We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value”
Review of Ryan's River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ryan's River Lodge
Ranked #3 of 13 Cong B&B and Inns
central pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Great location, great value”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Right on the river, an easy walk to everything, including the grounds of the ostentatious Ashford Castle.
A clean B&B, inn keeper Martha is friendly and helpful. When we caught up with David, he gave us some good day trip suggestions; we were told that he's also a good fishing guide.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pennstatetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    19
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
48
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Have just spent a few days here in the heart of Quiet Man country.
Martha looked after us really well. She is totally delightful, warm and welcoming and she cooks a mean breakfast. The whole place is really spotless. The rooms are small but so homely and the bed was a dream.
We would not hesitate to recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgefamous5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed at the River Lodge one night with my mother and we had perfectly resting night. The room was pretty small and the decor is not necessarily my taste, but all in all it was perfectly decent and clean. Breakfast was nice, though my soft boiled eggs were actually hard boiled... It is perfectly located to walk anywhere in Cong and though it would have not been my first choice I am glad we stayed there and would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samspit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed at Ryan's River Lodge for two nights in April 2013. It's fabulously located on the river in the heart of Cong and within comfortable walking distance of the stunning Ashford Castle. It is also a short drive from Lisloughrey Lodge where I was attending a wedding. All in all, Ryan's provided the perfect place for me to feel settled during my trip. Martha and her family have kept the original character and decor which adds to the homely feel. I had everything I needed during my stay including a fabulous breakfast! My room had everything I expected and it was absolutely spotlessly clean but the bed was probably the piece de resistance for me. The mattress was so comfortable and had TWO duvets AND an electric blanket! Coupled with a well heated room, I had two very cosy nights of uninterrputed sleep! Thank you Martha for your hospitality and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this great value B&B to anyone looking to spend time in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Ryan's River Lodge was just what I wanted while visiting Cong, the place where "The Quiet Man" was filmed. The thatched-roof cottage look is warm and inviting, and the interior is likewise. The cottage style rooms were cozy, yet spacious, with sumptuous bedding and window coverings. I especially enjoyed our large window with small panes overlooking the river. Although the bathroom portion of the the room is somewhat small, it met our needs, and everything worked well with no problems.

I like how this two-story B&B is arranged with the front part of the building devoted to the B&B and the private quarters to the rear. The ground floor houses the office, the breakfast room, and a very welcoming and comfortable sitting room where Marta served us tea and sweets upon our arrival. Breakfast was another treat with everything prepared to our liking.

Marta, her husband, David, and two young sons, and David's mother were most welcoming and helpful. Although we had not arranged a fishing trip beforehand, David, who is one of the local fishing guides, arranged a half-day of fishing for our husbands (we were 3 couples traveling together). And the ladies were quick to answer our questions and provide directions and shortcuts for outings.

Although it's easy to walk throughout the town of Cong, Ryan's is most convenient and but a minute (or less) from Danagher's Pub, the Cong Abbey, the Monk's Fishing House, and the bridge that crosses the river to a forest path leading to Ashford Castle.

We went to Cong for "The Quiet Man" but found so much more. Ryan's River Lodge was one of the delightful surprises.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marmar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

What a great b&b, friendly accommodating staff and a great place to stay. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and well presented. Breakfast was lovely and overall it was great value for money.
We made use of the complimentary wifi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Martha and David provide a great breakfast with REAL Coffee; fresh chocolate chip scones, (plus cook-to-order Irish Breakfast). With a view of the Salmon Hatchery/ and River rushing by, you wake to a great morning in Cong. They are excellent at telling you about undiscovered trails, hikes to Ashford Castle and other sights in the area. Comfy bed, plenty of light and flexible to provide check-in and breakfast for what's good for your travel schedule. Offered to use their personal computer and do whatever they could to make you feel right at home!

Room Tip: We liked the back room with King Bed, it was quiet and off the street. Could still hear the river wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLTierney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.5 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,630 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
0.0 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Fairhill House Hotel
Fairhill House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clonbur
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lydons Lodge Hotel
Lydons Lodge Hotel
#11 of 13 in Cong
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hazel Grove B&B
Hazel Grove B&B
#2 of 13 in Cong
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryan's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryan's River Lodge

Property: Ryan's River Lodge
Address: Riverside Lodge Riverview | Cong Village, Cong, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryan's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ryans Riverlodge B&B Cong Village, situated overlooking Cong River, we are a family run Bed and Breakfast. We offer comfortable, affordable B&B accommodation and a warm welcome awaits you from the Ryan Family. Situated next door to The Quiet Man museum, Cong Abbey and Ashford Castle is a short stroll through our beautiful woods. Ryans Riverlodge built as a hunting and fishing lodge to offer a holiday you will never forget. We also organise Fishing Holidays and Shooting / Hunting Holidays something to suit everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Ryan's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryan's River Lodge Ireland/Cong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing