We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really impressed by hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 10, 2009

I was very impressed by Lisloughrey - the service, food and decor were all superb. I would definatly recommend staying here for a romantic get away, or perhaps to pamper yourself. Big Thumbs up.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AineM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (876)
There are newer reviews for The Lodge at Ashford Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

825 - 831 of 877 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2009

Spent a wonderful weekend there for a family celebration and we were treated like royalty! The hotel has a country manor feel with daring decor, the lobby can feel a little boudoir-esque at times but it's bold and different from the run of the mill Irish country house interiors. The staff were extremely helpful and polite and the rooms and hotel in general were spotless.

The setting is idyllic, the hotel overlooks Lough Corrib and there are lots of scenic walks in the area and boatrides on the lake are also available. We borrowed the hotel's bikes and took a spin around Ashford Castle next door and into the local village of Cong. Speaking of Ashford Castle, it is more than a little tired at this stage and having stayed in both hotels, Lisloughrey would be my first choice in terms of comfort, food and value for money. We watched Ireland win the Grand Slam in the Crowe's Nest in Cong and the atmosphere was great and they even provided us with free sausages and chips during the game!

The food at Lisloughrey is out of this world and I would highly recommend dinner in Salt restaurant upstairs. It's easy to see why they have won so many awards and the AA rosettes are highly deserved. The beef and lamb were cooked to perfection and the best I have had in a long time. We will return!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peelaapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

Our second trip to the lodge - we were there for a wedding over Christmas - this place is excellent, staff 5star, decor 5star, facilities 5star, just amazing. At christmas we brought our then 4 month old son - we had a local woman baby sit and this time we brought him with us again.

I can not say enough about the Lodge - just a short walk to Ashford Castle grounds. beautiful scenery. We ate in the bar - food excellent. Staff can not do enough for you. Breakfast excellent.

Just perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandFirstClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

had to write about this hotel as it was so nice. Got a good deal- double room with breakfast €60 per person. such a nice room modern decor, view of the lake, underfloor heating,plush carpet, huge bed,loccitane products,nice little touches like-during turn down service they leave a card informing you if the next day is a welly day or not-detailing the weather!! and wellies are available if needed! got brekkie in bed at no extra charge and was delish. Opted just for bar food in the hotel as neither my partner or I have fancy taste buds,but have heard rave revies about the restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

I was taken to Lisloughrey as a gift for my birthday. We arrived in daylight and were able to appreciate the stunning views across the lake. A stroll in the grounds of the adjacent Ashford Castle was perfect to start the weekend. The setting is absolutely stunning. The staff were welcoming and helpful. The room layout was perfect and cleverly designed.
The food at dinner on both nights was absolutely magnificent. The menu balance was perfect and the service complimented Wade's imaginative food. I can heartily recommend this superb property for people of discerning taste. What a gift!! Thank you FG.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piquetdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2009

This was our second visit to Lisloughrey, and again it was fantastic. Everything was second to none, staff, service and food were all first class. Pure relaxation, cannot speak highly enough of the place.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JoeBiggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Hotel is very nice, rooms not spectacular but comfortable. Shower in the en-suite was good, was really hoping for a bathtub but there wasn't one. Location is excellent, half an hour drive from Galway, 45mins from Connemara and you're right on Lough Corrib. Lots of families with young noisy kids there, but maybe that was just the time of year (Christmas / New Year). Worth double checking though, when you're booking, that there isn't a wedding on at the same time. Because it's a smallish hotel (50 rooms) a wedding party would kind of take over the place.

Real highlight of the stay was the food though. If you enjoy fine dining, the restaurant, called 'Salt', was fantastic. Expensive (€70 per person for the fixed 3 course menu) but well worth it. Also the bar food was excellent.

Overall, no hesitation recommending the place. Staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnClancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.4 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,678 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
79 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,182 reviews
21.5 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
975 reviews
20.1 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Ashford Castle

Address: The Quay, Cong, Ireland (Formerly Lisloughrey Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range: $210 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Ashford Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the 360 acre Ashford Castle estate over looking Lough Corrib, The Lodge at Ashford Castle provides an exemplary country house experience, the Lodge offers Contemporary country cooking using local artisan produce in the relaxing lake view dining rooms. Beautifully designed deluxe rooms (24) and suites (26) combined with an outdoor Tub and Sauna are sure to provide the perfect escape. Banqueting facilities include a glass walled Harbor Room that can welcome up to 200 wedding guests, a boardroom for meetings and screening room for private dining. Estate activities including golf, Falconry and Horse riding are all available along this beautiful estate. We are delighted to now be part of The Red Carnation Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Ashford Hotel Cong
The Lodge At Ashford Castle Ireland/Cong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing