We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West of Ireland relaxing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Beautiful location,great food, friendly accomodating staff

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zaklara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

799 - 805 of 907 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2010

This hotel absolutely fabulous. Myself and my husband stayed there for a whole weekend and we just wanted to relax and chill out. If this is what you want I would highly recommend this hotel. Everything about this hotel is amazing from the chilled out atmosphere, delicious food, lovely spa treatments, great scenic views and walks around the area. The bar staff are excellent and everyone of them were very helpful and friendly. They make amazing cocktails :)
We are definately going to go back again for another break in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teletubbyGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Myself and wife stayed there for two nights last week..Everything was perfect from our arrival to our departure..Our bedroom was beautiful and spacious ..We ate both nights in the bar as unfortunately the restaurant was closed but the barfood was top class on each evening and is so relaxing and not stuffy like other hotel bars. The bar staff provided us with excellent service and always had time to talk and joke with us even though we could see that they were very busy..Overall very impressed with this hotel and will be back for more pampering soon..Great value for money..

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Spent just one night in the hotel. I think I was probably expecting too much as the website made it look fantastic. First impresssions were not good. The entrance was up a potholed lane with private houses right on top of it. In fairness it seemed they recently cut down a big tree which left an awful mess. The carpark is not finished and is cramped for space. We went to check it (at 12 noon which we knew was early but rang the day before to say we would need an early check in). We were promptly told there would not be any room for us until 3pm. (no apologies for this). I explained we were attending a 2pm wedding in the hotel -no joy, still not even a slight bit of regret. We went off and came back again at 1.30pm and thankfully an effort was made to get us a room. The room was lovely, out in the courtyard (which itself is not finshed and in need of landscaping). Really modern spacious, clean rooms. Friendly porter. Food was excellent as was breakfast. All in all I think it will be good when its all finished but in the meantime I think its a bit pricey for what you get. The reception staff could also do with learning to smile and stop treating guests as a nuisance!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArdGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Stayed here last week with my husband and 8 month old son, had a lovely time. got a duplesx room which was a gorgeous big bedroom and lovely living room down stairs! Had a lovely time and staff were very helpful. Lovely walks around ashford and cong village which were great for buggy. Rooms are not very child friendly in that there is no microwave to heat bottles / food , and only bathoom sink to wash bottles etc, but bar staff always happy to heat up stuff etc. lovely place, would love to go back to go back some time!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Binkette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We booked a lake view suite and stayed in veuve clicquot which is part of the champagne wing. The suites are described as the best rooms in the house. The room was only nice, we had a view of the carpark to one side and a view of trees and a tiny sliver of lake to another. There was no seperate shower and bath and suite is a loose term for a big room with a couch at one end and a bed at the other. The room was big and the bed comfortable. There was no way other than to open the windows to cool the room but we were nervous of doing this when we weren't in the room as we were on the ground floor right beside the carpark.

Also, although the veuve clicquot room is advertised photographically as a quay suite on their own website as well as here on tripadvisor, when we arrived at the hotel it was sold to us as a lake view suite. There was an view of mostly trees and an obscured view of the lake but it was not as spectacular as I had thought it would be, based on the photos on the Lisloughrey lodge or here on tripadvisor and of course the location.

The wifi was down for the duration of our stay so we couldn't check online to verify what we thought to be true regarding the room and once we got home we called and were told that no the room (although it looks the exact same as the quay suite advertised here) was a lake view suite as the window was front facing. Still find it incredible that they can advertise that room as a quay suite on their website (or in fact sell the room as the best in house when there are cheaper rooms available that have the same look and feel) and sell it as a lakeview suite when we arrived. There was nothing wrong with the room but I do think we were mislead to a certain extent by the hotel and therefore overcharged.

However onto some good points, the food was amazing. It's worth a visit just to eat there it was that good. I would have licked my plate clean but we were in company. Salt was closed while we were there (Monday to Wednesday) so we ate in the bar but bar food this isn't (well it is but it isn't!!!). I got the burger and fries the first evening and I loved it to the very last bite, everything was cooked to order and the fries were just heaven. I adore home made chips! It was to die for and the second evening we had a starter/main/dessert and again it was lip smacking good. I especially loved the mushy peas, they were little bites of heaven. The food was worth what we paid for it and wasn't through the roof expensive. The drinks were lovely right down to the baileys coffee after dinner. This food is healthy competition for the food in the Wineport it's that good.

The spa in the hotel is a disappointment as it's just rooms in the courtyard, not a specially built space away from prying eyes where you can relax. The facial I got though was pretty good and my skin felt refreshed afterwards. There is a hottub and sauna away from the courtyard up on a wooden plinth and lightly shaded by trees but right beside the carpark (we didn't use the space as we felt it was too open for us to enjoy comfortably although I'm sure you wouldn't be noticed once you're in the hottub).

Bad point is obviously the room was not the best in the hotel, I still feel we stayed in a quay suite even though we booked a lake view suite and that has spoiled the stay somewhat as the hotel gave us no hearing when we did get home and check the website. Another issue we had is that the wifi was down and at no point was that communicated to us. We weren't informed upon checkin and there was no letter left in our room. It would have been nice to let us know instead of repeatedly trying to connect and then making our way to reception daily for updates. This is probably not a big issue for too many people but it would have been nice to be able to check mails while away. The best points are the food and the friendliness of staff while we stayed there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank erinWestmeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Just back today, stayed for 3 nights with husband and daughters 6 & 9. Just sitting here thinking about how fantastic it was. The hotel is set in private grounds overlooking Lough Corrib. The guest rooms are set around a quiet courtyard and the decor of the entire hotel is fabulous, imaginative and comfy. Our suite had a vaulted ceiling sitting room and an ensuite bedroom. The layout of this hotel is great, we could sit in big comfy sofas enjoying a glass of wine while the kids where nearby in the WII room and not annoying other people. The food is simply beautiful - both in the bar and the dining room. Service in the dining room is top notch. The childrens menu is a bit smarter than average ie. starters like chicken noodle soup, fruit kebabs with yoghurt and smoothies (mine loved it and it got something healthy into them). Plenty to do, great walks in the area, Cong is beautiful, and boat trips from Ashford castle are 5 mins walk away. One of the best hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackpotSpend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.4 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,740 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
82 reviews
20.8 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Westport
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
21.0 mi away
Westport Plaza Hotel
Westport Plaza Hotel
#2 of 13 in Westport
2,123 reviews
17.8 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Ashford Castle

Address: The Quay, Cong, Ireland (Formerly Lisloughrey Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range: $166 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Ashford Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the 360 acre Ashford Castle estate over looking Lough Corrib, The Lodge at Ashford Castle provides an exemplary country house experience, the Lodge offers Contemporary country cooking using local artisan produce in the relaxing lake view dining rooms. Beautifully designed deluxe rooms (24) and suites (26) combined with an outdoor Tub and Sauna are sure to provide the perfect escape. Banqueting facilities include a glass walled Harbor Room that can welcome up to 200 wedding guests, a boardroom for meetings and screening room for private dining. Estate activities including golf, Falconry and Horse riding are all available along this beautiful estate. We are delighted to now be part of The Red Carnation Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lodge at Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Ashford Hotel Cong
The Lodge At Ashford Castle Ireland/Cong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing