We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveler rating
173
149
50
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
149
50
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmekong riverset menuluang prabangdeluxe roomsbeautiful hotelone nightbeautiful viewslow boatfrench manageran overnight staywelcome drinklaotian stylebalcony overlooking the riveran excellent restaurantan incredible experiencewe arrived late afternoonstaff were welcoming
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 387 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Pakbeng lodge is an ok place to spend a night on the way to luang prabang. We had a nice dinner in the restaurant and enjoyed the great views on the mekong. For the price (75 usd) the room was just ok and the breakfast was really poor. I thought that it was unfair that we booked the best rooms through Booking.com and that on arrival these were not available (we would have chosen another accomodation, but what can you do at 8:00 PM and drenched by the walk in the rain from the pier?). Also, no pick-up at the boat and extra charge for the taxi back to the pier.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Anak789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanislas F, General Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Mr, Mrs Anak 789,

Thank you very much for your positive review on trip advisor even so your stay with us was less than perfect.
First I apologize for not picking you up at the boat pier, especially under the cold rain of December.
Your reservation was was made the previous day and we did not let you know that the Deluxe rooms where under renovation. I did leave a note to give you a refund, unfortunately my assistant did not follow up. I will contact you directly to make the arrangements.
The breakfast we serve includes Coffee or Tea, pancakes, homemade toast, jam & butter, choice of eggs with bacon, fresh fruit juice and fruit salad all served at the table. I apologizes if some of these items where missing.
For the transfer from and to the pier, we do have our own transport without extra charge to the guest. Again, our apologies.

As you can see from other reviewers, we do try our best to accommodate our guest with a certain comfort and service.

With our best regards, from the team of the Pakbeng Lodge

Stanislas Fradelizi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The was an overnight stay to break up the boat trip from Lunag Prabang to Houey Xay on our way to Chinag Mai. After leaving it to the last minute (ie the night before) we chose this hotel as a bit of an easy option to book via the internet. We were not really expecting too much but were pleasantly surprised. The boat dropped us off at the hotels jetty and we made our way to the deluxe room, which was high on the hill overlooking the Mekong; to get there you go by the hotels tuk tuk. The hotel has a slightly unusual layout with a number of buildings on the side of a hill and it wasn't immediately obvious how you actually got back to the the main bar and reception at the waters edge by foot, but I'm sure it's very possible! The room was nice, an interesting design with the bed in the middle of the room. The bar is close to the waters edge and would have been nice to visit if we weren't so sleepy! The hotel itself is on the edge of Pakbeng, it's less than five minutes walk into the small centre where there are lots of options for dinner/drinks etc. We ate at the hotel as our rate unexpectedly included dinner, which was pretty good. The next morning they gave us breakfast in a bag to eat on the boat and the tuk tuk dropped us off at the ferry pier. A good stay, a good experience, we were happy and we might have stayed an extra night to explore if we could.

Room Tip: Deluxe and suite rooms are high on the hill, but if you are doing an overnight for the boat it will be dark most of the time so you will only benefit from the view for about an hour.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonFromUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Having read earlier reviews of this Lodge we were looking forward to our short overnight stay and were not dissapointed.

We were on a private boat for the two day trip down the Mekong River fron Chiang Hong to Luang Parbang and upon arrival at the Lodge were met and greated by the General Manager and then shown to our rooms, We were on the higher level, which I think is the best location, and to say the view of the Mekong Rivewr was magnificent is an understatement. Also, in the morning were able to see elephants on the banks on the other side of the river.

The rooms werte very nice, clean and well presented. Dinner was included and was a set menu. The meal was not great but quite nice with one problem, it was not very hot at all, so much so that we had to send a couple of ther dishes back to be reheated. Breakfast was very nice and personnally serves as distinct from the usual buffett fair at most hotels.

Overall a very enjoyable overnight stay and in the location it would be hard to go past the lodge particularly for its location.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level are the pick and should be selected if possible.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23PeterJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We were on the highest level of the multi-level property. Had an incredible view of the Mekong River. Everything was prefect for a stopover. Pick highest level for available rooms. If Internet goes down, ask where the router is. Unplug it it and replug it and hurray. Internet is back on again. In general, in these countries, ask the reception where the internet router is. Then, you will be able to reset it, when needed.

Room Tip: Pick highest level. i Internet goes down, ask where the router is. Unplug it it and replug it and hurray. Internet is back again.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Magnificent place in Laos, our room had a beautiful view on the Mekong river. The room was very clean, comfortable and spacious. The lodge is situated between Louang Prabang and Houey Xay. The food served at the lunch was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews