We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Halloween in Cong”
Review of Dolmen House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dolmen House
Ranked #10 of 13 Cong B&B and Inns
Hollywood, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Halloween in Cong”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

My husband, daughter (22) and I stayed for two days with Kathy & Dermont over Halloween this year. They were the most gracious of hosts. We so enjoyed our talks and tea and desserts we shared over great conversation. Even saw a beautiful rainbow on the morning we left. Loved Cong and loved this B&B. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    8
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaillimh, Éire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We had a great stay at Dolmen house. We had a lovely welcome on arrival and despite not getting up until noon after a very late night at a wedding we had a lovely Irish breakfast and tea at that late date and a great chat with our hosts. The rate was also very reasonable. It is a nice walk into the village.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aonghus Ó
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, N.Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We experienced a very warm welcome from the owners Kathy and Dermot after a long journey from Derry and were given tea/coffee,cake and biscuits on arrival. Our room was spacious and well appointed with en-suite.The house and grounds were of v. high standard. We stayed 2 nights and found our hosts extremely helpful with any request . The Irish breakfast was fantastic. Would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in or around Cong.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Erik & I decided to stay here the night before we arrived. The Hosts were super sweet, outgoing people who went out of their way to be sure we were taken care of and comfortable.
Their home was superbly decorated and impeccably clean. The landscaped yard was so impressive too!
Lastly, the Irish breakfast was my favorite of our entire trip!
Definitely a wonderful B&B experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYRaptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey wexford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We gave an approximate arrival time as 3pm as we were coming from Wexford having buried our nephew and we arrived at 3.30ish, to find ourselves greeted by a child of about 13 yrs. of age as the hosts were not there. It was a dreadfully wet evening and we hoped for tea or something on arrival, but the child had to ring someone to find what room we were allocated.It took ages. Obvioulsy no tea. No greeting. We went into the town of Cong to have a bite to eat and when we came back, the hosts still didn't put in an appearance- we had to look for her. No apology for not being here when we came. There was no shower gel, and no glasses in the bathroom to rinse our teeth. Still no offer of refreshment even when we explained our long journey and funeral. We were asked what time we required breakfast we said 9.30- at that time we had to share a table with other guests- our "Irish " breakfast arrived- horrible! The sausages and rashers were dried out and we were'nt asked how we liked our eggs. Our extra toast consisted of the leftovers from the other guests.My husband paid the bill and the hosts husband didn't even know how much it was. We were'nt asked if we enjoyed our stay, we just got our bags and left, and nobody bid us farewell ! Cead Mile Failte???? I DON'T THINK SO. Best you go somewhere else where the hosts actually care.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Esther m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Beautiful views, clean, fresh rooms and a fantastic full Irish Breakfast. Also it was a safe place to leave the car overnight. Having seen the accomodation and parking available in town, we were glad to have chosen this B&B.

The village of Cong is disappointing, especially for Quiet Man fans, as we are.
Better to use this wonderful B&B as a base to visit surrounding towns, such as Galway and Westport.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Amazing Bed & Breakfast. Spotlessly clean, Beautifully decorated large house. Fantastic breakfast and excellent hosts. A definite must. We reccomend this B&B to all. We'll be back. .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McDo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cong hotels
0.9 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,594 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
0.4 mi away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Villa Pio Bed & Breakfast and Luxury Apartment
0.5 mi away
Lydons Lodge Hotel
Lydons Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Cong
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hazel Grove B&B
Hazel Grove B&B
#2 of 13 in Cong
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolmen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolmen House

Property: Dolmen House
Address: Drumsheel, Cong, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dolmen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen House Ireland/Cong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing