We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Casual Option at the Castle”

Cullen's at the Cottage
Reserve with OpenTable
Cullen's at the Cottage is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $65
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This traditional thatched cottage provides a relaxed dining experience with a casual dress code in which to enjoy international and local dishes inspired by our owner Beatrice Tollman, including our delicious signature dish 'Chicken Peri Peri'. It is slow cooked in our rotisserie oven in the main dining area, so mouth-watering aromas greet you as soon as you enter the restaurant. At the front of the building you will now discover a beautifully manicured garden and extended patio area proving a spectacular area to enjoy lunch and sip a cocktail and enjoy the magnificent views of Ashford Castle in the distance. Open seasonally, it's just a short stroll over the bridge from the castle. Booking in advance is advisable to avoid disappointment.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Casual Option at the Castle”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a great option when staying at the Ashford Castle wanting to avoid jacket and tie formal attire. The restaurant is causal and well decorated. The food is fresh and delicious. We had the Connemara Smokehouse platter for two , the lamb shank and the sea trout and they were all delicious. The only disappointment is that they were out of scallops. Service was great and we had a lovely time. Wish the restaurant was open for lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alethea16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    73
    21
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The food at Cullen's is delicious and well worth a visit. A little on the pricey side but well worth it. I have dined here several times for both lunch & dinner and have never been disappointed. The service is friendly and attentive. A+++

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cunga22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Cozy, convenient to Ashford Castle”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Good service and food. The local oyster appetizer was particularly delicious. It's expensive for what it is, but the quality is good and you don't have to worry about driving back to the hotel after a few pints.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best food at the Castle”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a good meal and found the offerings diverse and well prepared. The staff was very good and it was a nice relaxed change to eating in the stuffy main dining room at Ashford.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EARHf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I dined here recently and the food, wine and service was excellent. However, there was one little grievance. My surname being Cullen and the wine glasses had the inscription 'Cullen's at the Cottage' I would have liked to buy some. They directed us to the gift shop in Ashford Castle and I can only suppose because we were not staying there the person was not very helpful. Having said that I would recommend Cullen/s at the Cottage for the food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tullysar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cullen's at the Cottage also viewed

 

Been to Cullen's at the Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing