We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Villa Sarika(Pakbeng)
$13
TripAdvisor
View Deal
$37
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
$6
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$10
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Dockhoun Guesthouse(Pakbeng)(Great Value!)
$9
Booking.com
View Deal
$81
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Vanvisa at the falls(Luang Prabang)
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
$15
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveler rating
165
142
49
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
142
49
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmekong riverset menuluang prabangdeluxe roomsone nightslow boatbeautiful viewfrench manageran overnight staycrepesnext morninga wonderful staylaotian stylebalcony overlooking the riverbreakfast boxan excellent restaurantan incredible experience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 371 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We spent one night stopover on the boat trip from Chiang Khong ( North of Thailand) to Luang Prabang ( Laos) in last April. After full day on the boat trip along the mekong river , Pakbeng Lodge gave us the wonderful night in the peaceful mekong! The service of the hotel was lovely! The hotel manager are very helpful and friendly! He took care us very well and gave us free offer upgrade to the nice room with overview of Mekong river. We have a great dinner at the hotel restaurant. It was one of lovely dinners in Laos. What a pity we had only one night here. We will come back and spend one week at this hotel for relaxing in the future. We will recommend our friends to stay here if they travel in Laos. Thank you very much for amazing memory of Pakpeng! We will come back again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We arrived at the Pakbeng Lodge boat dock just before sunset on route to Luang Prabang on the Shompoo Cruise from the Houy Xai/Chiang Khong- Laos/Thailand border crossing. After a short hike up from the riverside with hotel porters carrying our baggage we reached Pakbeng Lodge perched high above the riverbank overlooking the Mekong below. I have to say that it is probably one of the best hotel locations I've stayed in. Our comfortable room was beautifully furnished with minimalist traditional Lao decorations but had a modern clean en suite bathroom. The view from our balcony was amazing looking up the Mekong with its islands and changing colours as the sun went down.
We had a 5 minute walk, before our included dinner, down to village which had an outback feeling but was showing signs of developing tourism. Dinner was excellent - Lao cuisine with French influence - served by friendly and attentive staff in a wonderful open plan bar/dining area with an outdoor deck looking down on to the river.
I would certainly recommend the Pakbeng Lodge for its location, ambience and service. My only regret is that this was an overnight stay and we had no time to explore the elephant camp across the river.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Pakbeng Lodge is beautiful lodge, located on the Mekong riverbank with absolutely breathtaking views .
GM Mr. Stan and his team go out of their way to make your stay at comfortable as possible.
Both lodges and restaurants are well designed, perfectly clean and have well assured the nicest beds in the region.
Nice complimentary breakfast with waffles and homemade bread.

Because of the remote location of Pakbeng, you will arrive late afternoon and will have to leave early morning. Instead of just staying overnight, I highly recommend to stay an extra day/night to enjoy what Pakbeng lodge has to offer. Don't miss the opportunity to visit the Mekong elephant camp.
Elephants are treated with great love by both management and caretakers. You will not find a similar experience in the region where you will can take a beautiful ride and can even bath in the mekong with the elephants!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aitg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed at the Pakbenhg Hotel for one night as part of an organised tour and were very impressed. Admittedly the visit didn't start too well with a steep climb from the boat mooring up to the Hotel (although there was plenty of help available for luggage) but thereafter the stay was very good. Once up the hill the location and views over the Mekong were lovely. The rooms were decorated completely using bamboo which made them somewhat dark- additional lighting would certainly have been a benefit. Although there wasn't air con, the netted windows provided adequate ventilation. There also wasn't any TV which we didn't find a problem as there didn't seem to be many English channels available generally in the area. The shower was served by an individual gas boiler that was very efficient but a bit sensitive to control. The hotel is located 5 minutes from town that has lots of backpacker guest houses and some interesting and quirky shops. As a medium sized group we found that there wasn't enough seating in the lounge area so some of us had to stand, service at the bar was also a bit variable- I had to go and find someone to serve me another drink during dinner. The food was excellent by the way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river ideally on the upper floor
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobBonHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We saw this place as we went past on the river and knew we wanted to stay there. Although we are on a budget, after seven hours on a boat, we decided to treat ourselves, saving money by not taking breakfast and intending to purchase something in the morning from a local cafe. Upon check in, we were advised a complimentary breakfast would be included after all and we would be driven back to the pier in the morning in good time.

We were bought welcome drinks and taken to our upgraded room, right at the very highest level of this beautiful hotel. The views and the silence were stunning. The room was wonderfully appointed, and l adored the French infusion in the architecture. It really added to the class of the room. It was lovely to open up the entire wall to the balcnony and view the Mekong from bed.

We went to get a drink in the upstairs bar, again overlooking the Mekong and got chatting to the manager, a lovely French man who was very concerned we had everything we needed. We mentioned we were intending to go out and get some dinner. Five minutes later, he came back and said as we looked so comfortable, we could take advantage of a complimemtary set menu for dinner if we wished. Which we did! The staff were so friendly - l was surprised to read other comments lamenting them for not speaking English more proficiently. As we are in another country, in my opinion, it is not for the staff to learn our language, and politeness can still be conveyed though smiles and gestures. We had at least learned the Laos words for hello and thank you so managed to get through a very pleasant meal before taking our glasses up to our balcony for a great nights sleep.

Breakfast was plentiful! Waffles to start, followed by eggs, toast, fruit and juice. The only criticism l would make is that a hotel of this calibre could offer real milk as opposed to coffee mate. That is the only criticism l have of the entire stay.

I would not hesitate to stay again.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank thumpergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanislas F, General Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Thumpergirl,

Thank you very much for making the Pakbeng Lodge your stopover in Pakbeng. Writing on behalf of our team, we are very pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us. I have passed on your review to our staff and it is one of the best motivation tool.

With our best regards,

Stanislas Fradelizi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews