We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab food, most enjoyable sunday lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Had sunday lunch with a group of colleagues, it was so enjoyable, the location is stunning, the view from my seat was breathtaking. The food was fantastic, presentation, service very professional and friendly. The Hotel itself is really beautiful, probably very busy with weddings at weekends but other than that its perfect.
You can take corrib cruises from Oughterard Pier and not have to drive or you can drive through the maam valley and experience the magnificent scenery either way its a wonderful day out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConnemaraDoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 930 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Ate at Wildes and the food was off the hook. We eat out all the time and the food here ranks with the best in the world. We are not just talking about the best of ingredients but incredibly innovative cooking and plating that makes every dish is a work of art. We were a group of eight so we got to sample almost everything on the menu and one dish was better then the next. Service was professional and warm at the same time. Anna made sure everything ran perfectly and we left happy and well fed.

Plan to return the next time we are in Ireland.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Hollywood265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I was here for dinner today and i had heard good things about lisloughrey lodge and it met/exceeded my expecatations. I chose the chicken and bacon for my main and it was like nothing i tasted before! The black pudding mash and the mushroom sauce were delicious. Some of the dishes were served on black slate which was a nice touch. My family of five adult found no fault with it at all so thats a good sign! Thanks very much, we will certainly be back in the future for a treat :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our first visit to Lisloughrey Lodge and it will definitely not be our last. The staff were very welcoming and we were totally blown away by our gorgeous room. We stayed in a Quay suite and really loved the beautiful décor and the grand scale of the suite. We dined in Wildes restaurant on Sunday night and it was an experience we shall always remember. The menu was so inventive and the food was incredible, we especially liked all the little tasters in between the courses.
The location is beautiful and we really enjoyed the country walks and Cong village.
All the staff from reception, bar and restaurant were very attentive and friendly.
We shall definitely return.

Room Tip: Our Quay suite had a lovely view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathym152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Had lunch here yesterday. They do a set Sunday lunch menu for €25 which includes starter, main course and desert. I had Smoked Salmon while hubbie had a "Parcel". We both had the Chicken for main course which was served on a bed of blackpudding mash - very interesting. I had Strawberry cheesecake with a herb tinge - very unusual and hubbie had a selection of Icecreams. Junior had Fish gougons and skinny chips and a bowl of ice cream. Very nice. Beautiful, elegant surroundings and vary friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IrishA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This former guest house for Ashford Castle, was a wonderful find. We came upon it quite by accident, leaving time open at the end of our trip. When we arrived, we were met with a charming staff, with great senses of humor. We had booked the dinner and lodging for the night and settled into the room right away. We relaxed before dinner and enjoyed the antics of the families attending a wedding that night. Then, we went to dinner and oh my, what an experience. Chef Jonathan Keane's creations are spectacular. I won't claim to be a food expert, but I do know good food, and this was it!
The next day we took a hike and had a picnic prepared by the staff to eat along the way. What views! IT was so relaxing. Just what we needed after an action packed 10 days in IReland.
My only complaint? Why would a hotel with top-notch beds, bedding, customer service, heated bathroom floors, have a 13 in TV on the wall? Could not even see the tennis ball during the Open!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scnickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Fabulous setting in the grounds of Ashford Castle overlooking Lough Corrib. Nice quiet setting for a week-end / night away. Rooms excellent, food very good but maybe trying a little too hard to be fancy for want of a better term.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helmet_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.4 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,811 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
84 reviews
24.7 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
20.2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,806 reviews
20.8 mi away
Knockranny House Hotel
Knockranny House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Westport
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Ashford Castle

Address: The Quay, Cong F31 YC85, Ireland (Formerly Lisloughrey Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range: $176 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Ashford Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the 360 acre Ashford Castle estate over looking Lough Corrib, The Lodge at Ashford Castle provides an exemplary country house experience, the Lodge offers Contemporary country cooking using local artisan produce in the relaxing lake view dining rooms. Beautifully designed deluxe rooms (24) and suites (26) combined with an outdoor Tub and Sauna are sure to provide the perfect escape. Banqueting facilities include a glass walled Harbor Room that can welcome up to 200 wedding guests, a boardroom for meetings and screening room for private dining. Estate activities including golf, Falconry and Horse riding are all available along this beautiful estate. We are delighted to now be part of The Red Carnation Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lodge at Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Ashford Hotel Cong
The Lodge At Ashford Castle Ireland/Cong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing