We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You should not expect too much... but good enough”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moalboal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barefoot White Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 23 Moalboal B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“You should not expect too much... but good enough”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The beach is very nice and good for swimming and snorkeling.
There is unfortunately no restaurant neither breakfast which is not making life easy (you have to buy, decide the day before...).
However, the staff is deploying loads of efforts to help the guests and compensate the missing services.
We cannot say it is dirty but it is not very clean also.

In a nutshell, many services missing but staff compensate a lot

Room Tip: Make sure you get cash before going in this area Very nice place for bike renting and riding
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigotn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
172 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

with the price they offered, you really can't expect too much from there. the room is basic (may be not too clean) but the location was great (less than a minute walk to white sand beach)

the staff were very helpful and friendly. meals could be prepared by them.

i think they can charge a lot more by renovating the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quezon city
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

It was all our first time to go to Moalboal and we had no idea where to stay. We were looking for a decent place but is affordable. Good thing the tricycle driver drove us all the way to the area and we were able to find this great place. I love how everything is white and looks clean. The beach area is not as good as other places i've been but the water is definitely clean. The staff were incredibly courteous and helpful even offering to buy our food at the market and cook for us. They are great cooks! We completely love the dishes they prepared. A great value for money.

Room Tip: The staff that attended to us was very helpful and flexible on the rooms that we require. Be sure to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lei2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in the deluxe room with kitchen.
You can't drive up to the resort because the only access from the road is on a footpath wide enough for only a motorbike so in case you have tonnes of luggage, you've been warned. Check in was quick, they can offer you service where you give them money and then they'll go to the market and cook your food for you for x number of meals during your stay. The food was pretty good and for 1000 pesos for 2 we had breakfast and dinner made for us daily during our stay.

The room itself was cleaned daily so no problems with the cleanliness. No roaches, ants, spiders, rats... there are mosquitoes though but you're in a tropical country so the're everywhere! The beds had 2-3" of foam on top of plywood on a bamboo bed frame (native style) which was comfortable enough. TV had basic cable channels like HBO, NatGeo, etc so you'll have something to watch if you're so inclined. The two twin beds had 2 pillows each so I was happy :)

The owner replied promptly to emails and made it a breeze to book. The beach outside is white sand (hence the beach being called White Sand, as opposed to Pinagsama where all the dive shops are which is rocky) so if you want to catch some rays, just go out, plop down and bake in the sun. This end of the beach is secluded enough so there isn't much foot traffic aside from the vendors so you'll most likely have the beach to yourself most of the time.

I'll try the other, fancier resort a few doors away but for the budget conscious this is the best bet.

Transportation tip: If you want the most direct route from Mactan airport to the resort, look up Daijobu rent a car which provides you with car hire with your own driver to get to and from Moalboal. Don't be shy in asking him to pull over along the way, as you'll need to stop by somewhere to buy your own water, pork rinds (the heart attack in a bag kind found in Carcar) or any other items you'll need because white beach is far from the town itself.

Room Tip: If you want your door to open out to the beach, get the Honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DeepSeaAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

There isn't much information on Moalboal that maybe found on the web, so for first timers, it really is a risk. I chose Barefoot Beach Resort because it met my basic criteria - beachfront accommodation, easy communication with owner, and reasonable price.

To start, there are 2 major areas in Moalboal - Panagsama beach which is the busy area, where most dive shops are -- but has no beachfront to speak of, and White Beach which is less lively, and had probably 5-6 resorts.

Barefoot has a very narrow beach frontage. Not that it matters, because to enjoy the beach, one would just have to choose a spot anywhere along the stretch. The rooms are located towards the back (the only beachfront unit is the honeymoon suite), about 30 steps from the beach. The resort does not have a restaurant, but has 1 deluxe suite that has a kitchen. The honeymoon suite and the villa also has their own kitchen.

Knowing this and not wanting to risk being in the mercy of only one resort that seems to have a decent resto, we brought our own meals (can request for pots, pans, plates). Avon (pronounced as Ah-bohn) and her crew were the most helpful! They would regularly take our shopping list and get them from the market for us. We augmented our meals with fresh seafood that Avon cooked. The price of the seafood was very very reasonable. And they would not even accept surcharge for cooking services.

The rooms are just okay. Water pressure was erratic. The bed was a bit hard but not terrible.

It would have been great if there were recliners so guests can actually hang-out by the beach.

Others:

For certified scuba divers, Moalboal has its own version of a sardine run.

Kawasan falls is a must see place. Nature at its best!

If you get tired of the home cooked meals, try the resto at Club Serena. The desserts are to die for!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank shelley_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moalboal hotels
0.5 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
421 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
2.6 mi away
Savedra Beach Resort
Savedra Beach Resort
#5 of 6 in Moalboal
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sampaguita Resort
Sampaguita Resort
#2 of 6 in Moalboal
228 reviews
1.0 mi away
Moalboal Beach Resort
Moalboal Beach Resort
#12 of 23 in Moalboal
117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Turtle House Moalboal
Sea Turtle House Moalboal
#17 of 34 in Moalboal
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot White Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot White Beach Resort

Property: Barefoot White Beach Resort
Address: White Beach, Moalboal, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Moalboal
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Barefoot White Beach Resort Moalboal, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing