We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, sweet and friendly.”
Review of Ryan's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ryan's Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2010

Ryan's is right in the middle of town, a great location for seeing the town itself or getting to surrounding areas of interest. Denis Lenihan, one of the owners, was friendly and helpful, not only did he give us suggestions for places to visit but he also mapped out the route for us. Everyone at the hotel, bar and restaurant were welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank statesattorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 82 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2010

Was invited to a wedding in Ashford castle in November and found this hotel on line, it was a nice surrprise to be invited to Ashford castle but unfortunatly couldn't afford the prices so was surprised with the value we got here, it was in walking distance to the church where the cermony was held and to the hotel afterwards, stayed 3 nights and had food 2 of those nights in their Bar, the food was really good ( ex Chefs from Ashford working in the kitchen)and the staff were very helpful ( even down to booking me a hair appointment ). Overall we had a ball , rooms are newly decorated, airy and bright. And they have access to internet in Bar

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine02_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

As an American traveling throughout Ireland, it's easy to long for the Ireland you see in brochures. Much of Ireland has tried very hard to "modernize", which is a short-hand for remodeling and covering up everything old. That means that pubs full of tradition have been gutted and changed into "discos" -- which are press-board covered shadows of their former selves. Many restaurants that once served honest country food made from local ingredients have become fast food joints, or Chinese restaurants, or some kind of Euro-bistro. And finally, the Irish B&B has suffered the worst -- buffeted by the winds of a slow-down in tourist trade, and the terrible hits the local economy has taken, the glow is off the "fun" of being a B&B owner -- and it shows up in halfhearted attempts at breakfast, tiny little bathrooms scarcely big enough to turn around in and many, many B&Bs simply shutting down.

But that doesn't mean the Ireland you see in the brochures doesn't exist. Far from it! Instead, you have to hunt out the gems, and support those that take the time to remain true to tradition. Gems like Ryan's

And that is what Ryan's has done. Hear you have a small boutique hotel, in the shadow of Ashford Castle, one of the premiere estates on the island. And within Ryan's you'll find a wonderful restaurant - The Fennel Seed - run by world class chefs, serving both traditional food from local ingredients, as well as anything you heart could desire. There's even a great "local" -- a neighborhood pub, called The Crowe's Nest, where you'll find a wide range of company. But in all honesty, there's more than a hint of Americanism on view as well, since the hotel and bar are so frequently visited by Americans.

Like any small hotel, there may be something you;d like to change -- like being too close -- or too far -- to the bar, but a simple request to the owners will get it fixed.

I have been in many types of hotels and B&Bs in Ireland, and I recommend Ryan's without reservation.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

This was the third trip to Ryan's. I have found the place great. The people there have wonderful everytime I was there. I found nothing wrong with the rooms. a different room each time. And I happened to like the music each time. I am roping to go back again this spring. Peggie, Phila. Pa. USA

Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
Thank PeggiePhilaPaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2008

A few of my friends and I just spent a week fishing in the Cong area. We stayed at Ryan's Hotel in the centre of the town
http://www.ryanshotelcong.ie

It is reasonably priced and the food is excellent.
The locals are friendly and obviously used to tourists.
I was not crazy about the music. More noise than music.
The afterhours sing song was the best part.

The hotel is well equipped for fisherman. Plenty of room for all the gear and the looked after our catch each day, so that we could take them home fresh. The guy that run it used to be the chef in Ashford Castle, so he knows the ropes.

Lough Mask was my favourite lake. Very scenic and eating on an island is an experience.
We walked the grounds of Ashford Castle a number of evenings.
http://www.ashford.ie
They have a lovely nine hole golf course.

We also went for a drive through Clonbur, Cornamona and into the Maam Valley, some of the locations for the film The Quiet Man.

Overall a very enjoyable and relaxing week.

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank corkman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We stayed for 2 nights in this aged and run down hotel which is located in the centre of the town of Cong Co Mayo.

The premises is in fact 3 houses in the main St of Cong which have been merged into one unit.

Our room on the first floor was musty and reeked of tobacco smoke. The door to the room was made of cheap hollow plywood and this resulted any activity in the hallway being audible in the room.

Our matress's was very low grade on our 4 foot 6 'double' bed and the coils pushed through resulting in quite an uncomfortable experience.

The room could have done with a good clean and a dusting.

On the Saturday night, some very loud and low quality Country music was played in the bar below us until 1.30am which kept us awake. I'd think that most of the bedrooms in the building would have been similarly affected.

I don't expect that I'd ever be back to this place. It is in need of a complete refurbishment.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TouristPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbnam2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.5 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,762 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
3.2 mi away
Fairhill House Hotel
Fairhill House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clonbur
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
The Wyatt Hotel
The Wyatt Hotel
#4 of 13 in Westport
967 reviews
10.4 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oughterard
171 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Pio Bed & Breakfast and Luxury Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryan's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryan's Hotel

Address: Ryan's Hotel Main Street, Cong, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range: $100 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ryan's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Ryan's Hotel, located in centre of Cong (made famous by the Quiet Man Film) in the heart of Connemara in County Galway. The hotel offers comfortable accommodation and each of the guestrooms comprises of en-suite facilities. In room amenities include TV, DVD, telephone, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryers. Ryan’s Hotel is just 40 minutes from Galway City and is the ideal base for touring the West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ryan's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryan's Hotel Ireland/Cong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing