We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West of Ireland's secret gem”
Review of Ryan's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ryan's Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2011

After spending a weekend in this beautilful family run hotel, myself and my husand are already planning our next visit! Next time we would like to bring our friends to share the comfortable and warm irish ambiance this hotel oozes. From the moment of our arrival we were greeted with sheer warmth and hospitality by hotel owner Denis. We were brought to our quaint and tastefully furnished bedroom where we enjoyed a quiet afternoon nap (after our busy day travelling)! When we arose we went for a brisk walk around Cong village where we took in the breathtaking views of Ashford Castle. Later we dined in the crowe's nest where the service and the food were superb. Our waiter, a young Irishman, was very pleasant and recommended many dishes that would suit my husband's dietary needs. When we were finishing our dinner, the live band were getting ready to start- they were awesome! We sang along to all the traditional Irish songs and soaked up the pub's atmosphere. This pub is renowned for its live music and it really does live up to its standards. I hope that whoever is lucky to get to Cong during the summer months enjoy their stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hoopslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Ryan's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 79 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2010

We were very excited about coming to Cong and to stay at a historic hotel in the middle of the village was enticing to me. The owner Denis was very pleasant on the telephone, but acted extremely harried when we were there. Our accommodations were very plain, but suitable and I have no complaints. However, the problem with the entire experience may have been a very large local family group gathered for an event. Children were running up and down the halls until late at night, people sitting on stairwells which made it hard to get up or down, and when we went to the Crow's Nest we did receive menus, but noone ever came back to take a drink or a meal order. We tried to get someone's attention, but again, they were concentrated on a larger group, so after about 30 minutes we gave up and went to another pub down the street and were served immediately. When we checked out the next morning, I did expect that the owner would at least acknowledge that it had been an unusual day/night and apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused. But, instead he just swiped my credit card and was off to other things. All in all, it wasn't a bad experience, just disappointing.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
6  Thank TexasTravelers02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

We stayed at Ashford Castle but we drove into Cong to have dinner at Crow's Nest Pub. We didn't know it was connected to Ryan's Hotel until we saw our receipt. The service was bad, we have to request the table to be cleaned. We ordered 2 burgers, they brought out no buns, they charged us 2 stews which were 2 Euros more than the burgers. We told the young man but he doesn’t care. The food wasn't that great anyway! This was the only pub in Ireland that wasn't friendly. Surprised!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank freddierocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

The hotel was very pleasant, the staff was friendly and very professional. Rooms were very clean and confortable. I very much enjoyed the bar located in the hotel, the crowd was very friendly to travelers and the guiness was poured with attention to detail and care, i dare say it was the best pint i drank in all of Ireland. The real suprise of this hotel was the food, I can say without doubt that I had the best hamburger I have ever eaten at the bar in Ryans, all the food was exceptional for breadkast, lunch and Dinner, but that burger I had was my first meal and I still remembet how great it was.. I encourage anyone traveling in Ireland to make the trip ton Cong and when you do, stay at Ryan's Hotel, when you do, get ready for a pleasant stay and a great meal, and please do yourself a favor and have a burger!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerry023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

Ryan's is right in the middle of town, a great location for seeing the town itself or getting to surrounding areas of interest. Denis Lenihan, one of the owners, was friendly and helpful, not only did he give us suggestions for places to visit but he also mapped out the route for us. Everyone at the hotel, bar and restaurant were welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank statesattorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

Was invited to a wedding in Ashford castle in November and found this hotel on line, it was a nice surrprise to be invited to Ashford castle but unfortunatly couldn't afford the prices so was surprised with the value we got here, it was in walking distance to the church where the cermony was held and to the hotel afterwards, stayed 3 nights and had food 2 of those nights in their Bar, the food was really good ( ex Chefs from Ashford working in the kitchen)and the staff were very helpful ( even down to booking me a hair appointment ). Overall we had a ball , rooms are newly decorated, airy and bright. And they have access to internet in Bar

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine02_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

As an American traveling throughout Ireland, it's easy to long for the Ireland you see in brochures. Much of Ireland has tried very hard to "modernize", which is a short-hand for remodeling and covering up everything old. That means that pubs full of tradition have been gutted and changed into "discos" -- which are press-board covered shadows of their former selves. Many restaurants that once served honest country food made from local ingredients have become fast food joints, or Chinese restaurants, or some kind of Euro-bistro. And finally, the Irish B&B has suffered the worst -- buffeted by the winds of a slow-down in tourist trade, and the terrible hits the local economy has taken, the glow is off the "fun" of being a B&B owner -- and it shows up in halfhearted attempts at breakfast, tiny little bathrooms scarcely big enough to turn around in and many, many B&Bs simply shutting down.

But that doesn't mean the Ireland you see in the brochures doesn't exist. Far from it! Instead, you have to hunt out the gems, and support those that take the time to remain true to tradition. Gems like Ryan's

And that is what Ryan's has done. Hear you have a small boutique hotel, in the shadow of Ashford Castle, one of the premiere estates on the island. And within Ryan's you'll find a wonderful restaurant - The Fennel Seed - run by world class chefs, serving both traditional food from local ingredients, as well as anything you heart could desire. There's even a great "local" -- a neighborhood pub, called The Crowe's Nest, where you'll find a wide range of company. But in all honesty, there's more than a hint of Americanism on view as well, since the hotel and bar are so frequently visited by Americans.

Like any small hotel, there may be something you;d like to change -- like being too close -- or too far -- to the bar, but a simple request to the owners will get it fixed.

I have been in many types of hotels and B&Bs in Ireland, and I recommend Ryan's without reservation.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
0.5 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,678 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
3.2 mi away
Fairhill House Hotel
Fairhill House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clonbur
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lydons Lodge Hotel
Lydons Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Cong
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ryan's River Lodge
Ryan's River Lodge
#3 of 13 in Cong
94 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Pio Bed & Breakfast and Luxury Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryan's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryan's Hotel

Address: Ryan's Hotel Main Street, Cong, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range: $104 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ryan's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Ryan's Hotel, located in centre of Cong (made famous by the Quiet Man Film) in the heart of Connemara in County Galway. The hotel offers comfortable accommodation and each of the guestrooms comprises of en-suite facilities. In room amenities include TV, DVD, telephone, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryers. Ryan’s Hotel is just 40 minutes from Galway City and is the ideal base for touring the West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ryan's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryan's Hotel Ireland/Cong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing