon shooting and all the incredible activities they have to offer while you're there.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CecilyBreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall_Rochford, General Manager at Ashford Castle, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear CecilyBreig,

Thank you so much for sharing the wonderful experience you had whilst staying with us recently. Our staff work very hard to make your stay so enjoyable, and thank you for pointing out those who made it extra special for you.

We are spoilt with the number of activities we have to enjoy on site and it’s brilliant you were able to partake in so many, I can only wish you a return visit to experience the rest!

Once again thank you for your wonderful review.

Yours Sincerely
Niall Rochford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingle, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I have been to Ashford Castle many times. I bring small groups of Americans there in my capacity as a Rick Steves' Tour-Guide...
The 'wow factor' is enormous. Always.
Michael Duggan, the operations Manager, and his team are splendid. The former even comes to the bridge to personally meet and greet my guests...
I love the grounds/gardens and highly recommend the Ireland School of Falconry...
In the past 12 months I have really noticed the difference that the new owners, the Tollmans, have made to this old beauty. Kudos to them!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Milltown D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall_Rochford, General Manager at Ashford Castle, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Milltown D,

Thank you for leaving such a kind response about your visits to Ashford Castle and taking note of the changes that have taken place over the past year.

I would like to extend thanks on behalf of Michael Duggan and his team and hope that you will continue to visit us for many more years. As always we look forward to welcoming you.

Yours Sincerely
Niall Rochford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Where to begin? This was our 34th Wedding Anniversary and Ireland was a place I had wanted to visit since I was a young girl. At Ashford Castle our experience was exceptional. It begin with Catherine Kenny over emails. We were lucky to meet her when we arrived and she still continued to make every thing perfect for us. She is a gem and we will never forget her kindness in making every detail perfect for us. Definitely try Falconry. Our falconer Ed was great! His enthusiasm and patience with all of our questions made him especially dear in helping to create our perfect anniversary time. All of the staff we encountered seemed to want to do whatever they could for us in order to make our time there perfect. It was! Everything, EVERYTHING, especially the staff was perfect at Ashford Castle. Rooms--immaculate, food--unbelievable, staff--to good to be true, but they are, grounds--like in a fairytale, you would never be disapointed staying at Ashford Castle. We can't wait to go back to Ashford Castle for our anniversary again sometime, and God willing we will!

Room Tip: Old part of Castle! Tell them your needs and wants and they will fulfill them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aml4e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall_Rochford, General Manager at Ashford Castle, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear aml4e,

I was so delighted to read that you had such great anniversary celebrations here with us.

Thank you for taking special note of our staff, who do go out of their way to ensure your stay is everything you hope for. Catherine is a huge credit to the castle and I am glad she was able to facilitate all areas of your stay.

As you, we hope you can return to us for a future anniversary celebration, we would be thrilled to welcome you back.

Many thanks
Niall Rochford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

From the moment you park and are greeted by name, you know you will be treated royally. We were amazed by the high level of service provided by every staff person we encountered. The grounds were stunning. The room was spacious and comfortable, although our daughter's twin bed was obviously old and sagging. Breakfast was luxurious and delicious. We went horseback riding and our guide Fiona was a delight. This was an experience we won't soon forget!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMac-201406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall_Rochford, General Manager at Ashford Castle, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear JMac-201406,

I am happy to read that you had such a fulfilling time here at Ashford Castle.

Thank you for taking the time to note the service you received and the level of dining during your stay. Fiona will be delighted to hear that your time spent horse-riding with her was so successful.

I would like to thank you for such a positive review and I hope that you return to us in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Niall Rochford
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

We are in Ireland for the first time, with 14, 12 and 10 year olds and their Grand mother, and we could not have selected a better hotel. From the moment you are greeted at the front gate by "George" in full livery, to the moment we were introduced to our rooms overlooking Lake Corrib and the beautiful grounds, there was no stress. There were special touches for the children, (stay here and you'll find out!) Easy reservations and accommodations for activities, and great Irish hospitality. TAKE THE BOAT TOUR of the lake! Captain Patrick and his crew are amazing, and in two short happy hours you will discover amazing Irish history. It is terrific and goes twice per day.
Special thanks to Cullen's Restaurant for a special 4th of July party, American beer, sliders, hot dogs and pizza for us Americans celebrating the 4th away from home. Cheers! Sonny B.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms! Electronics for controlling lights blinds A/C are the best! Easy to find and use
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonny7657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall_Rochford, General Manager at Ashford Castle, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Sonny7657,

It’s fantastic that you and your family had such a lovely stay here with us, and that you were able to enjoy the entertainment on offer.

We cannot let the 4th July go past without celebrating as we have such a rich history with America, with visits from quite a few presidents. I am glad you were able to enjoy the festivities provided. We do also like to make a fuss of our younger guests and hope to create family holiday memories that you can all talk about for years to come.

We hope you and your family will consider us for future holiday plans as we would love to welcome you back.

Many thanks
Niall Rochford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We visited romantic Ashford Castle for our 20th anniversary at the end of May 2014. Instantly, we we're captivated by the stunning grounds. When driving up, we felt as we had just entered a dream. From the moment we entered the castle, we were completely spoiled by the staff. We took advantage of the bike trails, a spa visit, dinner at The Cottage, an eventful session of falconry hunting, a boat ride and many afternoon teas in the drawing room. Three days was NOT long enough. Thus, we are planning to go back very soon. A true diamond nestled in Western Ireland.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank colebray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall_Rochford, General Manager at Ashford Castle, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear colebray,

Firstly I would like to wish you a Happy Anniversary and thank you for choosing to celebrate at Ashford Castle.

It sounds as if you took full advantage of our stunning grounds and activities available and had an action packed few days. We would love to welcome you back to the castle, perhaps we can assist you with some further activity suggestions.

We look forward to welcoming you back, please do let me know when you’re planning your return trip.

Many thanks
Niall Rochford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
17.9 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
20.5 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
20.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,871 reviews
20.3 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford Castle

Property: Ashford Castle
Address: Cong, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashford Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashford Castle Hotel Cong
Ashford Castle Ireland/Cong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing