We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit the Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pakbeng
Certificate of Excellence
Varberg, Sweden
1 review
“Visit the Lodge”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have now been at the Lodge for 5 nights and are very satIsfied. Best service, nice room, wonderful view from the room and very tasty dinners. We can recommend this Lodge for all travellors.
Margit and Arne Kastberg , Sweden

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanislas F, General Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Mrs and Mr Arne K,

Again, thank you very much for your 5 nights visit with us. We are delighted all our services where to your expectations. I will share your review with all our team.
We do look forward to see you in the future.

With our best wishes

Stanislas Fradelizi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    133
    44
    10
    5
See reviews for
41
163
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I was pretty excited about our stay at the Pakbeng Lodge during our overnight on the way to Luang Prabang. The General Manager met us at the dock and helped us with our bags, so far so good! We stayed in the deluxe room on the top of the hill which, after seeing the location of the "superior rooms", I'd say that is the only option...

Once we got to the top the view was outstanding. Literally one of the prettiest sunset views I have ever seen in my life. It all went a little south from there...

I had heard from friends who had traveled to Laos in the past about how friendly the people are there, the staff at this hotel, however, did not seem happy or friendly at all. I don't know if it's because they are in the middle of nowhere? or because it was freezing? But something seemed really strange.

I decided I wanted to sign up for the $10 massage before dinner because, how could you not? I sat outside my room reading, waiting for the masseuse to come pick me up at 6PM and I see a woman start knocking on my neighbor's door. I go up to her and realize she was in fact looking for me but had gone to the wrong room. I then told her that I wanted to have the massage in a different room, rather than mine (my fiance wanted to take a nap). So she took me to an empty guest room. Once we got in the room she told me to lay down. I asked if she had an outfit for me to change into and she indicated that I was just to wear the clothes I was wearing. Luckily I was wearing something comfortable, but if I had been in jeans that would have been an uncomfortable massage...She then started the massage which was pretty terrible. It was like she went through the motions but didn't do anything. I was literally counting down the minutes until it was done. The worst part was when i was on my back and the lights were blaring in my eyes. She could have at least put a towel over them. Finally she was done (in 45 minutes rather than the hour I paid for) but I was definitely glad for it to be over. Then after I got up, she straightened the sheets and re-fluffed the pillows as if making the room ready for a guest to stay in even though I had just been in the bed.

As the other reviewers noted, dinner was fine, not that great. Breakfast was better, but you cant really mess up a crepe and fruit! The staff were again very strange the next day when I tried to pay my bill with a credit card. I figured for a hotel of this price that using a credit card should not have been such an ordeal.

Overall, the view was beautiful but the hotel definitely did not live up to the price. I'm not sure what is going on there but the staff seem really unhappy...I would not return and would not recommend this hotel to others. Maybe you can stay in town but come to the hotel for a sunset drink? Then you would experience everything spectacular that the hotel has to offer.

Room Tip: Definitely stay in a Deluxe room on the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanislas F, General Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Mr, Mrs Ariel M,

Thank you very much for your stay at the Pakbeng Lodge. We are very sorry your experience with the Massage was not satisfactory, I do apologise.
You stay with us was during some exceptionally cold weather for the region. We did take some steps after your stay, we put some fire heater near all the tables at the restaurant.
We do thank you for your visit and we wish you a happy new year 2014

With our best wishes,
Stanislas Fradelizi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had high hopes for this hotel and was left disappointed. Upon our arrival we found that there was no clear reception but the bar in the restaurant doubled up as a check in desk - this made for a disorganised check in process. The staff were unfriendly and disorganised. Later on when i wanted to order tea, the staff did not want to be disturbed from their dinner even though they were sitting behind the bar/ reception desk. Once in our room, whilst it was stylish it lacked basic facilities - there was no kettle, hairdrier, phone or fridge. There was no separate bathroom area but the shower and sink were in a corner of the bedroom.

Dinner and breakfast was included in the room rate but the food was only average. Inoffensive but nothing to write home about. In such a setting, and a pretentious resort, I would expect better. The evening meal was a set menu with no menu - no one could tell us what the dishes were that we were about to eat. Also it was very cold when we were there and there was no option to eat inside. I ate dinner in a hat and gloves! At breakfast there was no buffet, but you could order a hot dish on request. Coffee was difficult to come by. We would have preferred to go to a restaurant in the town for both meals.

On a positive note, the rooms were extremely stylish and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in.There is no denying that the view from the restaurant and the balconies is stunning and the whole place has an atmosphere of peace and tranquility.

This hotel has potential but failed to deliver the standard we expected for the price. There are better value options in the town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fjm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanislas F, General Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Mr, Mrs Fjm4,

We are sincerely regretful that you did not find the Pakbeng Lodge up to your standards. We do try to please all of our guests. For example, to facilitate the check in, we do not require a passport or for the guest to fill up a registration card.
You stay with us was during some exceptionally cold weather for the region. We did take some steps after your stay, we put some fire heater near all the tables at the restaurant.
We do thank you for your visit and we wish you a happy new year 2014

With our best wishes,
Stanislas Fradelizi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Pakbeng lodge is an ok place to spend a night on the way to luang prabang. We had a nice dinner in the restaurant and enjoyed the great views on the mekong. For the price (75 usd) the room was just ok and the breakfast was really poor. I thought that it was unfair that we booked the best rooms through Booking.com and that on arrival these were not available (we would have chosen another accomodation, but what can you do at 8:00 PM and drenched by the walk in the rain from the pier?). Also, no pick-up at the boat and extra charge for the taxi back to the pier.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anak789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanislas F, General Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Mr, Mrs Anak 789,

Thank you very much for your positive review on trip advisor even so your stay with us was less than perfect.
First I apologize for not picking you up at the boat pier, especially under the cold rain of December.
Your reservation was was made the previous day and we did not let you know that the Deluxe rooms where under renovation. I did leave a note to give you a refund, unfortunately my assistant did not follow up. I will contact you directly to make the arrangements.
The breakfast we serve includes Coffee or Tea, pancakes, homemade toast, jam & butter, choice of eggs with bacon, fresh fruit juice and fruit salad all served at the table. I apologizes if some of these items where missing.
For the transfer from and to the pier, we do have our own transport without extra charge to the guest. Again, our apologies.

As you can see from other reviewers, we do try our best to accommodate our guest with a certain comfort and service.

With our best regards, from the team of the Pakbeng Lodge

Stanislas Fradelizi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The was an overnight stay to break up the boat trip from Lunag Prabang to Houey Xay on our way to Chinag Mai. After leaving it to the last minute (ie the night before) we chose this hotel as a bit of an easy option to book via the internet. We were not really expecting too much but were pleasantly surprised. The boat dropped us off at the hotels jetty and we made our way to the deluxe room, which was high on the hill overlooking the Mekong; to get there you go by the hotels tuk tuk. The hotel has a slightly unusual layout with a number of buildings on the side of a hill and it wasn't immediately obvious how you actually got back to the the main bar and reception at the waters edge by foot, but I'm sure it's very possible! The room was nice, an interesting design with the bed in the middle of the room. The bar is close to the waters edge and would have been nice to visit if we weren't so sleepy! The hotel itself is on the edge of Pakbeng, it's less than five minutes walk into the small centre where there are lots of options for dinner/drinks etc. We ate at the hotel as our rate unexpectedly included dinner, which was pretty good. The next morning they gave us breakfast in a bag to eat on the boat and the tuk tuk dropped us off at the ferry pier. A good stay, a good experience, we were happy and we might have stayed an extra night to explore if we could.

Room Tip: Deluxe and suite rooms are high on the hill, but if you are doing an overnight for the boat it will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonFromUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Having read earlier reviews of this Lodge we were looking forward to our short overnight stay and were not dissapointed.

We were on a private boat for the two day trip down the Mekong River fron Chiang Hong to Luang Parbang and upon arrival at the Lodge were met and greated by the General Manager and then shown to our rooms, We were on the higher level, which I think is the best location, and to say the view of the Mekong Rivewr was magnificent is an understatement. Also, in the morning were able to see elephants on the banks on the other side of the river.

The rooms werte very nice, clean and well presented. Dinner was included and was a set menu. The meal was not great but quite nice with one problem, it was not very hot at all, so much so that we had to send a couple of ther dishes back to be reheated. Breakfast was very nice and personnally serves as distinct from the usual buffett fair at most hotels.

Overall a very enjoyable overnight stay and in the location it would be hard to go past the lodge particularly for its location.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level are the pick and should be selected if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23PeterJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
166 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We were on the highest level of the multi-level property. Had an incredible view of the Mekong River. Everything was prefect for a stopover. Pick highest level for available rooms. If Internet goes down, ask where the router is. Unplug it it and replug it and hurray. Internet is back on again. In general, in these countries, ask the reception where the internet router is. Then, you will be able to reset it, when needed.

Room Tip: Pick highest level. i Internet goes down, ask where the router is. Unplug it it and replug it and hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pakbeng
0.0 mi away
Nakaraj Princess Hotel
Nakaraj Princess Hotel
#1 of 7 in Huay Xai
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mekong Riverside Lodge
Mekong Riverside Lodge
#3 of 12 in Pakbeng
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phonemany Guesthouse
Phonemany Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Pakbeng
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BKC Villa
BKC Villa
#4 of 12 in Pakbeng
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phomephithak Guesthouse
Phomephithak Guesthouse
#7 of 12 in Pakbeng
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Syvongsack Guesthouse
#6 of 12 in Pakbeng
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge

Property: Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge
Address: | Ban Done Khame, Pakbeng, Laos
Location: Laos > Oudomxay Province > Pakbeng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pakbeng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting by the bank of the Mekong, Pakbeng Lodge is halfway between the World Heritage Town of Luang Prabang, and Huay Xai, the main border crossing between northern Thailand and northern Laos, both towns reachable within a day by cruise.Attached to each of the Lodge's 20 Superior Rooms, 8 Deluxe Rooms, and 2 Suites, is a large terrace overlooking the river.The Lodge is an ideal point of departure for walks in the forest of an hour or a day, towards villages off the tourist roads. (Please see our section on Excursions.) It faces the Mekong Elephant Camp, which is dedicated to the protection of elephants in Laos. There, a wonderful opportunity exists to discover the life of an animal that contributes a strong element to the traditional culture, by participating in a walk or with their morning bath.The Pakbeng Lodge suggests you stay a few days in this protected area far from the beaten tracks. You will appreciate the comfortable atmosphere, the picturesque sunrise and sunset over the Mekong, and the comings and goings of the different boats that dock near the Lodge's beach. Your visit will consist of utmost relaxation but also of unusual encounters- an immersion into traditional Lao life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pakbeng Hotel Pakbeng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing