We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chez Tonton”

The French Coffee Shop
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Moalboal
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Boracay, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Chez Tonton”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I like the couple who owns this coffee shop, she takes care of the customers he cooks. Excellent pizza! fruit shakes, and sisig crepe.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    56
    34
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place, great sandwiches..”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This place is nice and beautifully decorated. The feel and ambiance is really relaxing. Love the sandwiches and their coffee is the best I could say among other restaurants in the area. Great staff, very friendly and the owner is very accommodating. A bit pricey for me compared to other restaurants in the area. There is wifi but didn't work for me. Worth a visit for some ice cream.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“nothing special, its an ordinary cafe”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

well to be honest, there's nothing special about this place other than the floor was laid with sand (which is cool). its just a place to get regular breakfast/food. loved the scrambled eggs though.

pleasant staff and owner

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melissabenedicte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“magnifique!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

While casually exploring the streets of Panagsama, we saw this little cafe and decided to step inside and have a cold drink. We instantly fell in love with the decor and atmosphere, and decided we would return the next morning for breakfast. And I'm glad we did! We had the native breakfast, which was very satisfying and cooked to perfection. I would have loved to have tried the baguette or some of the other foods, but since I am gluten intolerant, I was restricted. We very much enjoyed sitting there drinking our tea/coffee while listening to the music.

I've never been to France, and my experience with french restaurants/cafes is limited, but this place has the charm which makes one want to visit France. The owner seems like a very nice guy too when we briefly conversed. I congratuate him for this lovely cafe which mimics the nice relaxing atmosphere of the place in which it is located.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winabaste7, Owner at The French Coffee Shop, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
thank you Darren for your nice review, it's a pleasure to serve you.
we try to make a cool and quiet atmosphere in Panagsama,and we're glad when our custumers feel what we make.
see you again in our beautiful place in Moalboal
Greetings,
Sebastien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulhouse, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Hearty place”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you are to moalboal, i advise you to eat breakfast or lunch to the French Coffee Shop. The Salade very Good and french cooked. It's mixture of flavor. There is one real expresso coffee.
The team is at your service and will satisfy all your requests.
Sebastien can propose you a lot of outing very nice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Romain_Leplongeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The French Coffee Shop also viewed

 
Moalboal, Cebu Island
Moalboal, Cebu Island
 

Been to The French Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing