We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good taste for a little place”

Lydon's Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 13 Restaurants in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good taste for a little place”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Lucky coming, we have been surprised by good meals. Not very much of choices but it's friendly place with friendly waiter.
Why not !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fabien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LydonsLodge, Owner at Lydon's Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Fabien B,

Thank you for taking the time to write.

With regard to our Menu options we think we cover a wide selection of locally sourced produce, for guests to enjoy @ The Restaurant @ Lydon's Lodge Hotel. We thank you for your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regard's,
Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    70
    18
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Lovely food and a nice atmosphere. Plenty of choice on the menu, I had fish and chips and the wife chose the lamb shank. Both meals were excellent and of ample portion size.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank storz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LydonsLodge, Owner at Lydon's Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Storz 14,

Thank you for your very kind comments. It is always heart warming to read such positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back where a cead mile failte will await.

Kind Regard's,
Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Attended a private party held here and the service and food alike were both amazing. Great service set in a great location. Definately a must if in the area or staying at nearby Ashford Castle.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TrumpLasVegasNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LydonsLodge, Owner at Lydon's Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear TrumpLasVegasNV,

Thank you for taking the time to write.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to welcoming you back at some future date.

Kind Regard's,
Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
243 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Rugby, Good Food and Chips”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We didn’t want to spend all of our time in Ashford Castle, although doing this would have been good too. One night, we decided to venture into Cong for dinner and hopefully for some live Irish folk music. Although Lydon’s does have a sign in front advertising live music, the sign was tucked out of the way by the door when we arrived. Live music was not the entertainment that night but rugby was, since the local team was playing in the Heineken Cup tournament. I was expecting the pub to fill up with fans for the game but other than a couple of young men at the bar, the customers were mainly locals interested in dinner out. After having some drinks, we did settle in for dinner that included lamb chops, roasted vegetables, Irish lasagna (cream and cheddar cheeses), salad and of course, chips! We found the food here to be very good and the service to be efficient.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnGalt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LydonsLodge, Owner at Lydon's Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear John Galt2,

Thank you for taking the time to write. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back where a cead mile failte will await.

Kind Regard's,
Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very reasonable, food is great and nice homely atmosphere. Open fire is very welcoming as are staff. Worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GarethK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LydonsLodge, Owner at Lydon's Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Gareth K123,

Thank you for your very kind comments. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our front of house team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regard's,
Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lydon's Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lydon's Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing