We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cyclist recomends Ryan's River Lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ryan's River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ryan's River Lodge
Ranked #3 of 13 Cong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cyclist recomends Ryan's River Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

River Lodge has a wonderful resturaunt on the ground floor where the b and b breakfast is served - what a great smoked salmon/egg breakfast! On the second floor are the spacious rooms and the whole operation is a very friendly b and b with a very friendly hostess. I have stayed in a lot of b and bs in Ireland over several cycle trips. this one is in the top tier: clean, friendly, helpful to a cyclist, reasonably priced and great food. ... the area is beautiful and the village of Cong is small and charming.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank charlieD76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    19
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Caboolture, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed at Ryans River Lodge last week at the close of a 7 day whirlwind tour of Ireland. We were able to secure a comfortable and quiet room for us and our daughter with a beautiful view of the River and nearby parkland - a real chill out zone. As most would know one of Cong's main attractions is to the John Wayne/Maureen oHara loving QuietMan Crazies - one of which I am married to. We could park the car when we arrived and walk to every destination we wished to explore within and surrounding the village over the next 2 days - not least was the trip round the corner to Danagher's.
If you want genuine people, yummy breakfasts (still not converted to black pudding though) and a relaxing break - try Ryan's - we think its a winner

Room Tip: Room 2 to look onto the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank madaustralians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

What a wonderful stay we had with Martha at Ryan's River Lodge!
We were her first visitors of the season but you would not know it, the place was so warm & friendly!
I cannot say enough about the welcome we received, the lovely room we used & the fabulous breakfast. We had stayed in a very posh hotel the night before & thought their breakfast was good but Martha's outshone it!
Cong is a wonderful place to stay, so much scenery to see & of course with The Quiet Man movie being filmed there, it has that connotation too.
We will return to Ryan's River Lodge, but next time to shoot or fish which is something they specialise in too.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank alisonsweetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

Had a great few nights at this fab B&B! We were in need of a break as a full holiday was not an option this year! The River Lodge is a very welcoming place. The manager there made us feel at home straight away! It wad refreshing to stay in a homely environment, great views of the river from a very comfy room. The b&b is spotless. There is also a cafe do we had lunch there one day and the food was delicious! The breakfast was great! My husband caught his first Salmon on the river which was such a highlight! David and Martha Ryan pointed us in the direction of all there is to see and do! We had lovely walks in the forest near Ashford, which is amazing! We will definately be going back soon, hopefully for a spring break!! Highly reccommend this great place to anyone looking for a break from a busy life!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juicy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

We fell in love with the place immediately, partly because of the warm welcome we received rfrom Martha and David, our hosts. The surroundings of Cong are unique (The Quiet Man with John Wayne was filmed there in the 1950's), and walks in the vast forests of Ashford castle and the abbey were such a joy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dingledangledongle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

My Husband and I discovered Ryans River Lodge B&B when we were driving through the village and decided to stop for a coffee in River Cafe which is located on the ground floor of River Lodge. We then decided to have lunch as the menu looked great the staff were amazing so welcoming and friendly. We were both blown away with the food. It was the best lunch we had during our stay in Ireland!!!! The B&B and Cafe are family owned and run which makes all the difference. The proprietor chatted to us about the attractions of Cong. We had no idea Cong had so much to offer so we decided to stay for 2 nights. My husband totally fell in love with River Lodge. The B&B overlooks the river and has always been a fishing and shooting lodge. My husband loves fishing and shooting and was in awe with the pictures of various fishermen showing their big catch, stuffed fish, stuffed birds, old rods etc. and the fact that he had so much to talk about with the Ryans themselves. They were so friendly and accomodating we will definately be back. Its a fantastic idea having the cafe there also. You can smell the baking coming from the kitchen when you come down the stairs in the morning The brown bread and scones are delicious!!! I went horseriding while my husband went fishing, We took a boat cruise which was just so beautiful. we visited the quiet man cottage and had some of the most amazing walks around the grounds of Ashford castle. Visit www.congtourism.com for information and attractions of Cong. It's well worth a look before you arrive so you can plan ahead.
My husband is already planning his return with a group of friends during the shooting season as David, the proprietor offers shooting packages. All the information is available on their website www.ryansriverlodge.com so if you are keen on fishing or shooting this is the place for you. My husband called it "Home Away From Home"

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NYYankeesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a weekend break in Cong Co.Mayo. We reviewed the B&B online and booked in advance of our stay. From the time we arrived we were very pleased with all aspects of our stay. Our room was spacious with a pleasing quirky decor overlooking the river. The lodge appears to be a family run business and each interaction with the staff we were treated courteously and every attempt was made to meet our needs. The land lady in particular was very attentive and personable. She could not have been more helpful when asked about places of interest to visit and the best scenic routes to take. This definetely did not dissapoint - the most beautiful scenery in the world!
In Summary - Welcome: warm and genuine. Room: clean, spacious and wonderful view. Cost: very reasonable for all that was offered.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dobster_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cong hotels
0.7 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
0.5 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hazel Grove B&B
Hazel Grove B&B
#2 of 13 in Cong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nymphsfield House
Nymphsfield House
#1 of 13 in Cong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.7 mi away
Michaeleen's Manor
Michaeleen's Manor
#5 of 13 in Cong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryan's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryan's River Lodge

Property: Ryan's River Lodge
Address: Riverside Lodge Riverview | Cong Village, Cong, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryan's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ryans Riverlodge B&B Cong Village, situated overlooking Cong River, we are a family run Bed and Breakfast. We offer comfortable, affordable B&B accommodation and a warm welcome awaits you from the Ryan Family. Situated next door to The Quiet Man museum, Cong Abbey and Ashford Castle is a short stroll through our beautiful woods. Ryans Riverlodge built as a hunting and fishing lodge to offer a holiday you will never forget. We also organise Fishing Holidays and Shooting / Hunting Holidays something to suit everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ryan's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryan's River Lodge Ireland/Cong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing