We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveler rating
174
149
50
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
149
50
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mekong river set menu luang prabang deluxe rooms beautiful hotel one night beautiful view slow boat french manager an overnight stay welcome drink laotian style balcony overlooking the river an excellent restaurant an incredible experience we arrived late afternoon staff were welcoming
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 388 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked this hotel as an overnight stay during 2-day Shompoo Cruise from Houay Xai to Luang Prabang. Hotel is nestled on a hill. We booked a superior room, but on arrival (management was waiting for us at the boatlanding, and staff transported our luggage to the hotel) we heared we had a free upgrade to a Deluxe Room, somewhat higher on the hill. Beautifull room with terrace overlooking the Mekong River. Nice dinner (set menu).
For a Deluxe Room : Pitty that there was no airco, there was light outside the room which was on whole night, and was somewhat disturbing. No coffee/thee facilities.
In the package of the Deluxe Room an elephant ride was foreseen. But planning was not OK. The elephants must have been ready at 7am, but there weren't any elephants foreseen. We went back to the boat which left at 8am.
Management and staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingemuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanislas F, General Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Ingemuis,

I would like with my team to thank you for taking the time to post your comments after staying with us in Pakbeng.

As Pakbeng is located in a remote area where the electricity is still sparse, we cannot install AC in all the rooms besides the Suites.

As for the lights, thanks to you comment, we have taken the necessary steps to provide our guest with a more suitable solution to spend a better night.

I cannot apologize enough for the elephant not being able to meet you in the morning, we try our best to be organized in order to provide you with the promise activity. Our team was trying to locate a "runaway elephant " in the forest.

We appreciate your post and hope to have you with us again in the future; do not hesitate to recall us and remind us of your first visit, returning patrons are very much welcome.

Stanislas Fradelizi
Pakbeng Lodge General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Pakbeng Lodge is a clean and comfortable hotel with amazing views from the room balcony and the dining terrace. We stayed one night during a cruise down the Mekong and enjoyed the peace and quiet of the location. Other passengers on our boat suffered the noise of a cheaper, backpacker hotel while we slept soundly. Dinner and breakfast were included in the tariff and we enjoyed both meals. The food was simple but fresh and enjoyable. We had no trouble with hot water or the lack of a/c. Recent critics should remember that Pakbeng is a remote location but that's part of its charm. Those expecting perfection shouldn't wander from the beaten track.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JWDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanislas F, General Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear JWDM,

Thank you very much for choosing the Pakbeng Lodge during your stay in Pakbeng. I really enjoyed reading your wonderful review and I thank you for your honesty to underline to other guest the fact that we are far from the regular tourist routes.

Very best regards

Stanislas Fradelizi
The Pakbeng Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Beautiful place overlooking the Mekong River.We had a nice Christmas Eve with a little buddist ceremony, dance from the local school girls and a christmas dinner with a fine Laotic twist.
Next morning we watched the elephants bating on the other side of the river, had a trip on their back - and almost lost our boat going to Luang Prabang - so rememer to check the time of departure :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanislas F, General Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Hanne W

It was a pleasure having you during our Laotian Christmas celebrations. Thank you very much for your kind words and we hope to see you again some time in our remote corner of the world

Best regards and Happy new year 2013

Stanislas Fradelizi
General Manager Pakbeng Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

In a town of $10-20 hotels, the $100 we spent on this one did not get us much more than what those who paid $10 got. And, we found that some people were charged $50, while our agoda.com booking way overpriced this hotel (beware of this booking service and their inflexible cancel/change policies).

We were concerned about getting a decent hotel, so we booked. Big mistake. There are plenty of very pleasant, inexpensive guest houses and hotels that offer clean, albeit basic, accoommodation. Pakbeng Lodge is also basic -- small rooms, hard beds, no a/c. Pakbeng Lodge does have nice grounds, a nice view, and a nice dining area. Worth $100? No way. The service is not even what you would expect -- don't look for anyone to grab your bags, offer a ride to the boat, etc. They are pleasant enough, but not offering the kind of service that should come with a place that is priced 10 times what the others are.

Room Tip: Choose one of the other nice guest houses on the way to this one, and pay 1/10 as much and still get a river view!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadeInFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanislas F, General Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Made in Florida

We do agree with you in the sense that for travelers looking for an average place to stay the night, there are many decent guest houses in Pakbeng to choose from; but the Pakbeng Lodge offer much more than that starting with the Elephants bathing in the Mekong while the guests are enjoying breakfast.

Also a brief stay at the lodge is not enough to experience our 4 hectares of park with our vegetable farm and the large variety of exotic fruit trees. I would recommend the traveller to spend a little more time to truly appreciate the overgrowing nature surrounding our grounds from the unique view our terrace can offer or from one of our two restaurants.

As always your comments are very important to us and I thank you for your advice to help us improve in any ways.

Truly yours

Stanislas Fradelizi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed one night on our way from Luang Prabang to the Thai border, and while the lodge itself is in a wonderful position over looking the Mekong, and has fabulous views from the rooms and the bar/dining area and beautiful gardens, we wouldn't recommend staying there. The rooms were adequate, but we battled with the hot water - either scalding or non-existant.... Everything was clean and the bed was comfortable - so no problems there.
But the food was dreadful (and dinner was included in the price). I don't think I've ever eaten such a bland, uninspiring three course meal anywhere. Laos food is not renowned for being a great cuisine, but what we had was tasteless and all the same colour (reminded me of school dinners) and we were very disappointed.
We had had lunch on the boat that day, which was 100% better.
We had also informed the manager that we had to be at the dock by 6.30 in the morning, and so had our guide from the boat. We were assured there would be a packed breakfast for us but when we got to reception at 6.20, there was no one to be seen. I eventually found a security guard, but he spoke no English so I tried to mime that we needed our breakfast, which eventually he seemed to understand and was most concerned. I followed him to the kitchen where they threw some fruit and bread in a bag for us, as by then we were running late for the boat.
Definitely not what we had expected, and because of this, we felt it was not good value for money. I'd say stay in one of the other guesthouses in the little town and join fellow travellers eating at an authentic restaurant - it would be much nicer and much cheaper.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanislas F, General Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Guests

I sincerely apologize for not being able to provide you with a breakfast box on the 5th of december. We do try to give the best to our guests and sometime we fall short but it is an inspiring lesson for us to try harder.
We do take into account all of your positive or negative experiences at the Pakbeng Lodge to better serve future customers or repeat guest and it is exactly what we would love to do with you if you give us another chance next time you decide to cruise down the Mekong river.

Best Holiday wishes

Stanislas Fradelizi
General Manager
Pakbeng Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews