We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashford Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashford Castle
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
DONEGAL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Service”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Decided to eat in Ashford Castle as we were touring for the day. Unfortunately the restaurant was booked out so we tried the Restaurant adjacent to the Castle in the ground of the estate, called Cullens on the Green. We were treated like royalty here, Mr. Adrian Garvey and his staff were so attentive and even sang Happy Birthday to my mum and presented her with a birthday candle and decorated dessert. Such a lovely touch. This is an amazing place the grounds of the castle and the castle itself are breath-taking. Cong itself is a beautiful quaint very well kept town well worth a visit. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TABATHADONEGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,306
    127
    36
    16
    9
See reviews for
378
760
25
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were recommended to visit the grounds which cost us 5 euros (later discovered you can walk round for free if you go in via the village of Cong!). It was very nice with some lovely views. The flower garden is bland but the walled garden is colourful with a great entrance, you'll have to visit to find out what I mean. We had the added show of a helicopter arriving and then taking off with some guests and their luggage, we felt v posh for a moment!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank norirelib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We went here for Afternoon Tea, we weren't residents. If I was resident I would have been having the champagne Afternoon Tea :-) We were treated exceptionally well and our waitress was excellent with her explanations of what was on the menu. I recommend that you book in advance, as we had called in on-spec previously and the library was fully booked. Tea is between 3pm and 5pm. Treat yourself to a luxurious, relaxed, scrumptious teatime!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macrel2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pa.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Ashford Castle was the highlight of our 2-1/2 week trip to Ireland. Prior to our trip, we were researching "castles" online and noticed this gorgeous castle with its amazing grounds, activities, dining room. We were there from the 3-5 of July. There are numerous activities available, including falconing, horseback riding, golf, strolls or long walks along the many trails available around and behind the castle. Everything is well-maintained and beautiful, and well marked. There was an easy walk to the little village of Cong, which has nice little shops, dining establishments, gift shops available. We had several wonderful meals in the castle, including the main dining room (mandatory coat and tie for the evening meal), bar area and tea/sitting room. The breakfasts were also great, with multiple choices from the buffet, or table service. Our rooms were well appointed and lovely, the service outstanding and our overall stay - wonderful! It was, without a doubt, the best experience of our entire trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJ9156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

After seeing photos of this hotel, I was excited to stay there. After staying there, I would recommend it to anyone who loves to travel. It was an awesome sight inside and out. Plenty of activities to keep you as busy as possible. We played golf on their beautiful course and experienced Falconing which was exciting and interesting. Dining was heavenly and 5 star all of the way. It was one of our favorite places to stay. Breakfast were amazing as well' I would love to stay there again, in the future. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: It hardly matters. Just being there is an awesome experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenkoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Service done so seamlessly that you just feel like they care! And now having seen that gold standard, it will be hard to go anywhere else. In the main dining room, while they do like a level of civility, my hubby only had golf shirts along so they lent him a sports jacket from their supply which was wonderful as the meal was super in there.Someone else posted you had to bring one, but they do , like fine establishments have back ups. So don't be deterred. Hats off to two servers in particular in that room..... Kathleen and Eleanor who attend to your every need in the most hospitable genuine way. Just for variety we also had a lovely couple of meals in the other building across the way, and when it rained they offered you golf cart rides which was so great! The crowning of jewel of our holiday and am so glad we kept it for last. Once they complete their renos this winter , it would be wonderful to see that too.

Room Tip: Winter of 13/14 is a complete overhaul of rooms so if you can wait, I would then recommend the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mawsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Girt, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our 1st stop on a family vacation(16 family members in all).
The castle is simply gorgeous. The grounds spectacular. Many activities for children. It's location is great, just a short walk into the little town of Cong(FYI did not find an ATM anywhere) .
However the best part of Ashford Castle is the fantastic service . There was one person in particular , I think her name was Katherine, who went above and beyond. Although the entire staff was great.
We stayed here 8 years ago and was excited to stay again. Very glad we did.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kym O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
17.9 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,089 reviews
20.5 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
2,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,623 reviews
20.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,862 reviews
20.3 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford Castle

Property: Ashford Castle
Address: Cong, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashford Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashford Castle Hotel Cong
Ashford Castle Ireland/Cong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing