We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more, dissapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expected more, dissapointed”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I decided to book this for myself and my girlfriend we were celebrating a special occasion. We were on a two night package which included dinner. When we arrived to the hotel the lady seemed very ignorant and dismissive and told us our room wasn't ready. We had no problem as we had arrived in the early afternoon. Whilst we waited for our room we had a look at the brochure display board which was very depleted and didn't have much information about the local area. The receptionist then took us to our room, which is strange because no one seemed to be taken care of the reception whilst we were taken to our room. A concierge service would be helpful in this hotel. Luckily we didn't need help with our luggage.Our room was beautiful, a duplex suite, spacious and comfortable. It was like a small home. We had dinner on the first evening, the menu is different and exciting. Unfortunately I don't like seafood which the menu does entail a lot of. Had one or two drinks in the bar, it lacks atmosphere and is quite small and uninviting. We sat out on the deck furniture which could do with a lick of varnish, but the view of the lake made up for it. Robert in the bar was very good, professional and very attentive. He even provided some information on what we could do around Cong. We had food in the bar the second night, the menu is at a reasonable price and the table service was quite good. At breakfast there was a very poor selection on the buffet and both mornings it was very depleted. The car park also was not lit at night. Lights appeared to be there but weren't turned on, very dangerous as the car was parked in the forest car park. Also when we had ordered an ice bucket to our room the receptionist told us she was "too busy at the moment" to order that. There are no direct lines for the for the different departments. I went myself to the bar and collected it myself. Checked out by the same receptionist, seems that she just has an attitude in general. All in all I think the Lisloughrey was once a nice hotel. it just needs some money spent on it to revive what it once was and that a few more staff about the place (concierge) wouldn't go astray.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elfinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    169
    60
    22
    13
See reviews for
179
470
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramelton, Co. Donegal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Lisloughrey Lodge in July 2012 and returned there last week. We had booked for 3 nights last week but hotel, food, service amazing combined with fab weather, we stayed for an extra night. Dinner in Wilde's restaurant is of a very high standard. Each dish is a work of art. Presentation is unbelievable. A word of advice, pass on the bread so as to be able to savour your meal! Barfood is also of a high standard. Breakfast menu is extensive and imaginative.Our accommodation was luxurious, spotless and so peaceful. The staff are friendly, profesional and helpful. We hope to return to sample the delights of this wonderful establishment - the hidden gem in the West.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glanworth, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding in may for 2 nights, the accommodation was top class the bed was massive the shower was amazing and to top it off the food was excellent.
At the wedding they had a choice of beef and me and my wife choose it mine I wanted medium and my wife wanted it well done and low and behold that is exactly what we got.
The staff were so friendly and welcoming could not do enough for you, a great place to stay and we will definitely be back.

Well done

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank leebrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trenton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I returned to Lisloughrey Lodge's Wilde's Restaurant two weeks ago after having experienced a fabulous meal there in the summer of 2012. The food, the service, and the atmosphere remains as wonderful as ever! The choices are all mouth-watering, making it so difficult to choose that everyone in one's party is compelled to have something different so that everything can be tasted! Imaginatively conceived and presented, the food not only offers the best of Ireland's marvelous meats, fish, and produce but is also cutting edge, the "surf and turf" appetizer being a particular example of clever pairings! Kudos to chef Jonathan, hostess Anna and the entire staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed here about 3 years ago and had a great stay. Just back from a 2nd stay and things have not changed. The hotel is well maintained and the staff know what they are doing. Food is fantastic. Surrounded by lovely park land, from where you can reach the grounds of Ashford Castle and the lovely village of Cong.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weekender32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I had a one night dinner, bed and breakfast stay at Lisloughrey Lodge in June 2013. The grounds of the hotel are lovely with great views of the lough. The rooms are very well presented, but surprisingly and disappointingly the standard rooms do not have a bath. The suites are equipped with baths, but these are standard baths - and not as fancy as you might expect. However, the hotel does possess an AMAZING hot tub - which is definitely worth a visit. The hot tub is not mentioned in the room information booklet - but it is really worth a visit. The staff at the hotel are top-notch, particularly Robert in the bar and Nicky, who is a really talented Maitre-D. Both my wife and I agreed that the dinner we had was one of the best we've experienced - the quality of the food and wine was truly superb. After a spectacular dinner, we were left rather under-whelmed by breakfast. By 9:30am (and breakfast runs until 10:30am), the pastries and smoothies were all gone - and not replenished. Similarly, the fruit was not the freshest. The cooked breakfast was tasty - but offered a slightly limited selection. Overall, a very enjoyable stay, but some things to improve upon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidMcGuire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were taken by our family for a celebration meal in Wilde's Restaurant - it was our 40th Wedding Anniversary. Definitely a place for a "special" meal. The choices available for each course were very tempting and it was difficult to make a decision. My choice of starter was the Bird's Nest which was rather intriguing and very tasty - the profiteroles contained goats cheese and pieces of mango which went very well together. I liked the fact that local produce from the West of Ireland was used in many of the dishes and due credit was given to the suppliers who were noted at the back of the menu.

There were a few surprises as the meal progressed with an amuse bouchée to start with, served on individual spoons, then after our starter we had an extra mini-course of delicious fresh soup served in a small beaker topped with puff pastry. For the main course I chose monkfish which was beautifully cooked and presented as were all the other dishes that the family chose. Next came another surprise with a pre-dessert dessert which was a mini slice of ice-cream of three flavours. To choose our desserts we were given a candy striped bag with slips of card in it with the desserts on them and the ingredients were on the reverse of the card together with a recommendation for a suitable dessert wine to accompany each dish. As it turned out, I made the wrong choice - should have gone for the chocolate and salt concoction which was truly delicious (I got to taste someone else's dessert!).

To top the meal off, we were presented with an enormous cake, covered in cream and decorated with chocolate and fresh fruit together with candles - we had eaten our fill by this stage so the staff packed it up and we took it home to enjoy the next day. All in all, it was a very special and happy night for my husband and I and the family and the staff were very attentive and the service was excellent. We will be back someday - maybe for our 50th Anniversary!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sorcha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.4 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,570 reviews
17.8 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,130 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
21.0 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 14 in Westport
821 reviews
20.1 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Ashford Castle

Property: The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Address: The Quay, Cong, Ireland (Formerly Lisloughrey Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Ashford Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the 360 acre Ashford Castle estate over looking Lough Corrib, The Lodge at Ashford Castle provides an exemplary country house experience, the Lodge offers Contemporary country cooking using local artisan produce in the relaxing lake view dining rooms. Beautifully designed deluxe rooms (24) and suites (26) combined with an outdoor Tub and Sauna are sure to provide the perfect escape. Banqueting facilities include a glass walled Harbor Room that can welcome up to 200 wedding guests, a boardroom for meetings and screening room for private dining. Estate activities including golf, Falconry and Horse riding are all available along this beautiful estate. We are delighted to now be part of The Red Carnation Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Ashford Hotel Cong
The Lodge At Ashford Castle Ireland/Cong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing