We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic option for overnight on the 2-day Melong slow boat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pakbeng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Santisouk Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 8 Pakbeng B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic option for overnight on the 2-day Melong slow boat”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

When you get off the boat at Pak Beng, you are surrounded by people trying to get you in their hotel. I went with these guys on the proviso that i was not required to stay, but only wanted a look.

The rooms were super cheap, and clean, bathroom was ok, there were fans (no air-con as Pak Beng apparently runs off generators, so I am unsure if any accommodation has air-con). Wifi was included, breakfast was not, but you could buy it in their restaurant. Fantastic views from rooms and restaurant over the Mekong.

Considering you HAVE to stay in Pak Beng for the boat trip, I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    10
    3
    8
See reviews for
3
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Todos Santos, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Very cheap, so don't expect much in terms of comfort. However, the guesthouse (that's what it is, not a hotel) sits high above the Mekong river's edge with an open patio where they serve a basic but nutritious breakfast. Staff is friendly but nothing special. During the early morning hour the best treat however is to watch the elephants that come to the river, right across from this place. 5-6 elephants with some boys come out to the river for bathing and drinking, very spiritual in the early morning mist.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripperzerro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pakbeng hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Picked up at River. Easy check in. Great bed & clean bathroom. Good breakfast @ adjoining property-5 mins easy walk from main strip. Quiet location. Definitely a good choice after long day on riverboat

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenkenzell, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Well the guest house looks nice at the first glance, but the service is questionable.
When we did ask to changed the sheets on the bed, since they had obviously not been changed, we got the comment "I have changed them today" and the lady did not
even try to be polite in any manner.

Fact, we packed our backpacks and moved out again.
A clear sign that they just want to make quick money without any service at all, or is it asked
too much for clean sheets??

I would surely not recommend this guest house, since in town there are a lot and you can have a nice pick to the same price with nice and friendly service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneGaiser123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have been in Santisouk for just one night for the trip from Chiang Khong to Luang Prapang. The accomodation is very nice, on the river; the brakfast is fine and the rooms are all cleans and confortables. Sith, the owner, is a kindly person and he waited me on the pier to reach to the accomodation. I have found it on Lonely Planet, my trip's Bible!santisouk_pakbeng@hotmail.com

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwame-Luka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel owners in Pakbeng have got you over a bit of a barrel really because anyone arriving on a Mekong river cruise between Laos and Thailand really has no choice but to stop here!

The hotel was just okay - at $12 we felt it was overpriced for what it was, considering we had stayed in much nicer places for less. Breakfast was an additional cost so we opted out and bought our own from the street vendors at a much cheaper price.

After travelling Asia for two months we had got wise to testing beds before accepting a room and the beds in the first room we were shown to were appalling! There was literally no padding in the mattresses, just material and metal wires. The second room was slightly better but not great, and noise from the owners television easily seeped through the paper-thin walls and carried on until past midnight.

Overall, the place was clean though and the owners were friendly. You could undoubtedly do worse in Pakbeng.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cookington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We reserved a room, and received 2 emails confirming this reservation (one of them less than 24 hours prior to our arrival), but when we arrived at Pakbeng (in the dark), the guy from the guesthouse picked us up at the ferry, brought us to the guesthouse, only to tell us that they have given our room away to other people that had arrived at the guesthouse a few minutes before us.
That's really bad, and so were the unbelievable excuses made by the hotel staff about the person who emailed us having left to luang prabang the same day (and told no-one about the reservation). It seemed more like they know you wont return to this place, so they only care about filling up the guesthouse with whoever...
ps: there was also no wifi, or in his words: just go to the restaurants, they have wifi there ;-(
pps: we ended up in another guesthouse just 2 houses further up the street, for less than half of the price (300THB for double room with hot shower), which was ok.

Room Tip: there is no need of prebooking in pakbeng, no matter what the guys at the boat tell you (to sell the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ursula_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pakbeng hotels
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge
0.0 mi away
Phonemany Guesthouse
Phonemany Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Pakbeng
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phomephithak Guesthouse
Phomephithak Guesthouse
#6 of 12 in Pakbeng
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverside Lodge
Mekong Riverside Lodge
#2 of 12 in Pakbeng
151 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Syvongsack Guesthouse
#7 of 12 in Pakbeng
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
BKC Villa
BKC Villa
#4 of 12 in Pakbeng
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santisouk Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santisouk Guesthouse

Property: Santisouk Guesthouse
Address: 77/79 Thanon Nokeokummane, Pakbeng 0406, Laos
Location: Laos > Oudomxay Province > Pakbeng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pakbeng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing