We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic-convenient place: value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayas Native Garden
Ranked #8 of 25 Moalboal B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We booked the budget cottage for four nights: worth the money. You dont need the aircon anyway, even with the fan, it gets pretty chilly in the evening. It is a cozy, convenient place.
LOCATION:
Situated right next to anything you would need (convenience store, couple of restaurants, dive shops etc). However, if you were looking for a beach front, you may want to shell out a few pesos more to go elsewhere. There is a nice small beach just about 100 m by walk.
ROOM:
There is a hammock an a couple of bamboo seaters if you would like to just relax at your cottage. The room is dim. The lighting could improve. I think it goes with the 'native' experience. The bathroom is big and very clean. The shower doesn't really work that well though. Have to be patient as a few jets of water hits you. There is no complimentary water. Could look into that. The safe in the room is easy to use. We had a fan room, but the control to the fan didn't work. So had to climb a chair every time we wanted to change something. The sheets got better when we asked specifically for cotton stuff.
RESTAURANT:
The food is good but overpriced (just as any other resort, I am sure). Some dishes are repetitive: the adobo chicken is the same as the dorado steak is the same as fajitas. The burritos were really good. And their fresh shakes are really fresh and very tasty. The kitchen could be a bit cleaner: I saw a dog and a cat walk right in when they were cooking. Nor did I see the staff wash their hands particularly before cooking something. But again, don't think of it like a restaurant; it is more like a kitchen in a home. TIP: eat around the place. Go across the street to Tipolo for excellent pizzas. Or go to moalboal town for some food (cheaper but not particularly cleaner).
SERVICE:
The staff are friendly and mostly helpful. If you want your room cleaned or your towels changed, ask explicitly, don't expect it to be done on a daily basis automatically. One significant negative (depends on how you take it, it could be a dealbreaker to some, and just a matter of fact to the others): if you ask for help regarding a car hire, be prepared to be ripped off. We wanted to rent a car from Moalboal to Oslob for the whale watching and then be dropped off at cebu city. We asked the staff hoping they would know something about it. They got us in touch with a couple of people but the rates were unreasonably high and fluctuating (they quoted 5000, 7000 and 9000 pesos respectively. A funny moment, one of the people we were talking to said, to Oslob it is 1500 and from there to Cebu city, it is 2500, totally 5000. We just smiled and found a cheaper driver-ended up paying 3500.) Long story short, don't be gullible: they are helpful and friendly, but don't let yourself taken advantage of. Do some asking around before you agree to a price.
FINAL VERDICT:
We had a nice and pleasant stay. It was a calm getaway, exactly as we expected for a very good price (they had a further summer discount of 20%, which was not offered to us as we had paid in advance). But would we go there a second time: perhaps not, as we would like to get a seaview/beachfront the next time. Nothing wrong with the place: would recommend it to friends who are looking for an inexpensive, spartan place. Just that, when you have traveled so far to see paradise, you may not want to hesitate spending a few dollars more to get a better view.

Room Tip: The A/C is unnecessary, it is windy and pleasant enough just as it is. Go for a fan room (much cheap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank saravananmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterjelsted, General Manager at Mayas Native Garden, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thanks for your review
Indeed we are in the heart of Panagsama Beach, close to everything. However for some guests it can be to hot in Fan cottage, but for our guest that want to cool a little more, we have eco and Aircon cottages available. Im sorry to hear that you had problems with the fan controle, we have fix this now by changing batteries. We encourage guest to let us know these matters so we can fix asap.
We do not recognize your statments regarding our restaurant, we do not have any dog and kitchen is closed for entry. Our cooks and staff is very observant to hygiene and our food prices is as cheap as it can ! See our many reviews that praise the value and quality!
Regarding transport we do arrange transport, but surely we can get best prices from our external providers when this is arrange beforehand.
Like you say our Fan cottage is a good budget stay, that is clean and nice.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 138 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

We left Cebu City around 9:30 and took a non-aircon bus from the South Terminal Station. It was better than expected because the weather was gloomy so it wasn't too warm when stuck in the occasional city traffic. The rest of the trip was cool (June is rainy season in the Philippines so its better to catch the AC bus). After about 2.5 hours we got off at the Moalboal stop. They say it usually takes 3 hours but our bus driver enjoyed living on the fast lane.

There's a small pharmacy/ convenience store where you can make last minute purchases (although there is one walking distance from Maya's too). Since we were a family of 7, we took 2 tricycles - you just have to tell the driver to take you to Maya's. It was a short 5-7min trip.

We were welcomed with iced tea and lots of smiles. :) We had lunch straight away before checking in. The mexican omelet and the fish burrito were really yummy. I think the vegetable omelet and the Filipino Breakfast (corned beef) -- could be done better.

The place is open and the huts have ample space between them giving you some sense of privacy. There is a beautiful garden with different types of roses and gumamela (hibiscus), and trees which house the some very melodic birds. My parents also liked how you'll have the neighbor's chickens and chicks roaming around in the morning and this very affectionate black and white cat we named Elvis.

We got 2 native cottages with AC. They were spacious and could easily fit 2 big beds (although the standard is 3 pax per room and up to 1 extra person/cushion on the floor). The beds were simple but firm, the blankets were thin which is fine during the summer but could be inadequate if you keep the temp too low. The bathroom was designed nicely - also spacious and clean with hot water. Closet space was available with the safe but we didn't really need it.

Their service was very delightful - they paid attention and were very switched on and helpful. The meals sizes were generous but it takes a while to serve which we didn't mind if it meant our food was fresh - I particularly liked the mixed fruit and yogurt for breakfast and we ordered lots of banana shakes! The tuna sandwich could use better mayo. :-)

They don't offer any activities/snorkeling equipment which is fine because you can easily get those in nearby. Maya's is right across Tipolo - and they offer various activities like caving, hiking, mountain biking and horse back riding. You can also rent snorkels, masks and fins here but I preferred getting our at the Blue Abyss which is up the road a little. Its slightly cheaper for better quality equipment.

Overall - we were very HAPPY with our stay in Maya's even if it was only for 3 days. :D Thank you to the staff!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlaperfecto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterjelsted, General Manager at Mayas Native Garden, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thanks for your informative review
We are happy to hear you liked Mayas Native Garden. Hope to see you again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed for two weeks in an aircon cottage with my girlfriend, very nice cabins for a good price. Like that every cottage stands on its own so you do not live "side by side" as in many other resorts. The food is good and all of the staff really nice, frendly and always offers you good service. But i missed the sweet and friendly bartender/waitress Princess this time, she had a vaccation. This is very nice and relaxing place for you to stay on your vacation.

Maya is close to great diving, snorkeling, and just 10 yards from Tipolo who offering various excursions such as biking, hiking, rock climbing. And if you go like 50 yards you will be at the beach who offer great snorkling and a amazing sunset over Negros every night.

Hope u will enjoy your stay at Mayas and Panagsama Beach...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUME78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterjelsted, General Manager at Mayas Native Garden, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thanks for your review
We are glad you found the essence of Mayas Native Garden, we want to let guest have privacy in nice surrounding, with good food and staff to give you a pleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed in the Native Fan Cottage for 5 nights, had a good time the cottage is basic but clean. the staff are helpful, the food is good and of a large size. Lita who cleans the rooms and outside area does a great job ans is also very helpful with anything you need to know. They could use a few more hooks in the room as there is no place to hang clothes also a fan on the outside area where you sit would be great as you spend most of your time on it when your at the cottage and it does get hot
. we had a nice relaxing time there, Moalboal is about 6 klms from the cottage cost is 70 Pecos and there not much to do once in there

Room Tip: take some games to play as there is on tv or radio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BATEAUBAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterjelsted, General Manager at Mayas Native Garden, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thanks for the review
We have good staff and Lita is one of them, We are happy that you like Mayas Native Garden and we have noted your suggestion about hangers in the cottage, thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

very inexpensive for the cottage with no a/c. not good if its really hot out or you absolutely need a/c or tv. nice for couple that are on a budget and enjoy spending time together. not much else to say except you should really plan to snorkel or dive the reef right off the beach. one of the best beach reefs i seen around the world

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve12345530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterjelsted, General Manager at Mayas Native Garden, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thanks for your review
True that guest should definitely go snorkel if not diving on our excellent house reef. The Fan cottage can be hot, especially around may, june, juli, but then we have our cool and newly build Eco Aircon Cottages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked to stay at the "native house". When we arrived the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

However, when we were showed to the house, the first thing I noticed was all the trash under the house - glass bottles, food, crisps, 2 full size fridges - all underneath our house!

Inisde the house, it had not been cleaned properly, there were empty water bottles and lots of grease in the kitchen area. On the website it said the house would have TV - the picture worked but there was no sound. When we asked about this we were told the sound was broken, but not offered a fix or any discount on the room. There was no hammock as described on the website. The 'marvellous sea-view' is far-fetched, you can just about catch a glimpse of the sea from the top floor.

I was really upset and disappointed. We saved a long time to go on this holiday and felt really let down. We had booked for a week but managed to cancel after 3 nights as we were so unhappy. We paid the 3 nights but feel that the house was hugely overpriced and we should have been offered discount.

The final straw was when there were cockroaches running around near the filthy stove, okay so you get cockroaches in hot climates but it is no wonder when the kitchen is full of grease and dirt. We couldn't cook here ourselves as it was too dirty.

If the owner is reading this, please consider refunding our money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbugHK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterjelsted, Manager at Mayas Native Garden, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Good to hear that you felt our service is friendly and welcoming.

It sounds as some things was not okay, for which we are sorry to hear, however we would have loved to hear about it so we could have addressed the issue. If its was an general dissapoinment, we would have been happy to refund your deposit. Mostly our guest is very happy with the Native House as we hear from our guests and can see on our reviews.
I think most guests that have seen the Mountain view from the Native House will agree that it is Marvellous and like you say can glimps the sea :-)
The Native house as descriped is a perfect cottage for the family with kids, it has space and many bed spaces and room for the family or group of people to stay together.

Thanks for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

3 nights in the brand new "Eco-Aircon-Cottage" in the back of the calm and lovely arranged garden of Mayas Native Garden. After 4 weeks travelling on the Philippines and a couple of experiences, this is a very good relation between price and what you get for.
That counts also for the food which is served. F.e. the biggest Tuna-Sandwich on the Philippines for a good price - excellent :-)
The Description for the rooms is 100 % to what is written on the Homepage.
Very friendly and service-oriented stuff. Also one of the best treatments we got on the Philippines.

A short note to the owner: if there would be some candles, torches or something with small open fires arranged in the garden or around the resto-area, the atmosphere could be upgraded in a very simple but effective way. To pull some more people inside the restaurant especially in the evening. It would fit perfectly to the very nice garden. ;-)

We would go there again in every case and can highly recommend this place for a stay.
Keep going and never lean back to keep this place a little jewel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Serienchillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterjelsted, Manager at Mayas Native Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thanks for your review Serienchillo.
Nice to hear your enjoyed your stay and our new Eco Cottage. It´s a very good idea to "light" up the garden, we will put this into our planning for our improvement of Mayas. We are looking forward to see you again in Mayas Native Garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moalboal hotels
0 mi away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
0.2 mi away
Savedra Beach Resort
Savedra Beach Resort
#6 of 7 in Moalboal
86 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 7 in Moalboal
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
#1 of 25 in Moalboal
512 reviews
2.1 mi away
Moalboal Tropics
Moalboal Tropics
#6 of 25 in Moalboal
36 reviews
2.3 mi away
Asian-Belgian Dive Resort
Asian-Belgian Dive Resort
#3 of 40 in Moalboal
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayas Native Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayas Native Garden

Address: Panagsama Beach, Moalboal 6032, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Moalboal
Price Range: $16 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mayas Native Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayas Native Garden, is located on Panagsama Beach. Panagsama Beach is an old fishing village, which has become a divers paradise, with the discovery of Pescador Island, Tongo Point and other superb dive spots. The village has developed into a laidback heaven for divers, backpackers, adventurists, sun & cocktail tourists, expats as well as eco tourists. This diverse composition of tourist together with the warm and friendly Cebuanos (inhabitants of Cebu Island), makes Panagsama a unique place to spend your holiday, leave or weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mayas Native Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayas Native Garden Moalboal, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing