We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Luang Say Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pakbeng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luang Say Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

Slept like a log! very comfortable bed. It is a delightful place and a perfect stopover en route to Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gruntfuttock99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    105
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
26
185
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
179 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

Pakbeng is in a beautiful location halfway between the Thai border and Luang Prabang. A two day trip down the Mekong between the two is highly recommended. It is both relaxing and spectacular. The Luang Say lodge is rustic but extremely comfortable with all necessary amenities. It makes a great stop over on the boat trip. We would however be happy to spend longer because it was so good! The food and service are excellent with a surprisingly good wine list.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
677 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,858 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

We stayed at Luang Say as part of the Luang Say cruise from Houei Say to Luang Prabang. As we pulled up in the boat, we saw an elephant taking a drink across the river, that was pretty cool. It is a long haul up the steps to the check-in, but there are porters there to help you with your bags. The place is beautifully designed with teak wood throughout, and quite new so still in good condition.

There is a restaurant which served a pretty poor buffet the night we stayed there, and a bar serving small drinks, along with beer and wine. They had a wine cooler which was surprising. The individual bungalows all face the river, and stretch upstream from the check-in. They are rustic bungalows with no A/C, barely even a light, but do have Western bathrooms with a shower, and a mosquito net over the bed (very necessary). We had a gigantic near-tarantula size spider in our shower, which startled me - it was huge! But I chased it out (I think). Make sure not to use your lights at night or you will be swarmed by mosquitoes - if you keep them off or at least to a minimum and keep the fan on high it should be fine. They are adjoining, with only wicker for walls, so you can hear everything that goes on in the room next door - everything - and they hear you, so not great for privacy. Balconies with chairs on them overlook the river, which is nice.

The town is only a short walk away, and there are two villages within walking distance. There is free wi-fi at the bar which was a welcome surprise, though it's not in the rooms. They do light mosquito coils at night, so after sundown they are pretty mellow for the most part. A good stop halfway to Luang Prabang - cheap enough for budget travelers yet full-featured enough for a one-night stop for everyone else.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johann&Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

Like other reviewers, I stayed here en route from Luang Prabang to Houeisai.
This place is not located right in town, but is on the river not far from town.
Rooms are simple but nice - looking right onto the Mekong. A great view from your private patio. I only stayed one night and really had very little time to enjoy the lodge. I would have liked to spend an entire day there just relaxing and enjoying the view.
Fortunately there were mosquito nets for the beds as there were plenty of bugs.
Food was fairly good, but not the highlight.
The whole setup is great. There is an elevated wooden walkway from the reception area / dining room to all the individual cabins.
The place is just very charming and unique, and I suspect you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rambling_Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

We booked this through Asian Oasis (3 day, 2 night river cruise from Houeosay to Luang Prabang). The 2nd night was spent at Kamu lodge which I also thoroughly recommend (see report). We were 2 adults & 2 children aged 9 & 11 so had booked 2 bungalows (a twin & a double adjacent to each other and the kids got 50% discount).
We arrived just before sunset after a full days cruising on the boat & a couple of stops at villages on the way. Everyone was pretty excited as the lodges came into view set back on the river bank in the forest. You leave your luggage in the boat hold (the crew sleep on the boat) & just take an overnight bag which the porters will carry up the banking, past the peanut plantations & steps to the lodge. We were then given a welcome cocktail & watched the sunset over the mekong. Luggage was then taken to the stilted timber bungalows which were reached along timber walkways. The rooms were large & simply furnished in traditional style with an ensuite shower room with gas powered shower. There were no windows just timber slatted shutters which allow you to hear the wildlife outside! Along the walkways are lovely planted areas with everything labelled eg. pineapples, lemongrass, ginger, along with banana & mango trees. Dinner is served at the central lodge & is buffet style with lots of choices (try the squirrel kebabs - a speciality). As mentioned before the wine list is something special that any top restaurant would be proud of & really reasonably priced - I don't know how they do it in the middle of nowhere! Breakfast is again buffet style with good Lao coffee. We got up early (whilst still dark) to visit the village of Pakbeng on our own which was quite a trek. When we arrived people were just getting up & stoking up their fires. It was like we had arrived on a film set (I got scared by a dog so didn't hang around -but thats me - don't let it put you off).I believe if you go a little further there is a local market that's worth seeing. When we arrived back at the lodges the sun was just rising which was magical to see with the mist. The Mekong is un-navigable at night so the boats slowly start up as it gets light. The only downside was that there was no dancing that I had been promised if there were more than 20 people on the cruise (if this is important to you it may be worth checking on when on the cruise). The staff were lovely & helpful (all local villagers that have been trained). My youngest daughter had antibiotics to take & they went & squeezed orange juice specially for her to mix with the tablets.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barefeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
184 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2009

I agree with the review submitted by bengston , Switzerland. This is a most charming place in the middle of nowhere and a lovely stopover on the way from Houei Say to Luang Prabang - a spectacular trip on a very nice boat with excellent service from the crew and guides. We, too, took advantage of the good and reasonable wine list while enjoying a delicious dinner at the lodge. On our boat, one of the passengers had a leg in plaster and was on crutches. Porters carried her up the long flight of steps which leads from the shore to the lodge - the staff were great indeed.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnEdLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
295 reviews
292 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2008

This is a remarkable property, isolated on the outskirts (much better than the ‘downtown’) of Pakbeng, the overnight stopover town for river travellers from Huangsay to Luang Prabang and otherwise a ‘nowhere’ town. The hotel overlooks the river and is a series of ‘bungalows’ on stilts, each with one or two large rooms. The architecture and décor are authentically local and the atmosphere is comfortable (not luxurious) and relaxing. The staff are from the local tribes and are pleasant and efficient. Breakfast and dinner were excellent in context and the wine list was one of the best we saw in Laos. We stayed only one might but would have been happy to have had a second relaxing day exploring the area or just looking at the Mekong. Recommended.

  • Liked — Design
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pakbeng
4.3 mi away
Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge
0.0 mi away
Nakaraj Princess Hotel
Nakaraj Princess Hotel
#1 of 7 in Huay Xai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mekong Riverside Lodge
Mekong Riverside Lodge
#3 of 12 in Pakbeng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Phonemany Guesthouse
Phonemany Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Pakbeng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
BKC Villa
BKC Villa
#4 of 12 in Pakbeng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monsovanh Guesthouse
Monsovanh Guesthouse
#2 of 8 in Pakbeng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luang Say Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luang Say Lodge

Property: Luang Say Lodge
Address: Ban Pak Beng, Pakbeng 0406, Laos
Location: Laos > Oudomxay Province > Pakbeng
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Pakbeng
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luangsay Cruise is a journey through remote mountainous stretches of the Mekong between the Golden Triangle and the royal old city of Luang Prabang. A stay at the Luangsay Lodge is worth the trip itself. Built on the shores of the Mekong in traditional Lao style of solid wood, the Lodge features 20 elegantly appointed bungalows with western amenities and hot water showers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luang Say Hotel Pakbeng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing