We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 30th Party!!”
Review of Corrib Cruises

Corrib Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Corrib Cruises was founded in 1976 by the Luskin family and today,brothers Patrick and David Luskin still run the business.Patrick and David run two passenger boats on scenic Lough Corrib,using Ashford Castle as their base.Those who take a cruise will enjoy spectacular views of Ashford Castle,the Connemara mountains and some of the 365 islands on the lake.One particular cruise,includes a visit to Inchagoill island,where visitors are taken on a guided tour of St.Patrick's 5th century monastic site,often described as one of Ireland's hidden treasures.
Sligo, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great 30th Party!!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This review is very late coming, but better late than never!!

Myself and my friend both celebrated our 30th birthday in a joint party the end of July. About 40 of us were taken out to the Island by Patricks brother (I am sorry, but have forgotten the name & but lovely man!), and it was only brilliant! Firstly patrick picked up two of the girls at Danaghers earlier in the day and brought them to the boat to decorate. When we arrived, everything looked class, and all the food was cooked and ready to go! The views are amazing off the boat, the bar is well stocked (I do believe the girls that decorated give them a friendly nudge to go to the bars for more vodka...), and the wee man behind it did beyond his means to keep up with our thirsty travellers! We all got off at the island, and everyone enjoyed the meal - loads of everything, and really fresh and hot. Had music throughout, and even had a lovely local back with us to play some diddly dee.

All the staff were pure gents, and really put my mind at rest as I hate organizing things and been responsible for boat full of people and trying to ensure they have paid up etc, but I was told to promptly relax and enjoy the night and they would met me in the morning to deal with all the formalities! True to his word, Patrick met us the next morning, and everything was settled without any hassles. All in all, excellent service, great idea if you want something different for a party or occasion! Cong is a mighty town, lovely and quaint, great genuine locals who dont mind you chipping in for a sing song - Bars do not know meaning of closing time, so suited us fine!!

10/10 For Corrib Cruise and Crew!

All the best for future Success!

Laura D & Orla S X

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurapop28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    22
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A great activity to do when in Cong, highly recommended!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We took the cruise to Inchagoill Island from Lisloughrey Pier having booked through Lisloughrey Lodge Hotel.
The trip was fab - great captain and staff on the boat, highly knowledgable and informative about the lake and its history. They kept all the tourists entertained for the duration of the trip and really appreciated the custom. They are true professionals who clearly enjoy delivering the experience and also being mindful of the lake and its wellbeing.
If you are in this part of the world, we would highly recommend this trip.

ps.............there is also a bar on board the boat serving up a decent pint of Guinnes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dromadamusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Value for money?”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Disappointed to have had to part with 20 euro for this. Would be nice to see a bit of proportion in what is charged for services in Ireland. Wont be back again!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse Station, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“patrick was a great tour Captain”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Stayed at Ashford Castle and went on the Corrib Cruise, located right on the Castle's property. What a lovely time we had, beautiful scenery and very informative. Patrick our Captain was wonderful and had so much info on the castle, lake and surrounding area. Highly recommend.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plumas co.
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“the most informative, unusual, peaceful tour, given by someone with copious historical and archeological knowledge.”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We were so fortunate to sail on the small boat, Corrib Queen, on a cool September day, with seven other passengers ( on a boat that normally holds fifty ) from the town of Oughterard, out across Lough Corrib to Ashford Castle and the village of Cong; the cruise included a stop on Inchagoill Island, which holds both a 5th century church and a 12th century Romanesque church, among other amazing artifacts. The tour was informative and the island of Inchagoill was about as close as being thrown back in time as one can get---all the way back to the time of the historical Saint Patrick and prior to that time, when the ancient people lived in the Lough Corrib region. We would highly recommend taking this cruise with Captain David, who knows so much about his territory, and is happy to impart it in his kind and knowledgeable manner. We were rapt. The views from the boat of islands and shoreline ( you can see Oscar Wilde's house!) and the vision of the Connemara Mountains across the open water were beautiful, and the chance to see and experience so much WITHOUT DRIVING made for a perfect day.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank vistaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corrib Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Corrib Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing