We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Luang Say Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pakbeng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luang Say Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was a great place to stop off on our trip down the Mekong Our room was over looking the river with great veiws and amongst beautiful tropical vegetation. The staff are all freindly and welcoming and we had a lovely dinner and breakfast. We used the mosquito nets so we could have the windows open - but we were kept awake by the noises of the jungle!!! The "cruise" was well organised and we were will fed and watered. Our guide knew a lot about the area and the history so he answered all our questions easily.
A lovely night's stop.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    105
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
26
185
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Lovely bungalows, clean, comfortable, with a nice hot shower, clean sheets and towels and a beautiful view. The bed however is very small and the mosquito net does not have a proper structure, so you constantly touch it with your arms and legs (bleah!)... luckily it was clean, but I didn't like it anyway! Dinner was very nice too. It was part of our Luang Say cruise, which was actually a highlight of our Laos trip... However, we wouldn't have paid the full-price for the cruise: we only did it because we got a really great last-minute deal for the upstream journey during the rainy season... there were only 8 of us on the boat, and it was great, but I don't think I would have been as happy if I had paid 400 USD for it, and/or if there had been 40 people on the boat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VaSb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Food was good, hotel is nice with great trees and plants between the bungalow. Only downside is the lack of airco in the rooms, which avoids the rooms from becoming as humid as they are. Also, moskito nets at the windows would make the inside of the room more bug free.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Like most, we stayed here as part of the mekong cruise. The lodges were beautiful though easy for bugs to get in, and it gets quite warm in the lodges too. Food in the hotel was excellent, lots of varity and absolutely delicious. Beautiful setting and garden and a nice bar to relax. The boat cruise in itself is wonderful too, though not sure if its worth the 400 they apparently charge in high season. We got a huge discount though it being low season and as such it was no doubt the best way to get across. The boat was almost empty so we had lots of space, good food and very friendly staff! Very comfortable!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D51054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

A luxury lodge should have windows with glass not just open shutters especially in the tropics next to a river (loads of bugs). There shouldn't be a load of detritus including various bodies of bugs on the beds when you arrive (at least a couple of day's worth). Cleanliness is a basic requirement not a luxury and it isn't like we were a surprise booking since the cruise company also own the hotel.

This was booked as part of the (expensive) Luangsay slow cruise upstream from Luang Prabang to the Thai border. The cruise was great but the lodge was very basic especially disappointing for a "luxury" option. This may be the best lodge in Pakbeng but it is also the only place in a tour of Laos, Cambodia and Thailand where I was violently sick (through the whole night and following day after eating dinner) so take your own snack food along.

The mosquito nets were ok and needed given the open air access but you should take lots of deet repellant and spray before you go for dinner. Needless to say, don't leave your lights on or the bugs will come in (and they are huge).

The hotel is sandwiched between the river and the road so the sounds of the wildlife are a bit lost to the sound of motorbikes. We think we could hear monkeys - such a shame the lodge let us down.

Room Tip: We checked several - the beds were all dirty on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthLondonHousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed here for one night as part of the two-day slow boat from Houeisay to Luang Prabang. This is the middle of the trip and a welcome oasis after 8 hours cruising the Mekong. The very friendly staff will meet you at the riverbank and help with bags up to reception and your room. A cold beer on the hotel's balcony with a fabulous view up the Mekong was just the thing before a beautiful local dinner. So much food and many choices as each course if brought out to you. There were only about eight of us at the lodge and we were free to roam around this wonderful location. The lodge is about a 10 min walk into Pakbeng which is a small and simple village. Rooms are simple but have all the amenities you need for a comfortable stay. Highly recommend both the Asian Oasis cruise and the stop-over at the Luangsay lodge at Pakbeng.

Room Tip: Each of the bungalows run along wooden walkways from the reception area. Rooms on the riverside of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pedrovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
289 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

It was great to arrive at the Luang Say lodge near Pakbeng after the long boat trip. The walk up was a bit of a challenge in the very hot conditions. It was hard work for the porters (some girls too) to carry our luggage up. The location of the lodge is beautiful with stunning views of the Mekong river. There was a large deck where you could enjoy the view and a drink. The dinner and breakfast were excellent and the staff went out of their way to please you. The lodges itself were very dark and we didn't want to open the louvres because of the insects.The bathroom was quite primitive and the showerhead connection was broken so we had to hold it. But the bed was very comfortable and the mosquito net was a must.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pakbeng
4.3 mi away
Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge
0.0 mi away
Nakaraj Princess Hotel
Nakaraj Princess Hotel
#1 of 7 in Huay Xai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mekong Riverside Lodge
Mekong Riverside Lodge
#3 of 12 in Pakbeng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Phonemany Guesthouse
Phonemany Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Pakbeng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
BKC Villa
BKC Villa
#4 of 12 in Pakbeng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Monsavanh Guesthouse
#5 of 12 in Pakbeng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luang Say Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luang Say Lodge

Property: Luang Say Lodge
Address: Ban Pak Beng, Pakbeng 0406, Laos
Location: Laos > Oudomxay Province > Pakbeng
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Pakbeng
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luangsay Cruise is a journey through remote mountainous stretches of the Mekong between the Golden Triangle and the royal old city of Luang Prabang. A stay at the Luangsay Lodge is worth the trip itself. Built on the shores of the Mekong in traditional Lao style of solid wood, the Lodge features 20 elegantly appointed bungalows with western amenities and hot water showers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luang Say Hotel Pakbeng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing