We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Ryan's River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ryan's River Lodge
Ranked #3 of 13 Cong B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We came across Ryan's River Lodge by chance while looking to find somewhere to stay in Cong and we were glad that we did. Our room was large and comfortable and breakfast was excellent. We would stay here again if in the area.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank GLM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 95 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2012

I read a review on this bed and breakfast that amazed me - How can people be so vicious.
This is simply a wonderful Irish experience. The staff are friendly, cheerful and friendly. Its not a fives tar hotel and if you want that experience go somewhere else.
Ryans Lodge is the real Irish cottage experience. The breakfast is fresh and plentiful and coffee / tea a a tonic to help even the late night singer wake up to a bright new day with vigour.
In the ten years I have been to Ryan's River Lodge the welcome has always been warm and typically Irish.
The sound of the river gushing past the window literally on the other side of the road would sooth the mind and lull you to sleep with its melody.
How these guests could complain of noise from pipes in the night beats me. I could only hear the river nursing me to sleep.
Personally I would have no problem recommending this country bed and breakfast to anyone. I would suggest the lady had had a bad day - perhaps she had a bad year . Maybe some people just like to rant without a moments thought for others who might miss out on a great village, full of song and character and history.
Cong is a magical place-
Go there and enjoy
Dr Paul Moore
The rooms are pure Irish, Sure the showers are

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis0558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

My husband and I stumbled on Cong and The RIver Lodge. We loved the hospitality at the RIver Lodge. Martha made us a welcome and breakfast was great. Martha and I shared flower basket stories. We stayed one night and wish we had more time. We walked the trial, monk's fishing lodge, and investigated Cong Abbey. We will definitely will be back on our next trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MC-adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Our Kent friends recommended staying in Cong after they had stayed there last year. They stayed in River lodge with their 2 year old daughter. We arrived to Cong, we had made a reservation in advance for 2 nights and had a very warm welcome upon our arrival, from the hostess Martha. Our stay was marvelous. We were treated like royalties! Breakfast we were spoilt for choice and later in the day we tried the cafe. The food was faultless and very reasonably priced. We asked Martha where they get their bread from as it's the best we have ever tasted! It was no surprise to hear her husband is a trained Chef and bakes the divine bread and all the food for the B&B and cafe. Cong village itself is gorgeous and we had some beautiful walks, we had a really nice evening out also- lots of pubs to choose from and many with traditional entertainment. We promised a review on Trip advisor and they deserve it. If all gets too much for us during the Olympics we will escape to Cong and river lodge for a break. Thanks for a lovely stay. Ax

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My wife and I left Westport heading south to Shannon and more or less stumbled into Cong. What a stroke of luck, Ryan's River Lodge was a splendid little place with a wonderful location and we had a great room overlooking the river. Martha was the perfect hostess, very friendly and extremely accomodating. The breakfast of scrambled eggs and smoked salmon was delicious. While I was eating, Martha ran off directions from the internet to our next destination. I would recommend Ryan's to everyone, it's a great value and the people couldn't be nicer!

Mike & Julie Roseville, MN USA Sept. 2011

Room Tip: I think we had room 2 overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed here for one night but would happily have stayed for much longer had we not had to get back to dublin the following day for the ferry back to the UK. The room was very well decorated with a beautiful view of the river and the breakfast was probably the best we had during our tour of Ireland. Will definately return and would encourage anyone visiting the lovely village of cong to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank archiemcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Stayed there for a wedding in Lisloughrey (or the Lodge at Ashford as it is now known). We only stayed a night, but we had a very comfortable stay and would recommend the B&B as it is good value and cong is a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank reviewer067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cong hotels
0.1 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,759 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lydons Lodge Hotel
Lydons Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Cong
78 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nymphsfield House
Nymphsfield House
#1 of 13 in Cong
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hazel Grove B&B
Hazel Grove B&B
#2 of 13 in Cong
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryan's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryan's River Lodge

Address: Riverside Lodge Riverview | Cong Village, Cong, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cong
Price Range: $103 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryan's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ryans Riverlodge B&B Cong Village, situated overlooking Cong River, we are a family run Bed and Breakfast. We offer comfortable, affordable B&B accommodation and a warm welcome awaits you from the Ryan Family. Situated next door to The Quiet Man museum, Cong Abbey and Ashford Castle is a short stroll through our beautiful woods. Ryans Riverlodge built as a hunting and fishing lodge to offer a holiday you will never forget. We also organise Fishing Holidays and Shooting / Hunting Holidays something to suit everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Ryan's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryan's River Lodge Ireland/Cong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing