We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, great family run business”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cong Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cong Hostel
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect, great family run business”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The family who run the Hostel couldn't be anymore friendly & helpful. We had an excellent stay here, great value for money! I highly recommend staying here it is definitely up there with the better hostels throughout Europe. Cong Village will not disappoint it is spectacular ! Laura, Co.Armagh.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lillypad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    11
    10
    4
See reviews for
8
9
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

No breakfast, the kitchen was not clean at all.. The bedroom was really small and not really clean I even found a dead spider on my bed. he bed not really comfortable. We can't take a shower unless we payed more for it (some euros for 5 min under the water). And no wifi for internet in the bedroom.

A really disappointed stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariK07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret C, Owner at Cong Hostel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Marie,

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Regarding the points you raised we don't include breakfast as part of staying in the hostel and WIFI is available in the common areas but not in the bedrooms. We will endeavor to address the other issues you raised as our guests' comfort is of the utmost importance to us.

Kind regards,
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cong hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

A great little hostel with friendly, helpful managers.

A Quiet Man was filmed in Cong. I was there out of season - so missed the nightly movie screenings, but you can borrow the DVD - so you don't leave town without the experience !

Loads of great walks in town, from The Abbey and around the castle.
Back door entrance to castle grounds is just a few doors down the lane, and it's a short walk into town, via the castle grounds.

While you may not be staying at the castle - you can enjoy the grounds, the activities, and go in for afternoon tea ! Tea and scones will cost about the same as one night's accommodation at the hostel !!

I came for 3 days and stayed nearly two weeks - such a pretty, pretty town.

Sat Nav co-ordinates for the hostel are : N 53 32.352, W 9 16.269

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Almostgreynomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had a twin private room. It was basic but ok for a couple of nights. The bathroom looked like it had fairly new fittings, and it was clean. The bed sheets looked old and tired, but seemed freshly washed. The kitchen is large and quite well equipped, although everything is old. If you are traveling alone I think you would find this place lonely and a bit isolated. The building is large and starkly bland. It does not feel at all homely or particularly welcoming. The common areas are not inviting - more like out of date school rooms. Wifi is only available in the stark tv room, or the laundry. If you have company, and wish to stay near Cong, then you will find this place ok providing you are not looking for character or a cosy atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveller5360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We brought our caravan to the quiet man hostel and camping park last weekend. It's a small site, located beside Ashford castle and cong village. The site is well kept, well drained making it more ideal for tents, it seemed to have ample kitchen and eating facilities which we did not use. Toilets were clean albeit a little old fashioned. CDU was fine.
It has a nice playground tucked away behind the main house, the reception has a little shop with enough to solve dire emergencies.
It's very close to Cong village, lough Corrib and Ashford castle, a short drive will bring you into the ma'am cross area in Connaught.
We'd go there again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank johnyd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lukovica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Hostel is just what it is suppoosed to be plus you get a chance to see the film of The quiet man - which is still the reason for some visitors after half of the century since it was filmed in nearby Cong.
Margaret and her husband Garry are so nice and helpfull. Garry knows everythig about film and film locations, he also runs a museum in the village and organize film related tours...
They also run a B&B acros the street, which is full of pictures and sentences from the movie ... Food over there is just perfect Irish...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Margaret (Owner) could not have been more helpful to us last weekend, which was a group of almost 30 people altogether.

The hostel is basic but does what it says on the tin. The bed-sheets were clean when we arrived which is all I ask for from a hostel. I had a walk around the building and the kitchen was adequate. Already some of our group are looking forward to going back. I'd recommend the hostel to groups or friends who just want no nonsense accomodation. If you want something a little more comfortable (ie. if you're a couple) then i'd recommend the B&B accross the road

TIP: Not all of the dorm's are en-suite, so if booking a room request one with an en-suite, it'll save you having to go downstairs in the morning for a shower

Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GalwayLad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cong hotels
0.7 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,494 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
1.2 mi away
Villa Pio Bed & Breakfast and Luxury Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Michaeleen's Manor
Michaeleen's Manor
#5 of 13 in Cong
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nymphsfield House
Nymphsfield House
#1 of 13 in Cong
100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ryan's River Lodge
Ryan's River Lodge
#3 of 13 in Cong
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cong Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cong Hostel

Property: Cong Hostel
Address: Quay Road, Lisloughrey, Cong, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp and HostelWorld so you can book your Cong Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cong Hostel Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing