We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting away from it all at Lisloughry...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Getting away from it all at Lisloughry...”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My partner and I stayed here last weekend for 2 nights, we attended a wedding here on the Saturday and stayed on for the Sunday night as well. We had a fantastic time. Everyone I spoke to who stayed in the hotel for the wedding raved about the rooms, the food, the location....

Lisloughry Lodge (for a short while known as The Lodge at Ashford) is a lovely boutique hotel on the grounds of Ashford castle, overlooking Lough Corrib. We had fantastic weather for the weekend, and enjoyed walks around the grounds, down to the lake, and over to the Castle. There are beautiful walks nearby (Cong Abbey, forest trails, lakeside rambles) as well as the picturesque village of Cong. Although we did not take the boat tour of Lough Corrib on this occasion, I have done it before (from the Castle) and recommend it.

The hotel is decorated to a very high standard, with a slightly quirky edge in that the rooms are painted strong colours. Our bedroom was phenomenal, but as I was part of the bridal party I was lucky that the bride allocated it to me! It was the second "bridal suite" and was huge, with all black and white decor, a mounted flat screen TV and electric "log" fire, stunning views down the front garden to the lake, an outdoor terrace, and a large bathtub in the room. Photos included with this review. The king size bed was very comfortable, and we slept well. The bathroom was a bit small (no place to spread out my toiletries etc) but having the huge bath in the bedroom definitely made up for any shortcomings!

The wedding meal was superb. Starter of a thimbleful of soup, followed by duck salad, lemon sorbet, a choice of fillet of steak or sea bass for the main, and 3 mini-desserts as well as a cheese plate on each table. I would be very impressed to be served this meal in an upscale restaurant, so to be treated to this (along with the other 150+ people in the room) was admirable. The second night, we had dinner in Wildes restaurant. It was fantastic. There were 3 "hidden courses" between our starter, main and dessert and these were a culinary and artistic treat. The food was plated beautifully, and it all felt like a fine dining experience, despite the relaxed atmosphere. Service was impeccable - quick, friendly and unobtrusive. Breakfast was average – pre-prepared fry (black and white pudding was dry and overcooked, but scrambled eggs were perfect), usual selection of cereals, fruit and yoghurt as well as croissants and jam.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a few early snags when booking the room (some confusion and a few phone calls) but after that it was smooth sailing. Other TA posters have complained about the service, but I can honestly say I found it fantastic, and nothing was too much for the staff. Special mention for the housekeeping staff, who provide a service until 9pm, and were very friendly and happy to sort our room for us in the evening rather than the morning.

I believe there was treatment room(s) onsite for massages etc, but I did not see this while I was there.

I would recommend this hotel for couples or groups of friends looking for a relaxing break. Looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wosheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    171
    60
    23
    13
See reviews for
195
479
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

was at a wedding here two weeks ago ,a lovely plaice ,but have your dinner before you come here , it was awful ,we were starving after the dinner one side of our table got potatoes and no veg the other side got veg and no potatoes the beef we got was tiny when we asked for more we were just ignored ., some people actually went down the village for a takaway , very dissapointed with it all wont be back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here at the weekend and had a fab time. It is a beautiful boutique hotel in a beautiful setting on the ground of Ashford castle. There are many nice places to take a walk or drive and the town of Cong is near by which is worth a visit.
The rooms are well appointed and the decor is stunning. The king size bed is so comfortable.
We had dinner in Wildes restaurant which I must say was one of the nicest meals I have had in a while. The little treats in between course is a lovely touch. This is what you expect with fine dining and it definitely met our expectations. There was unusual foods put together but they worked so well and were so tasty especially the Black Pudding and Chocolate truffles. I could eat a box of these if it were possible !!!
The staff were very friendly and helpful from making the reservation via phone/ email to departure. I dealt with Paulina for everything and she was very prompt which I liked.
The only down point we had was there was a wedding party there which took over the whole bar (which is very small) when we arrived. The bar at the function room entrance was closed and I feel this should have been open to them and let other guests use the main bar. We had to take our drinks to the lobby. This was just a minor down side but everything else made up for it.
We loved our stay and this is definitly a place worth visiting for a quiet relaxing break. Will definitely recomment to family and friends. We ourselves look forward to seeing you again also.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenKM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here 11th September for one night and were extremely impressed with both the hotel and the service we received. We had booked a double room and because it was our wedding anniversary we were very lucky to be upgraded to the Quay Suite. From the moment we arrived Mr Bala (the receptionist) could not have been more helpful - he is an asset to your hotel. We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Lovely setting ' great views and close to Galway and Castlebar ' is why I booked Lisloughrey for my parents.. and I wasn't let down ' Mum, didn't ask to move rooms which is a first ! and their breakfast was outstanding ... with a table by the window ' their words.. They felt welcome and relaxed.. although the hotel is working on a day behind ' as the weather forecast they got this morning was for yesterday !! The chap on reception was very kind and helpful.

Thank you, Lisloughrey ~ they'll be back ;-)

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view ' but they're all nice !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dish2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stated at Lisloughrey lodge for 2 nights in August and it was lovely - very homey and relaxed. The food in the restaurant was gorgeous. All in all our two night stay including dinner was very good value at € 265. The only drawbacks were that the breakfast was all buffet including the rashers and sausages and eggs- the sausages were deep fried which ruins them and the egs way too greasy and I would just expect to have a breakfast menu and a freshly cooked fry up in a place like lisloughrey I would prefer to pay 20 or 30 euros more and get that. Also the decor,while lovely in the rooms was a bit garish in the hallways and foyer I think they should really tone it down - go and look at Red Cliff Lodge in county Clare for a master class in relaxing , beautiful decor!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Clean with nice soft furnishings, comfy beds with well appointed rooms . Restaurant with Michelin star classed food staff that are not over fussy but effective all add up to a relaxing comfortable stay in this idyllic location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbie8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.4 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,630 reviews
17.8 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,166 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
76 reviews
20.1 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
21.5 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Ashford Castle

Property: The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Address: The Quay, Cong, Ireland (Formerly Lisloughrey Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Ashford Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the 360 acre Ashford Castle estate over looking Lough Corrib, The Lodge at Ashford Castle provides an exemplary country house experience, the Lodge offers Contemporary country cooking using local artisan produce in the relaxing lake view dining rooms. Beautifully designed deluxe rooms (24) and suites (26) combined with an outdoor Tub and Sauna are sure to provide the perfect escape. Banqueting facilities include a glass walled Harbor Room that can welcome up to 200 wedding guests, a boardroom for meetings and screening room for private dining. Estate activities including golf, Falconry and Horse riding are all available along this beautiful estate. We are delighted to now be part of The Red Carnation Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Ashford Hotel Cong
The Lodge At Ashford Castle Ireland/Cong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing