We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to return. Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Lisloughrey Lodge. We enjoyed the boat cruise that was included on the lake out to St. Patrick's Island. We enjoyed the entertainment onboard provided by Martin, an older gentlemen who was a stand-in cast member in the movie, The Quiet Man, very nostalgic. The rooms were nice, food was enjoyable and views were amazing. I agree with a former guest about not allowing the delivery truck to park out front, marring the lake view, however brief the time it was there. There was some booking confusion, but it was rectified.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bregan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

617 - 623 of 905 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

We chose a perfect weather day for lunch and got great attention from youthful staff. Fine table at the window and great coffee to follow. However we were surprised when a delivery truck was allowed to park blocking the Corrib view, put it down to a manager who did not understand the value of such charms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 37traveller37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Went for a mid week hotel break with a friend. Our check in was a disaster, we were asked to wait for a half hour as our room was not ready-turned out we waited over an hour, the receptionist showed us to our rooms, and when we returned to the bar, our drinks had been disgarded.
We did not at this point even receive as much as an apology for either.
Toilet in room did not flush, and there were stains on the velvet bed cushions.
Glass of wine cost €7
Overall, v disappointing, and I would not recommend this hotel as a stay.
The potholes and enterance has not improved - and seems to have been a problem for a while as a previous guest has commented on same...

Room Tip: We had specified a twin room, which reception did not follow up on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Caitriona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in Lisloughrey lodge for three days in august 2013. The lodge is lovely, the staff were wonderful, friendly and fun. The view of the lake from the seating area is beautiful and we sat back in the sun and watched the boats as we sipped wine. The food in both the resturant and bar is delicious and the bedroom and double space rainfall shower was spacious and very clean. The hottub was great fun, we looked in at the fitness suite, looked great but we didnt use it. We had a trip to Kylemore Abbey and a cruise on the lovely Corrib as part of our package. Oh it was grand, the sun shone on the water like diamonds whilst Patrick, the captain regaled us of the colourful history of the area. This is a wonderful place, with lots of little nooks to sit and relax or read or chat. Of all the many hotels we've stayed in this was the most welcoming, had the best views and the nicest people. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoanandJohn67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was at a wedding there a few weeks back, I had no cash on me at the time, so bought a drink and they wouldn't give me any cash back. Then i tried to order a drink later on in the night couldn't get one unless i put it on the room number...spending money there all night and wouldn't take it then. More like a posh house then a hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2Blate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend had our second stay in Lisloughrey last week. Amazing place. Stayed on a one night special offer of €150 including B&B and a three course dinner in the amazing wildes restaurant. We booked two of them for two nights in a row, and there was no issue.

The hotel itself is lovely, very small, and quite quirky in its decoartion in places, some very old style wood and leather, and then crazy bright coloured bathrooms in the common areas, but its not offensive or anything.

Food in Wildes is incredible. The surf and turf starter is the best plate of food ive ever tasted, and each course comes with a "pre-course", something interesting and different (ours were a black pudding and chocolate amuse bouche, pear and celery soup en croute, and a vegatable parfait in the style of a neopolitan ice cream sandwich). The chocolate and salt dessert was epic, black olives buried in the middle of a perfect chocolate fondant, and bacon and chocolate icecream.

The courtyard rooms are fairly basic, but very nice inside, bed is a bit spongey but the bathrooms are nice with a heated floor and a rainfall shower.

Lovely location with a nice walk down to the lake or to ashford castle, and plenty to see and do nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darragh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here last weekend and we had a truly memorable experience. From the moment we arrived in reception we were given a genuine personal welcome which set the tone for our entire visit. This is one of the best hotels in Ireland.
The view over Lough Corrib from the front lawn is breathtaking but obviously an occasional reviewer prefers to look for potholes rather than rainbows. I didn't notice the potholes but it should be remembered that there was torrential rain in this area for a solid week before we arrived. Occasional temporary potholes are probably inevitable.
Dinner in Lisloughry lodge is a gastronomic experience. We lost count of the number of courses and amuse-bouches, each served by pleasant staff whose main aim was to ensure that we were happy. We were made feel that the staff really wanted us to enjoy ourselves while they showed us how a top class hotel should be run. This is not evident in very many other hotels.
Breakfast was excellent as expected with options to suit all tastes.
Our room was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was spotless.
There are many lovely walks around the hotel grounds. Ashford Castle is next door.
Apart from the excellent cuisine what makes this hotel great is the staff. From the cheerful receptionist to the capable friendly staff in the dining rooms everything is geared to making sure that the guests feel like guests not just visitors.Wouldn't it be great if other hotels followed suit?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 101gerryod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.4 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,738 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
82 reviews
24.7 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Westport
1,462 reviews
21.5 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 13 in Westport
1,006 reviews
17.8 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Ashford Castle

Address: The Quay, Cong, Ireland (Formerly Lisloughrey Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range: $166 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Ashford Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the 360 acre Ashford Castle estate over looking Lough Corrib, The Lodge at Ashford Castle provides an exemplary country house experience, the Lodge offers Contemporary country cooking using local artisan produce in the relaxing lake view dining rooms. Beautifully designed deluxe rooms (24) and suites (26) combined with an outdoor Tub and Sauna are sure to provide the perfect escape. Banqueting facilities include a glass walled Harbor Room that can welcome up to 200 wedding guests, a boardroom for meetings and screening room for private dining. Estate activities including golf, Falconry and Horse riding are all available along this beautiful estate. We are delighted to now be part of The Red Carnation Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lodge at Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Ashford Hotel Cong
The Lodge At Ashford Castle Ireland/Cong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing