We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most mismanaged inadequate hotel I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The most mismanaged inadequate hotel I've ever stayed in”
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Having read the most recent reviews I wonder if we stayed at the same hotel. The attitude of the reception staff was appalling. The dark and dingy decor and extremely low lighting ( a health and safety hazard) must be an acquired taste - we had to read the menu by candle light!

The dining room was closed so all the guests had to eat in the bar but most of it had been given over to a private party so only 3 tables were available. The staff seemed to think this was a fairly regular occurrance. They had run out of the basic wine that we had ordered and the same with the marmalade at breakfast where we witnessed a row in the kitchen. We had to wait for cereal bowls and the flowers on the table must have been dead for several days.
The waiter knocked our table and spilled a considerable amount of coffee but had to be asked before clearing it up.

On the positive side the bedroom was very nice but there was no hair dryer, no shaver point and one small shampoo and shower gel to share between two people. Only 2 tea and coffee sachets.

Not like usual Irish hospitality at all.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grumbleweed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    170
    60
    22
    13
See reviews for
190
473
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Lisloughrey Lodge, WOW!!!

This hotel is like opening a Christmas present - the one you weren't expecting!!! On the outside you have the traditional, beautifully sculpted metaphoric gift box.... and upon entering you are blown away by a visual myriad of rich textures and patterns puncuated by dark woods giving a wonderfully opulent feel. The dining area is in contrast ,light and airy with the opulence of the reception areas meandering subtly throughout the room and you get to view amazing scenery while enjoying ,what I can only describe as one of the best meals I have had in a long time.

The food here is a real focal point. The falvours are perfectly balanced and leave your taste buds thourghly satisfied. Another bonus is that although the food has that modern,contempory twist it still retains that heartiness you expect from and Irish establishment.Dining here is a real treat on many levels and the Head Chef is clearly a true talent which adds to the Hotels' appeal. As A fish lover I have to recommend the Sea Bass ..... wholey satisfying!!!

The bedroms..... firstly, I love the quirkiness of naming the rooms rather than using numbers , this really adds to the personality of the Hotel.
Secondly, the rooms are decorated to a very high standard, they are chic and elegant but sooooo comfy... the perfect mix!!!

Finally... I have to mention the staff . The efficiency with which they operate is applaudable.. They work with such synchronisity the result is a fluid and flawless service.. Another bonus point is that they blend into the background but are so intune with the customer that they are there at the time when you need them.. and you are greeted throughout with warmth and friendliness , you really get the feeling they enjoy working here...
This Hotel, in all respects is of a very high standard, as far as I am concerned it ticks all the boxes..

I know we are all sick of hearing about the "R" word but I would urge anyone considering a weekend away over seas to reconsider...
When we have treats like this on our doorstep we should explore and support them because you get so much more out that what you put in ..

I know I most certainly will be back!!!

Thank you very much to all at Lisloughery Lodge for a very memorable weekend!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarChDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Just returned from a weekend at the hotel for my sons wedding, it was the most amazing wedding i have attended in my life. everything about the hotel was wonderful, Mark and Hilda made the whole event perfect, even when people complained about their shoes hurting other footware was provided,the food was out of this world many thanks to Wade,breakfast on the following morning was perfect even the timing was perfect .
I wish I could repeat the whole experience again soon. Maria

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinMog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West of ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Stayed in Lisloughrey Lodge recently on the recommendation of some friends who were at a wedding there. Love the decor of the bar and reception area but can see how it's not to everyones taste. Had a couple of drinks in the bar when we arrived and ordered from the bar menu. I don't like saying 'Bar menu' as it is not 'bar food'. The best fish and chips I have eaten in a long time. My partners burger was very tasty too as i finished what my partner couldn't! Service was attentive but not intrucive at any stage.
Rooms are lovely and comfy. Felt really snug as the rain pelted off the windows.
Dinner now that is out of this world. The food is of 5 star standard and is definatly the best meal I've had in Ireland in a long time never mind the west. Fresh ingredients cooked with a great imagination and unbelievable talent. All the flavours just worked so well and the presentation was first class. Wine was a bit expensive, but the service was great also. Almost didn't want the meal to end.
Breakfast the next morning was excellent too with great friendly service especially from the local boy, can't remember his name! Patrick or Paul??
Overall this is a wonderful hotel and would recommend it to anyone. There is a reason why it's food and service has won so many awards from the begining! As the title says the only bad thing about the place was the weather!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

My boyfriend & I stayed here for 3 nights in early August and had a great time. We stayed in a duplex suite which had a great sitting room downstairs with double height ceilings and and a large bedroom and en-suite bathroom upstairs.

The staff were excellent and very helpful. We ate in the acclaimed Salt restaurant on our 1st night which was excellent but don't be in a rush lots of courses, each one as good as the next. The following 2 nights we ate in the bar which was very good, not a huge menu but what they had was good.

There is a spa on site and the therapist was excellent, they come to your room to collect you for your appointment which is a nice touch.

The Wii room is a nice extra and we had good fun there on our last night.

I'd highly recommend Lisloughrey, the location is great and it's within easy walking distance of Cong Village and Ashford Castle.

Looking forward to a return visit....

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatsCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Limerick Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We also were disappointed with this hotel. The public/lounging areas are not comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful but the chef doing the bar menu refused to do potatoes (or at least said it would take an hour) - This is Ireland I thought -so we went down the village and got a meal there instead.
The place felt cold when we got there on the 11th Aug - and to me, the decor in the hall and lounge is very dreary. The room was ok but underwhelming and we certainly got no chocolates -
We were going to check out as we were booked for three days but the staff were friendly and so we stayed for the duration. However, we ate dinner out for the three nights.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aine60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Mayo, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Stayed here with friends on August Bank holiday weekend and have mixed feeling about this hotel. On arrival greeted by a friendly receptionist and shown to rooms which are around a courtyard ,on first appearance not very awe inspiring, but the rooms make up for this. We stayed in the Heinsteick and leyroy quay suites, everyhing you could need with ample space for a whole family. L'occitane products, hairdryer, iron, etc, Dvd.
Decided to have bar food as they main restaurant Salt closes on Monday and Tuesday.
Food just mediocre. Fish was cremated and burger very dry.
This hotel is fabulous for a romantic getaway, peace and quiet, wii room for kids but not to many around. I loved the decor of red and black maybe not to everyones taste boudoir style, Lovely plush armchairs and sofa's. Weather was terrible with rain could not go for walk , All in all a lovely hotel but lacks something that I can't quite put my finger on (maybe atmosphere). Will definately return with other half sometime soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckymayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.4 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,597 reviews
17.8 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,150 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
74 reviews
20.1 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
21.5 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#5 of 14 in Westport
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Ashford Castle

Property: The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Address: The Quay, Cong, Ireland (Formerly Lisloughrey Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Ashford Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the 360 acre Ashford Castle estate over looking Lough Corrib, The Lodge at Ashford Castle provides an exemplary country house experience, the Lodge offers Contemporary country cooking using local artisan produce in the relaxing lake view dining rooms. Beautifully designed deluxe rooms (24) and suites (26) combined with an outdoor Tub and Sauna are sure to provide the perfect escape. Banqueting facilities include a glass walled Harbor Room that can welcome up to 200 wedding guests, a boardroom for meetings and screening room for private dining. Estate activities including golf, Falconry and Horse riding are all available along this beautiful estate. We are delighted to now be part of The Red Carnation Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Ashford Hotel Cong
The Lodge At Ashford Castle Ireland/Cong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing