We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely over-rated”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moalboal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barefoot White Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 23 Moalboal B&B and Inns
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Definitely over-rated”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The only reason why I stayed there was to be close to Club Serena in order to taking part of the free diving course. Ok the room are big, clean and convenient, with a fridge and AC...but for that amount of money everywhere else in South East Asia you are checked-in a sumptuous international branded palace.

But hearing the drunk people partying all night + the dam’chicken/rooster howling right next door makes the place suitable for a very short stay.

Despite all their kindness and a very good will to assist you, the personnel there can’t provide you the level a service that the rate of a night (should) induce : for example there is no easy possibility to rent a bike or even to get a tricycle.

Barefoot Hotel is not a resort at all with no seaview nor restaurant nor pool nor relax seater/hamac .... but have awful gallinacean night alarm clock and charge you way to much

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sowa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed in this resort for four days and it was a blast..
The service is amazing. They did the grocery for us and cook for us ...for free!
Caretakers and the hotel management was very polite, hospitable and always greets you with a smile..
The villa was huge, with kitchen, refrigerator and a living room ...

great value for money! definitely will go there again on our next getaway!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jomayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

The Barefoot White Beach Resort was an ideal place for my wife and I to spend our 1st Anniversary together! The Honeymoon Suite is right on the beach and very relaxing and intimate and the prices are very reasonable and affordable.

I was very pleased that the weather cooperated and was pleasant and that Moalboal, in general, seems to be void of mosquitoes!?!

The Honeymoon Suite, itself, is wonderful. It features a grass-roofed dining cabana out front, a combination kitchen/living room area, a bedroom in the back complete with a romantic canopy bed, and both an indoor and outdoor shower.

The resort itself is a little unusual in that it is very narrow - not much wider than The Honeymoon Suite itself - and The Honeymoon Suite is the only room/suite/cottage with direct beach access. All other patrons of the resort access the beach using a little path that runs adjacent to The Honeymoon Suite.

Getting to the resort was a little confusing, since the resort doesn't have it's own direct driveway. So it was a slight adventure trying to find it at first. It is just south of the Club Serena Resort, which is a nice thing anyway, as The Barefoot Beach Resort does not feature a restaurant or bar, and the Club Serena Resort is a surprisingly short walk up the beach.

Before traveling there, we had read articles online stating that is was possible the woman running the place would cook fresh fish dinners for us, but I didn't know quite what to expect or how that would work out. We were delighted with Avon (I hope I am spelling it correctly) and the young man helping her (his name escapes me, but I certainly will never forget him or his polite and helpful demeanor). The dinnner meals Avon cooked were fabulous - fresh grilled fish, a variety of shrimp dishes and her chop suey was the best we have ever had! (And we were greatly entertained by a few feral cats that seemed very attracted to our grilled fish!?!)

Avon would come to our suite, take our order for our choice of meal items and would do all the shopping required (even picking up a few other requested items, such as staples or things to make lunch with the following day) and would only charge us for the cost of the items - no surcharge for service or cooking.

There are some spartan aspects to Barefoot Beach resort, but overall our stay there was very warm, friendly, and relaxing because of the care and attention by Avon and her helper.

I hope my wife and I can stay there again in the future, and preferably on a regular basis, if we figure out how to afford the airfare!?!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is the best place to stay, as it is the only room right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Petrovnikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed in the villa, which has three double rooms, two bathrooms, kitchen, living room and a balcony. As we were travelling with a 1 year old, it was great to have our own kitchen, and it was easy to hire tricycles to Moalboal, where there is an excellent market. The villa is spacious and reasonably clean. The kitchen is fine but would benefit from an upgrade on utensils, crockery and appliances. That said, the staff were extremely helpful, including in getting us things that were missing from the kitchen. The area is beautiful and peaceful. Club Serena next door has a good restaurant (including fantastic chocolate cake) and a trampoline in the garden, which the boy liked. We went to Kawasan Falls, snorkelling nearby where we saw lots of turtles, and to Parangsay beach, which were all excellent after own activities.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaue, Philippines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

My friends visited Last October 2011 after the storm...hahaha..There were no guests at that time obviously because of the weather condition.Anyway, We had great value of our stay because the caretaker took care of our needs superbly!thanks to her..Since they don't have a restaurant they offered us free cook of our meals but they will have to buy in the market. We just gave lists to buy and what to cook..And hurrah! the soup fish was really very delicious.,We had a sumptuos dinner which includes calamares,shrimps, grilled fish and soup..
Barefoot is basically just an ordinary place to stay as there are no amenities like swimming pool,restaurant, it's 5mins walk to the sandbar of Basdaku,the entrance is really rocky.But the whole place once you reach there is comfortable enough especially for those travellers who want to get a good value of rooms..not so pricey unlike the other hotels and lodges around the area.It's fairly clean..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docmarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The beach is very nice and good for swimming and snorkeling.
There is unfortunately no restaurant neither breakfast which is not making life easy (you have to buy, decide the day before...).
However, the staff is deploying loads of efforts to help the guests and compensate the missing services.
We cannot say it is dirty but it is not very clean also.

In a nutshell, many services missing but staff compensate a lot

Room Tip: Make sure you get cash before going in this area Very nice place for bike renting and riding
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigotn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
172 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

with the price they offered, you really can't expect too much from there. the room is basic (may be not too clean) but the location was great (less than a minute walk to white sand beach)

the staff were very helpful and friendly. meals could be prepared by them.

i think they can charge a lot more by renovating the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moalboal hotels
0.5 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
421 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
2.6 mi away
Savedra Beach Resort
Savedra Beach Resort
#5 of 6 in Moalboal
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sampaguita Resort
Sampaguita Resort
#2 of 6 in Moalboal
228 reviews
1.0 mi away
Moalboal Beach Resort
Moalboal Beach Resort
#12 of 23 in Moalboal
117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Turtle House Moalboal
Sea Turtle House Moalboal
#17 of 34 in Moalboal
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot White Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot White Beach Resort

Property: Barefoot White Beach Resort
Address: White Beach, Moalboal, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Moalboal
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Barefoot White Beach Resort Moalboal, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing