We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best option in moal boal”
Review of Cora's Palm Court

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moalboal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cora's Palm Court
Reviewed October 10, 2013

when i arrived in moal boal using the infamous lonely planet guide book, i stayed one night in the next door sumisid which is written in the lonely planet. well after one night i switched to the coras plam court which is right next door. price i was paying in sumisid was 1200 pesos per night. and in coras i was paying 500 per night. my room in coras had a bigger bathroom attached. fresh towels were provided and a soap - and washing powder to wash your clothes too....))))))))....sweet.
it has a nice terrace with sea on your door step....kitchen is free to use and if you want you can have a fridge in your bedroom for a further 200 peoso...if you so wish. wifi is free and on 24 hours. if you want aircon aswell the price would be 600 pesos.
coras has brand new manual motor bike to rent too for 300 pesos per day. Sumisid has no motorbike to rent.

all shops and restaurants are right infront of the hotel. you can just walk out any time of the day or night and come back too. sumisid locks its doors at 10pm. coras is run by a sweet old lady and there is a resident old german retired man who has been living here for the past 4 years.

bathrooms are nice size and clean. comparing to next door sumisid. i was almost getting what they offered at half the price. i think lonely planet people have never been to moal boal and they just wrote the info using trip advisor too.
how come coras is not in the guide book? ....makes me wonder.

if you coming here make sure you check this one out. cant get any better in an area where everyone is out to screw you.

sumisid had smaller rooms (hardly enough space for putting even your backpack), smaller bathrooms but a better seating area outside. their bathrooms were so small that when you sit on the toilet, you cant bend. well you see the sink is right opposite your mouth so if you bend you face will literally be inside the small sink. you can wash your face automatically while relieving yourself.....nice idea...))))))...and the price.....1200 pesos for a better seating area where the beach is covered in coconut shells.

i am just fed up from people like that overcharging us to live nicely in holland (owner of sumisid is dutch)

Room Tip: choose a room from 7 rooms away from the road.....local idiots have motorbikes without silencers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elmundoazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 34 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I just stayed 5 nights at Coras and when we come back for more diving we will stay here again. Cora is always friendly and helpful and will do all she can to make you comfortable. The beds are nice, showers are hot and the aircon room got pretty cool during the night. Our room needed some work but Cora told us that it was the next room to be renovated. It was still better than I expected for the price. We paid in advance and got the aircon room next to the ocean for P750 a night. It is a great location for diving and is convenient to most all of the dive centers. Whatever you need just ask Cora. If she cant get what you need, she will know someone that can and also get you a good price.

Room Tip: The room next to the ocean is nice for the view and the two windows for air flow. For the price...th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rodinpi07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed here for 10 days. The rooms are basic but clean and it is located beach front. house keeping twice a week. Great for backpackers because of the value. However there's some construction going during my stay here so sleep quality isn't that good. For 400 pesos, you got a single room with private bathroom which is really great for that price. I think the owner is nice but sometimes she's a bit grumpy. Overall, great place for budget travelers.

Room Tip: Get the room near the beach, the rooms near the road is quite noisy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Cora is very nice woman and her rooms are perfectly clean. She wouls even come and do the room without us asking her and changing our towels everyday!! That is rare in SEA and even more for this price.

400P for double room with fan, private bathroom

We felt like at home and we were close to eveything :)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathlitalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zikka83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
Thank toupac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Griselda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moalboal hotels
0.1 mi away
Savedra Beach Resort
Savedra Beach Resort
#6 of 7 in Moalboal
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
0.2 mi away
Mayas Native Garden
Mayas Native Garden
#8 of 24 in Moalboal
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sumisid Lodge
Sumisid Lodge
#5 of 36 in Moalboal
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Love's Beach and Dive Resort
0.1 mi away
Marina Village Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cora's Palm Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cora's Palm Court

Address: Pangamsamga Beach, Basdiot, Moalboal 6032, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Moalboal
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Cora's Palm Court Moalboal, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing