We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At last - a hotel with the best of everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 9, 2010

After receiving a friendly warm welcome, we were shown to our room which was a quay suite. It was a lovely large room, beautifully decorated and very comfortable bed. The room we stayed in wasn't off a long corridor, like some hotels, but through a separate door, up some stairs and with just two rooms off the landing. It made it very peaceful and quiet. It is a well thought out design.
One thing we noted about this hotel was the attention to detail, not just in the decor but in the service too. The atmosphere in the hotel is so relaxing, due to the decor, candles lit everywhere and the choice of music that is playing.
We had lunch in the Malt Bar and Brasserie and dinner in the Salt Restaurant. Both were lovely, the presentation as well as the quality.
We always love coming in Cong and love the walks around Ashford Castle, whatever the weather. We look forward to our next stay and hope it won't be too long a wait!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LocalIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
There are newer reviews for The Lodge at Ashford Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

780 - 786 of 877 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2010

Having made three trips to Lisloughrey since Christmas I decided it was time to write a review. This place is a real gem. V relaxing. The rooms are lovely n having stayed in the lake side, quay side n duplex we preferred the latter with it's sitting room downstairs n bedroom upstairs. The food in the restaurant was fab. The fish n chips in the bar was just fanfastic n I love the way they serve the food.a little bet edgy n different. The bathrooms are a must to visit...prepare to be dazzled....literally. Our one observation is that if it is very busy, seatng in the bar area is limited and if you get THE seat in front of the fire do not leave it as someone else will pounce for it. There are nice walks in the area. Lisloughrey is a treat n a retreat all in one

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We stayed here on 25th. June and were very impressed especially with the dinner in Salt the the highlight being the Rhubarb plate dessert, (possibly the best I have ever tasted).. The deal of b+b with dinner was excellent value. The hotel is very comfortable, the staff friendly and the views and peace and quiet worth travelling for.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Just back from a lovely stay in lisloughrey and it was beautiful. I stayed in one of the suites and while i have to be honest and say although the decor wouldnt be of the highest quality someone put alot of thought into it and its defo the boutique hotel look about it. The room was lovely and spacious two tvs, tv coffee etc, bathroom lovely , robes ,slippers etc. The staff were very nice and very helpful and the place had a nice little buzz round. We didnt eat in the restaurant we ate in the bar and if the standard in the bar is anything to go by the restaurant must be fab, the dinners were tasty and the desserts were to die for all this while looking out a great view! Would i go again? Most definetly i will be back! the only question is when!!! enjoy enjoy im jealous that your reading this as if u are ur planning your trip.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flicker999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

After being a regular customer to the bar food, we decided to stay a night as part of the 'Last Minute' deals. Upon e-mailing, we were upgraded to a suite. WOW. All I can say is a suite at the 'Last Minute' deal price was AMAZING value. I'm not a tight-wad, but I don't waste money either. I really think we got value for money here. The hot tub is great for watching the sun-set. The staff couldn't have been friendlier, they really make an effort to make you feel at home and comfortable without being intrusive. The breakfast was a buffet, so we were able to stock up on bacon, sausages, pudding, egg, toast and all the other usuals including continental if you're feeling healthy. There was one minor issue which was dealt with upmost professionalism, the receptionist actually listened to us rather than the usual "I'm just doing my job, bugger off" that you get at most places. All in all, I WILL be back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalwayLad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Great place , hard to find the front door , needs a better selection in the bar , great staff , Salt restaurant excelent , third time staying there

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainydaysinireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

Just back from our stay in Lisloughrey Lodge and we had a wonderful time. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with smiling staff who went out of there where to help us. It's hard going away with two small kids but we did so on the recommendation of friends who raved about this hidden gem.

The rooms were spacious and very luxurious, I could have just stayed in the duplex all weekend relaxing. On our second night we had a six course dinner in the restaurant Salt. The hotel organised a lovely girl to come in to look after the kids so it was great to relax and take our time over dinner knowing that the kids were well looked after. The food was delicious and the chef went out of his was to cater for my husbands special diet.

Next day we took a short drive to Cong. We packed a picnic and went swimming while my husband caught up on a bit of fishing. The location is out of this world we just relaxed for two days and forgot all about the pressures of real life. My only complaint was checking out time we didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lostinthewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.4 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,678 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
79 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,182 reviews
21.5 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
976 reviews
20.1 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Ashford Castle

Address: The Quay, Cong, Ireland (Formerly Lisloughrey Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range: $210 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Ashford Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the 360 acre Ashford Castle estate over looking Lough Corrib, The Lodge at Ashford Castle provides an exemplary country house experience, the Lodge offers Contemporary country cooking using local artisan produce in the relaxing lake view dining rooms. Beautifully designed deluxe rooms (24) and suites (26) combined with an outdoor Tub and Sauna are sure to provide the perfect escape. Banqueting facilities include a glass walled Harbor Room that can welcome up to 200 wedding guests, a boardroom for meetings and screening room for private dining. Estate activities including golf, Falconry and Horse riding are all available along this beautiful estate. We are delighted to now be part of The Red Carnation Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Ashford Hotel Cong
The Lodge At Ashford Castle Ireland/Cong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing