We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service”
Review of Ashford Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashford Castle
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who are more than willing to assist and make your stay here feel special. All staff greet you by name and take an interest in what you have done that day, service by all staff was outstanding throughout our stay. We booked dinner at the George V dining room and I can highly recommend the tasting menu and would definitely advise you to have the wine to accompany each course. By far the best food I have ever had, after dinner the entertainment provided by Annette and Bernie just added to the wonderful ambience of the evening. I would highly recommend this hotel, especially for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex3548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,532 - 1,538 of 1,738 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

I will simply echo the sentiments of those who enjoyed their stay at this magnificent property. Service was exact, food was delicious, and the grounds were both expansive and spectacular. Nice touch that we arrived by boat such as they did years ago and were piped right into reception by a bag piper. Classy. Some have indicted that aspects of the bedroom may leave something to be desired - the television set, the absence of air conditioning etc. - these points are well made but become unimportant when you remind yourself you are staying in a castle.

Do check out the School of Falconry. A unique experience that cannot easily be found elsewhere. Approximately 1.5 hours spent with Harris Hawks. Awesome to say the very least.

Would highly recommend to those celebrating a special occasion.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bitbytravelbug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just what you would want and expect based upon its reputation and price - and a bit more. Helpful and polished staff, impressive grounds, privacy vs. conviviality when you want it, top-flight food, and interesting activities on the property. (Be sure to splurge for the School of Falconry - a memorable and unique experience!). For an extended stay of more than two days, there are nearby attractions to keep a family busy.

Room Tip: It's a castle - so do whatever research you can to determine what your room actually will be lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lddmjdmcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

It is like stepping into another world, the staff makes you feel welcome and treats you like royalty. Being a fan of Downton Abbey I almost felt like I stepped into the show, having drinks in the drawing room :) Our room was luxurious along with the rest of the public rooms. The grounds were absolutely stunning and the forest was so much fun to walk through! Also enjoyed that you can easily walk to the cute little town of Cong. We only spent one night but will have memories of here forever!

Room Tip: They dont have the option listed for 3 adults in one room but we contacted them directly and they we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristinatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We bought a summer package deal which included breakfast and dinner and it was well worth the price. As we arrived we were treated like royalty, but with a very down-to-earth feeling. I cannot say enough about the concierge, the waiters, the waitresses, and any other employee that we had the opportunity to converse. They were all so polite and kind!
The food was outstanding at both of our meals!! Our room was large and very comfortable with nice chairs and a canopy bed.
We actually did not see a pool or use the spa. I tried to check NA but it was not available.
The gardens were gorgeous with a fantastic view of the water. It was a great place to walk around.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room on the backside of the castle because of the beautiful view. The second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 13Stanislaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Let's face it, Ashford Castle is not for everyone. It is VERY expensive but service is 5
stars. The location is beautiful and the castle very lovely. The grounds are quite expansive, opening the possibility for wandering for hours, weather permitting. The castle itself has over 80 guest rooms, a high end restaurant, and a variety of places to grab tea or a drink. High tea in the afternoon was a lot of fun and delicious.

The castle offers many activities that are off grounds except for golf and falconry. Not golfers, we took advantage of a 1 1/2 hour falconry lesson. Our guide provided us an overview and then set us up with three Harris hawks for a guided walk in the forest on the grounds. What a fascinating experience to fly three hawks together at the same time!! They didn't hunt, but chose to hang close for regular tidbits. Real Pavlovian behavior in action. If you are into birds and want to try something very unique, you've got to try this. For the most part the birds are gentle, but the scratch on my nose will attest to the fact (that's another story) they are still fairly wild even if trained.

The staff was very obsequious and for most of them it was fairly genuine. Not a bad gig for a regular job. The guests were primarily Americans, ranging from the very polite to semi ugly. There was also a smattering of guests from Germany, Ireland and Great Britain.

Ashford Castle is not something you'd do many times, but something you'd do for a very special occasion. You can tell from the photos of celeberties they have in one gallery that the appeal is world wide. Brad Pitt looks like any other well heeled American who doesn't like to shave.

We stayed two nights and a third would have been nice. One night is not be enough to take this sprawling place in.

We heartily recommend this establishment with the understanding that you will easily spend several thousand dollars here, especially if you have one of the better rooms overlooking the lake, take advantage of some activities, and dine here.

A real once in a lifetime experience that is really worth the splurge. Cheers!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WineEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had a fantastic time staying in the castle. Beautiful surroundings, helpful staff, and I really enjoyed visiting with Elizabeth and Andy in the dining room. I felt like I was at home. It was great to be able to walk the grounds, enjoy a wonderful breakfast, and the village was a short distance away. It made my dream trip (and my first one to Ireland) priceless. I am excited to return again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
0.5 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
82 reviews
20.3 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
1.8 mi away
Villa Pio Bed & Breakfast and Luxury Apartment
7.0 mi away
Corrib Wave House
Corrib Wave House
#13 of 23 in Oughterard
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford Castle

Address: | Co. Mayo, Cong, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range: $352 - $797 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashford Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, SAS Ticati.COM, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashford Castle Hotel Cong
Ashford Castle Ireland/Cong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing