We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated, Moldy, Expensive and Very Very Cold”
Review of Ryan's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ryan's Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Outdated, Moldy, Expensive and Very Very Cold”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Outdated, Moldy, Expensive and Very Very ColdOutdated, Moldy, Expensive and Very Very Cold.. €100 for a Sunday night stay.. Not worth €10.. Rooms were cold with old bed linen on the bed and uncomfortable..

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    21
    8
    7
    7
See reviews for
13
29
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson Valley, NY, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Okay this was by far the worst "hotel" / "B&B" or whatever its called, that we stayed at during this trip to Ireland. We wandered in off the road, somewhere around 7pm. The other lodging in town referred us to Ryans since they were full. The owner did come out with an apron etc (as others have said), and offered for us to view the room before deciding. Since we had no other options at that point, we agreed. We believe we turned the heat on (radiator on the wall with no indicators of what either knob is for. but my daughter who is familiar with foreign heating systems turned it 'on'), ran out for errands and a look around and to give the room time to heat up. When we returned, it was still ice cold in the room. After calling about the heat, they said the heat WAS on a timer and that it would take awhile to get going...they gave us a space heater that stopped working after about 30 minutes. The bedding and room furniture are all very dated. I can accept old dressers and stuff, but at any discount store nowadays you can find new bedding at cheap prices. Its shameful to have bedspreads from the 60s??? Look at my room pics and make your decision! The bathroom was actually modern, big and nice, yet the sink still had 2 spouts!!! So you can't run tepid water!! Plus there was black mold all around the window. Our heat never turned on, we all slept freezing the old flat pillows under our heads.. the walls were wet and dripping in the morning from the cold. Sorry....but this place with a little work could be very nice.

Room Tip: Bring your own heater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The West
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Recently attended a function here and dined in the bar a few times in the lead up to the function. Function went very well - great food and very good service. The owners could not be more helpful. They helped on meal selection, booked the music, decoration of the room, setting up of marketing stall and late that night ensured everyone got home safe and well. Keenly priced also. The bar food was varied and had from the basic burger to mussels in white wine sauce. I would recommend the seafood platter with brown bread. Also do a very good seafood chowder. Ask Denis or Mike for advice as regards your stay. Denis will even do his own itinerary for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the building as the road can be busy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emelynthehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed in Cong because we had heard it was a lovely village. We booked online & thought that it was fairly expensive but usually you get what you pay for. We found the hotel with out any problems and were directed to park at the rear. We grabbed our bags etc and headed into the back door. I was carrying some jackets and as I entered the door was unable to see that it led directly & without warning to a number of steps going downwards. Needless to say I fell but luckily was uninjured. We then had to negotiate up some stairs & through corriadors to the reception area. The lounges there were quite dated old and grubby cream velvet with equally dated and grubbby cushions on them. After ringing the bell we were greeted by a "cook" who was filthy. He had grime and food alover his clothes and up to his elbows. He initially was unable to find our booking but eventually gave us a room key. When we got to the room it was very very basic, the bathroom floor had makeup on it & the beds had been slept in (there was mascara on the pillow cases and hair in the beds). I went back down to the reception and told the "cook" and he simply gave us keys to another room, which was still as basic and dated but reasonably clean. We found that the heating wasnt on, and were quite cold over night. Also the shower leaked and rand over the floor leaving a muddy trail on the floor as it picked up dirt etc from around the bathroom. The pub down stairs was reasonably priced basic food and the included breakfast was ok. I wouldnt recommend this hotel at all. The Village is quite lovely and is certainly worth a visit, just look around for your accomodation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trevor83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

The road is about 1 meter from your head as you sleep. That's all I can be bothered saying! The service was however fantastic, it is basically just an old hotel on the main road.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacks0nFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

After spending a weekend in this beautilful family run hotel, myself and my husand are already planning our next visit! Next time we would like to bring our friends to share the comfortable and warm irish ambiance this hotel oozes. From the moment of our arrival we were greeted with sheer warmth and hospitality by hotel owner Denis. We were brought to our quaint and tastefully furnished bedroom where we enjoyed a quiet afternoon nap (after our busy day travelling)! When we arose we went for a brisk walk around Cong village where we took in the breathtaking views of Ashford Castle. Later we dined in the crowe's nest where the service and the food were superb. Our waiter, a young Irishman, was very pleasant and recommended many dishes that would suit my husband's dietary needs. When we were finishing our dinner, the live band were getting ready to start- they were awesome! We sang along to all the traditional Irish songs and soaked up the pub's atmosphere. This pub is renowned for its live music and it really does live up to its standards. I hope that whoever is lucky to get to Cong during the summer months enjoy their stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hoopslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We were very excited about coming to Cong and to stay at a historic hotel in the middle of the village was enticing to me. The owner Denis was very pleasant on the telephone, but acted extremely harried when we were there. Our accommodations were very plain, but suitable and I have no complaints. However, the problem with the entire experience may have been a very large local family group gathered for an event. Children were running up and down the halls until late at night, people sitting on stairwells which made it hard to get up or down, and when we went to the Crow's Nest we did receive menus, but noone ever came back to take a drink or a meal order. We tried to get someone's attention, but again, they were concentrated on a larger group, so after about 30 minutes we gave up and went to another pub down the street and were served immediately. When we checked out the next morning, I did expect that the owner would at least acknowledge that it had been an unusual day/night and apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused. But, instead he just swiped my credit card and was off to other things. All in all, it wasn't a bad experience, just disappointing.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank TexasTravelers02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.5 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,570 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
3.2 mi away
Fairhill House Hotel
Fairhill House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clonbur
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lydons Lodge Hotel
Lydons Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Cong
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ryan's River Lodge
Ryan's River Lodge
#3 of 13 in Cong
87 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Pio Bed & Breakfast and Luxury Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryan's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryan's Hotel

Property: Ryan's Hotel
Address: Ryan's Hotel Main Street, Cong, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ryan's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Ryan's Hotel, located in centre of Cong (made famous by the Quiet Man Film) in the heart of Connemara in County Galway. The hotel offers comfortable accommodation and each of the guestrooms comprises of en-suite facilities. In room amenities include TV, DVD, telephone, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryers. Ryan’s Hotel is just 40 minutes from Galway City and is the ideal base for touring the West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ryan's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryan's Hotel Ireland/Cong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing