We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding experience, 5-star treatment with quality service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashford Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashford Castle
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, Pa.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience, 5-star treatment with quality service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Ashford Castle was the highlight of our 2-1/2 week trip to Ireland. Prior to our trip, we were researching "castles" online and noticed this gorgeous castle with its amazing grounds, activities, dining room. We were there from the 3-5 of July. There are numerous activities available, including falconing, horseback riding, golf, strolls or long walks along the many trails available around and behind the castle. Everything is well-maintained and beautiful, and well marked. There was an easy walk to the little village of Cong, which has nice little shops, dining establishments, gift shops available. We had several wonderful meals in the castle, including the main dining room (mandatory coat and tie for the evening meal), bar area and tea/sitting room. The breakfasts were also great, with multiple choices from the buffet, or table service. Our rooms were well appointed and lovely, the service outstanding and our overall stay - wonderful! It was, without a doubt, the best experience of our entire trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJ9156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,308
    127
    36
    16
    9
See reviews for
378
761
25
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

After seeing photos of this hotel, I was excited to stay there. After staying there, I would recommend it to anyone who loves to travel. It was an awesome sight inside and out. Plenty of activities to keep you as busy as possible. We played golf on their beautiful course and experienced Falconing which was exciting and interesting. Dining was heavenly and 5 star all of the way. It was one of our favorite places to stay. Breakfast were amazing as well' I would love to stay there again, in the future. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: It hardly matters. Just being there is an awesome experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenkoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Service done so seamlessly that you just feel like they care! And now having seen that gold standard, it will be hard to go anywhere else. In the main dining room, while they do like a level of civility, my hubby only had golf shirts along so they lent him a sports jacket from their supply which was wonderful as the meal was super in there.Someone else posted you had to bring one, but they do , like fine establishments have back ups. So don't be deterred. Hats off to two servers in particular in that room..... Kathleen and Eleanor who attend to your every need in the most hospitable genuine way. Just for variety we also had a lovely couple of meals in the other building across the way, and when it rained they offered you golf cart rides which was so great! The crowning of jewel of our holiday and am so glad we kept it for last. Once they complete their renos this winter , it would be wonderful to see that too.

Room Tip: Winter of 13/14 is a complete overhaul of rooms so if you can wait, I would then recommend the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mawsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Girt, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our 1st stop on a family vacation(16 family members in all).
The castle is simply gorgeous. The grounds spectacular. Many activities for children. It's location is great, just a short walk into the little town of Cong(FYI did not find an ATM anywhere) .
However the best part of Ashford Castle is the fantastic service . There was one person in particular , I think her name was Katherine, who went above and beyond. Although the entire staff was great.
We stayed here 8 years ago and was excited to stay again. Very glad we did.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kym O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The grandeur of Ashford Castle blew me away. My wife and I stayed here on the last night of our Ireland trip this May and were glad we saved this for our last stop as it was clearly the highlight. We stayed at excellent places along the way but this was the crème-de-la-crème. The grounds and gardens are beautiful and definitely worth an afternoon stroll, but you will find it difficult to pull yourself away from the interior of Ashford. It is like staying at a museum; the lavish rooms and ornate decorations bring the castle to life. Enjoyed fishing in the Cong River, dinner in the George V Dining Room was memorable both for the food and the service -- take a sip of wine, and the waiter comes and tops of your glass again. The fountain over looking Lough Cong is gorgeous. All in all a magical place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Ashford Castle, the place, the people, the activities - in a word - authentic. The service is truly service, where you can feel the kindness and the intent to be helpful in every single person you encounter... they truly deliver on making your experience the very best it can be and also the best it can feel. The castle feels like luxurious history. The grounds are beautiful. Flying the Hawks was an experience of a lifetime. The golf course, no tee times, walk on, no one rushing you on the course. Beautiful fishing places, horse back riding through the moss covered forest. I didn't want to leave. They let people pay a parking fee to tour the grounds, but they reserved the inside of the castle, including the bars and restaurants and sitting areas - for guests only. WOW - what a difference this made in the quality of our experience as guests of the castle. I am sure they could have increased their revenue by selling the castle experience to people that didn't invest in staying there, but the fact that they didn't made investing in staying there TOTALLY worth it and wonderful and relaxed in ways that would have been lost had they sold the experience to day-visitors. THANK YOU Ashford Castle for keeping the Castle for the people that were staying at the Castle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My dad had stayed at Ashford Castle with his own father, some 40 years ago, and had loved it. So when we planned a family trip to Co. Mayo this summer, we knew we wanted to have a special dinner here, even though we stayed in Westport (about a 45 minute drive). Our evening in the George V dining room surpassed all expectations - everyone in our group of 9 voted this our favorite experience of our entire vacation! From the jaw-dropping approach to the castle, to the beautifully manicured grounds, to the elegant decor, to the wonderful food and impeccable service, we enjoyed every minute of it. Any request was cheerfully accommodated - for example, iced tea was not on the menu, but a pitcher of freshly brewed (and properly made, delicious!) tea was produced in short order, and much appreciated. One of the staff overheard us toasting Dad's upcoming birthday, and surprised him with a special dessert, complete with song and best wishes, and he was nearly moved to tears. Totally worth getting dressed up for, and worth the splurge!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJCavanaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
17.9 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
20.5 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
20.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
20.3 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford Castle

Property: Ashford Castle
Address: Cong, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashford Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashford Castle Hotel Cong
Ashford Castle Ireland/Cong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing