We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm on the busy Mekong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Luang Say Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

After a day cruising the Mekong, Luang Say Lodge was a delight to stay in, the bungalows are lovely, food fantastic, ( creme caramel for breakfast!) staff great. They provided an evening show of local children dancing, to traditional music, enchanting!
Mosquito net used, no sign of a mosquito though, even as no screens on windows. Staff turn down bed, tuck in Mosquito net and plug in an electric repeller, worked like a charm

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler1395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 297 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here on New Years Eve with our two children ages 9 and 11 and the rest of the guests on our LUang Say Riverboat cruise. What an amazing place!! It's beautiful! the location is incredible. You feel like you are the only people on the Mekong River. We were able to send up lanterns on New Years Eve and light a few fireworks, much to the kids delight. The food is very good and the accommodations are very nice. Each teak bungalow is accessible by wooden walkways. It can get very cold in the mornings, so come prepared. We had hot water and used the mosquito net. There are no screens on the windows, so I imagine in the buggy season this could be an issue. We wish we had stayed two nights.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MominBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We took the Luang Say river cruise down the Mekong from Chiang Khong/Houei Sai to Luang Prabang. This is a stunning trip. The overnight stay was at the Luang Say Lodge. A beautifully built lodge almost hidden in the 'forest' close to the river. 17 very attractive 'bungalows' on stilts connected by walkways to the main reception areas. There was also a nicely organised dance and music session by local children and young people before dinner. What a pity that this hotel is not more easily accessible - otherwise I would be back!

Room Tip: All the bungalows are equally attractive but quite a hike to the furthest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a delightful place to stay and a welcome break in between a fantastic two day river cruise.
Food, service and accommodation all very good. Great staff.
The only let downs are easy to rectify. Make sure there is an insect proof mesh over the windows. The windows are louvre style and let in all sorts of bugs, even keeping the lights off at night and closing the shutters. A mosquito net is provided and you feel a bit safer under this! Also, the plumbing needs sorting out as we had only cold water for a shower - not welcome at 06:00 am!!
This is basic but good fun and has all you need really, another star if the above are corrected!!
If you want the Ritz, don't travel along the river, be boring and get a plane.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhillipN741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I spent a very comfortable Mekong cruise, a cultural journey and an opportunity to understand a bit more about life on this legendary river. This is the most wonderful way to see the Mekong and a fantastic experience that also gets you comfortably from Chiang Rai to Luang Prabang by boat.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank David1478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed here as part of the two day Luang Say Cruise from Huay Xai to Luang Prabang. The cruise itself was great and very relaxing, on a very comfortable boat through brilliant scenery with first class English and French speaking guides. The Luang Say Lodge further enhanced the experience: I have never stayed anywhere quite like it! We were greeted off the boat by porters from the Lodge who helped passengers with their luggage up from the river, and on arrival we were given a very refreshing sugar cane welcome drink. The accommodation is truly unique: a series of wooden bungalows along a raised walkway overlooking the river, without glass in the windows (but with shutters) and mosquito nets to keep the midges at bay (they work well!). Although my friend and I decided to head into Pakbeng for dinner, reports from the others on the cruise were that it was excellent; and the breakfast in the morning before departing down the Mekong once more was certainly very good.

I have heard one or two others say that they think the Luang Say cruise, including the stay at the Lodge, is a bit on the expensive side. It certainly isn't cheap: but I think it is truly excellent and well worth every penny. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I really loved this place! The wooden bungalows are beautiful & comfortable, with surprisingly few bugs despite the screenless windows (the mosquito nets and plug-in repellent did the job well). The river cruise to/from the lodge was wonderful, the lodge staff were friendly and very well-organized, the evening dance performance by local kids was charming, and both dinner and breakfast buffets were delicious. If my shower had had hot water, I would have raised my rating. But hot water or not, I'd love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retirada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pakbeng hotels
0.5 mi away
Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge
0.9 mi away
Phonemany Guesthouse
Phonemany Guesthouse
#1 of 10 in Pakbeng
44 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mekong Riverside Lodge
Mekong Riverside Lodge
#4 of 13 in Pakbeng
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DP Guest House
DP Guest House
#3 of 13 in Pakbeng
129 reviews
0 mi away
BKC Villa
BKC Villa
#2 of 13 in Pakbeng
33 reviews
0 mi away
Monsavanh Guesthouse
Monsavanh Guesthouse
#5 of 13 in Pakbeng
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Luang Say Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Luang Say Lodge

Address: | Ban Don Kham Village, Pakbeng 0406, Laos
Location: Laos > Oudomxay Province > Pakbeng
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Pakbeng
Price Range: $389 - $924 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Luang Say Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1999, our custom built luxury river boats have travelled on the Mekong in Laos between Luang Prabang and Huay Xai. We are renowned for offering a unique cultural journey and an opportunity to understand more about life and nature along the legendary river. As part of our 2 days cruise, you will spend the night at Luang Say Lodge, and experience the fiery and romantic sunset from your luxury teak and rosewood bungalow along the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Luang Say Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luang Say Hotel Pakbeng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing