We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you only do one boat trip -do this one.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corrib Cruises

Corrib Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Corrib Cruises was founded in 1976 by the Luskin family and today,brothers Patrick and David Luskin still run the business.Patrick and David run two passenger boats on scenic Lough Corrib,using Ashford Castle as their base.Those who take a cruise will enjoy spectacular views of Ashford Castle,the Connemara mountains and some of the 365 islands on the lake.One particular cruise,includes a visit to Inchagoill island,where visitors are taken on a guided tour of St.Patrick's 5th century monastic site,often described as one of Ireland's hidden treasures.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you only do one boat trip -do this one.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you only do one 'cruise' make it this one. It is worth every penny and David is both very knowledgeable and entertaining. We did the Oughterard Ashford Castle and Cong trip. It was a lovely day, a lovely trip and thoroughly enjoyable for everyone on board.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    18
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great part day adventure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went out on a tour out of Outergard and had a great day! The captain was very friendly and informative about the history of the area. We really enjoyed our trip!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mbee1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lough Corrib”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Took the cruise on the Sunday morning for 1 and 1/4 hours., water was calm and still and scenery fantastic, the day was also nice and sunny! The captain was very informative and gave us a very interesting commentary about Lough Corrib, Ashford Castle and the surrounding areas. We were probably the only two Irish on the boat, lots of american visitors and the captain definitely makes the trip enjoyable for everyone on board. He even let a little boy steer the boat and wear his captain's hat! Well worth doing!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DSF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cold water cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had a cruise on Lake Corrib from Oughterard on a breezy day in June and I have to say it was very good, David our captain and tour guide did a marvelous job steering and talking at the same time and he certainly knew his stuff. You get a different perspective of the scenery from lake level and the stories of the islands as told by David makes it very interesting.The trip to Inchagoill where St.Patrick was exiled is very educational and Gong where the last big thing to happen was the making of The Quite Man in the fifties was enjoyable. The whole trip lasted about six hours and cost 50 euros all in all a very good day out

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jameshunter005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Learned a lot about the castle, lake, and surrounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The captain went table to table at the Ashford Castle breakfast buffet telling folks about the boat trip. We bought in and are glad we did. Captain Patrick is 5th generation to live in their home on property that was once part of the Guinness holiday estate. The ride was informative and there were great photo ops of the castle from the water. A little pricey at 20€ a piece for an hour but one has to consider: petrol, insurance, depreciation, etc. I would do it over again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eme744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corrib Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Corrib Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing