We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh... Got the job done.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phetsokxai Hotel Pakbeng
Ranked #7 of 8 Pakbeng B&B and Inns
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Eh... Got the job done.”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we were told that the rooms we had reserved and paid for five months earlier were not available because the hotel "was busy". After raising a stink, we were given two rooms in place of the family room we had reserved. Rooms were very basic for the price. Breakfast was okay, but again, given the price paid, was very basic. The hotel met the requirement of a place to spend the night, but was nothing like the good experiences we had just about everywhere else we stayed in Laos.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Luu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    9
    52
    40
    15
See reviews for
10
51
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

First of all I understand that Pakbeng is a small town and you can't expect luxury accommodation but surely you can expect a toilet that works properly! The first room we were given had a blocked toilet. Someone came to fix it but after about 20 mins we said enough is enough, we want another room. At first there was no other room but my husband insisted that we were not staying in a room with a blocked toilet.

We were then given a room down the stairs (we had to move our own bags with no offer of assistance from the staff) and thankfully the toilet was not blocked. However, it did have a slow leak from the base - very unhygienic!

Although the location was good and the rest of the room was quite clean in our opinion it is just not acceptable to expect people to stay in rooms without a proper functioning toilet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarggyCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pakbeng hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there during our Nagi of Mekong trip.

The hotel is very near the long boat dock. Walking distance to the town. They locked the gates at certain hours at night and will be open back only at 6.15am. So even if you wake up early you will not be able to walk to town.

7am you will be able to see some elephants bathing across the river.

Breakfast is served at 6.30am.

Place is safe, comfy, relaxing.

Have 2 very nice and friendly dogs.

Water pressure is not so good for shower. Room a bit small.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianakpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed here for one night as part of a 2 days cruise on the Mekong. My room was down some steps from the reception level, outside. After a few teething problems, not being able to lock my door, turn the electric on, etc. everything went smoothly. As soon as I requested assistance, they came and showed me what to do. There was no fault, it was only that I didn't know how to do it.
The room was quite palatial with a small table in the lobby area and a huge window, then a winding staircase up to a mezzanine level where the beds and bathroom were.
Clean and adequate, though the toilet had a slight leak where it joined the floor.
Very close to all amenities within Pakbeng. Plenty of local restaurants and shops to choose from. There is a restaurant in the hotel, but it was very busy. Breakfast was adequate and reasonable choice available.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of the Nagi of the Mekong cruise.

As far as I could see, there were no towns on the river, so Pakbeng is as big as it gets. The hotel was basic but it was well located by the river, nearly had good views and was adequate for one night. We had aircon, and yes, the shower gets the loo seat wet if up, but that is common for this part of the world. Sheets and towels smelt and looked clean, and the room was so clean that there was no dust on the dado rail!

Beds were hard-ish, but softer than in some much more expensive places we stayed in in Laos.

Breakfast was ok. I am allergic to a lot of fruit but was still able to eat plenty, dry bread, butter, eggs, boiled sausage, fruit juice...sweet as normal for here, and proper Lao coffee was a welcome relief from nescafe.

Some tour groups were drinking til late on the tables and chairs outside (Laos shuts early but you can always go to out and buy your own), and we were jet lagged so just passed out.

Our room was next to reception but didn't seem noisy. We didn't need to interact with the staff other than to get a key and breakfast but they seemed helpful enough.

I would stay here again or recommend it for this town. I was trepidatious about staying here as part of the trip but it is good considering the location. Some more expensive hotels in Laos were disappointing as staff are generally lacking in refinement in Laos, but this one is ok.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank stacvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stocksfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed here as part of our Nagi of Mekong cruise, so we were only in Pak Beng for about 12 hours.
Location was fine as it is only a short walk ( uphill) from the boat docking area.
Our room was a double on the first floor. The room was dark as it was mostly wood and there were heavy shutters on the windows, but I didn't mind this as it was good for sleeping.
The air con was ok, the shower room was very basic but all in all it was a better experience than we expected given previous reviews.
Can't comment on the restaurant as we had breakfast on the boat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank betsymarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

I am sure it's not the worst place to stay in Pak Beng, but it is far from great. At over $60/night you expect a clean room. Ours wasn't even close. And I ended up getting the runs from the eggs at Breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pakbeng hotels
0.7 mi away
Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge
0.4 mi away
Phonemany Guesthouse
Phonemany Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Pakbeng
40 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mekong Riverside Lodge
Mekong Riverside Lodge
#3 of 12 in Pakbeng
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BKC Villa
BKC Villa
#4 of 12 in Pakbeng
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Syvongsack Guesthouse
#7 of 12 in Pakbeng
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phomephithak Guesthouse
Phomephithak Guesthouse
#6 of 12 in Pakbeng
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phetsokxai Hotel Pakbeng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phetsokxai Hotel Pakbeng

Property: Phetsokxai Hotel Pakbeng
Address: Donkham, Pakbeng 0406, Laos
Location: Laos > Oudomxay Province > Pakbeng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pakbeng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phetsokxai Hotel Pakbeng 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing