We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great owners”
Review of Cong Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cong Hostel
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Cong
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Hostel is just what it is suppoosed to be plus you get a chance to see the film of The quiet man - which is still the reason for some visitors after half of the century since it was filmed in nearby Cong.
Margaret and her husband Garry are so nice and helpfull. Garry knows everythig about film and film locations, he also runs a museum in the village and organize film related tours...
They also run a B&B acros the street, which is full of pictures and sentences from the movie ... Food over there is just perfect Irish...

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 42 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2010

Margaret (Owner) could not have been more helpful to us last weekend, which was a group of almost 30 people altogether.

The hostel is basic but does what it says on the tin. The bed-sheets were clean when we arrived which is all I ask for from a hostel. I had a walk around the building and the kitchen was adequate. Already some of our group are looking forward to going back. I'd recommend the hostel to groups or friends who just want no nonsense accomodation. If you want something a little more comfortable (ie. if you're a couple) then i'd recommend the B&B accross the road

TIP: Not all of the dorm's are en-suite, so if booking a room request one with an en-suite, it'll save you having to go downstairs in the morning for a shower

Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
Thank GalwayLad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Stayed in this with my wife. We had a double room in this hostel which is currently up for sale. It's obvious the owners are not really interested in maintaining it properly. Let's just say that the bedsheets were very unhygenic. Take my advice - check out the hotels in the area that will offer much better value for money. Cong is a beautiful village. These guys are cashing in on it's fame with their twee references to the Quiet Man everywhere you look. John Wayne would not approve.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Quite_Man_Insult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Loïg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Fernando C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jérémy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Thibaut V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cong hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
0.7 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,712 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lydons Lodge Hotel
Lydons Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Cong
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Michaeleen's Manor
Michaeleen's Manor
#5 of 13 in Cong
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Lakeland House
#3 of 4 in Cong
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cong Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cong Hostel

Address: Quay Road | Lisloughrey, Cong, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Cong
Price Range: $28 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Cong Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cong Hostel Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing