We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayas Native Garden
Ranked #6 of 24 Moalboal B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked to stay at the "native house". When we arrived the staff were very friendly and welcoming.

However, when we were showed to the house, the first thing I noticed was all the trash under the house - glass bottles, food, crisps, 2 full size fridges - all underneath our house!

Inisde the house, it had not been cleaned properly, there were empty water bottles and lots of grease in the kitchen area. On the website it said the house would have TV - the picture worked but there was no sound. When we asked about this we were told the sound was broken, but not offered a fix or any discount on the room. There was no hammock as described on the website. The 'marvellous sea-view' is far-fetched, you can just about catch a glimpse of the sea from the top floor.

I was really upset and disappointed. We saved a long time to go on this holiday and felt really let down. We had booked for a week but managed to cancel after 3 nights as we were so unhappy. We paid the 3 nights but feel that the house was hugely overpriced and we should have been offered discount.

The final straw was when there were cockroaches running around near the filthy stove, okay so you get cockroaches in hot climates but it is no wonder when the kitchen is full of grease and dirt. We couldn't cook here ourselves as it was too dirty.

If the owner is reading this, please consider refunding our money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugHK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterjelsted, Manager at Mayas Native Garden, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Good to hear that you felt our service is friendly and welcoming.

It sounds as some things was not okay, for which we are sorry to hear, however we would have loved to hear about it so we could have addressed the issue. If its was an general dissapoinment, we would have been happy to refund your deposit. Mostly our guest is very happy with the Native House as we hear from our guests and can see on our reviews.
I think most guests that have seen the Mountain view from the Native House will agree that it is Marvellous and like you say can glimps the sea :-)
The Native house as descriped is a perfect cottage for the family with kids, it has space and many bed spaces and room for the family or group of people to stay together.

Thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    46
    16
    2
    5
See reviews for
9
46
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

3 nights in the brand new "Eco-Aircon-Cottage" in the back of the calm and lovely arranged garden of Mayas Native Garden. After 4 weeks travelling on the Philippines and a couple of experiences, this is a very good relation between price and what you get for.
That counts also for the food which is served. F.e. the biggest Tuna-Sandwich on the Philippines for a good price - excellent :-)
The Description for the rooms is 100 % to what is written on the Homepage.
Very friendly and service-oriented stuff. Also one of the best treatments we got on the Philippines.

A short note to the owner: if there would be some candles, torches or something with small open fires arranged in the garden or around the resto-area, the atmosphere could be upgraded in a very simple but effective way. To pull some more people inside the restaurant especially in the evening. It would fit perfectly to the very nice garden. ;-)

We would go there again in every case and can highly recommend this place for a stay.
Keep going and never lean back to keep this place a little jewel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serienchillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterjelsted, Manager at Mayas Native Garden, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thanks for your review Serienchillo.
Nice to hear your enjoyed your stay and our new Eco Cottage. It´s a very good idea to "light" up the garden, we will put this into our planning for our improvement of Mayas. We are looking forward to see you again in Mayas Native Garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This cute place just one minute from the waterfront consists of 5 cute wooden huts and a nice open restaurant around a very nice green palm garden. The team around Princess, Rose and Chris is just great, beeing very cheerfull,supporting, laughing and singing along while they work :-) we felt absolutely happy over there and can recommend this hotel and the whole Panagsama beach to everybody totally.

We stayed in the native house, which has an aircon in the sleeping room and is very spacous. The aircon cottage and even the smaller fan cottage probably are sufficient as well. Actually there are places around wich are a bit cheaper,some of them even having seaview. But we never ever regrettet one cent.

The food is great,too,absolutely fair priced as well. There is not a great beach nearby, but you have smaller beaches and wateraccess wherever you are. Diving is good and great value,around 6 or 7 diveshops around. Very laidback atmosphere,go to the disco on Satudays just next door, its good fun.


Bring enough cash since there is no cashpoint nearby at all! The closest is half an hour walk - and it doesnt work most of the time!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AaalexD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in aircon cottage. Staff is very friendly, rooms are very basic but clean. Patio furniture uncomfortable. Our room the shower floor floods when showering due to uneven floor, but staff was happy to mop up. No TV but good Internet in room. For same price we moved to better room around the corner on water that had cable TV. I think the rooms are over priced for being so basic and not on the water. Food we had was just tolerable nothing great but good food is a challenge in PI.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yacht_vayacondios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterjelsted, General Manager at Mayas Native Garden, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for your review

We are happy to say we have renovated our aircon cottage so we dont have a problem with the level and water in the bathroom. Surely we dont have TV as there is so many things to do around.
Good that you found a place that suited your needs.
thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Maya's last week and had a pretty good experience. The staff (espeicslly Rose and Princess) were excellent. The food was great and the garden was beautiful. My husband and I stayed in the fan cottage and it stayed cool throughout the night. The only thing I can complain about it the noise from the builders. They are building a nw cottage on the gorunds and they started at about 8am with hammers and powertools, I could handle the roosters crowing all night but powertools in the early morning were a little much. I talked to Rose and the powertools stopped in the early morning but still went on throughout the day. We were suppose to stay for ten days but once they started painting the cottage the smell was enough to drive us out. But all in all, without the building, I think we would have enjoyed our stay much more. The room was perfect for the price and thefood was great, Ihad a banana shake every morning and the fruit pancakes were to die for. i think we would stay here again but as someone has already mentioned, not on a Saturday night, the disco was super loud and carried on until about 3 am.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank avidreader01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterjelsted, Manager at Mayas Native Garden, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks for your review!
We are happy to say that we finished our two new Eco Aircon Cottages, so no more building noise. We know it a pain with building noises and like you say we tryed to do our best to "organize" the noise.
Roosters in the Philippines is like a national sound of Filipino culture and is all over the country.
The disco saturday night normally stops around 2-3 am and we made soundproofing to our Aircon cottage, best is to go and join the local happy dansing Filipinos and have fun.
We hope that we will see you back for fresh Banana shakes and pancakes.
Enjoy your traveling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I rented the aircon cottage and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. All the staff were wonderful. Food was great to fantastic. Still remembering the filet with mango and white wine sauce! And the spaghetti carbonara!Yum! Only fly in the ointment was on Saturday afternoon a hellishly loud noise started from a disco only a minutes walk away. I inquired and was informed that not only was Saturday night the regular disco but because it was their anniversary they had supplemental audio equipment brought in. Was told the disco was from 9 to 3 but I'm sure it went until the last drinker was standing! This old fart couldn't handle the noise so vacated and found a room further south for my last night in Moalboal. I'll know better next time.
Sorry Peter (the charming owner). If not for the disco I'd have awarded 5 stars.

Room Tip: If you've been travelling in the tropics and are used to the heat go for the fan cottage. The ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colindcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Rented the fan room for two weeks on the recommendation of a friend. The rooms are actually little cottages with privacy, a porch and a view. This was a nice surprise since many other resorts pack their rooms in side-by-side, motel style (so you hear everyone all the time). A small beach is located nearby and a short walk gets you to local bars, restaurants, and many dive shops. The resort's kitchen serves great Mexican food, along with Western and Filipino dishes. It is a very laid-back and cozy place and the staff made me feel right at home, they also had great ideas what to see in the area. I would recommend Mayas for anyone looking for a great place to stay for a low cost.

Room Tip: The fan room has a view of the restaurant, bar and neighborhood if you want to relax, it is also loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moalboal hotels
3.2 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savedra Beach Resort
Savedra Beach Resort
#5 of 6 in Moalboal
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sampaguita Resort
Sampaguita Resort
#2 of 6 in Moalboal
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
#1 of 24 in Moalboal
467 reviews
2.9 mi away
Moalboal Beach Resort
Moalboal Beach Resort
#12 of 24 in Moalboal
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayas Native Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayas Native Garden

Property: Mayas Native Garden
Address: Panagsama Beach, Moalboal 6032, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Moalboal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mayas Native Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayas Native Garden, is located on Panagsama Beach. Panagsama Beach is an old fishing village, which has become a divers paradise, with the discovery of Pescador Island, Tongo Point and other superb dive spots. The village has developed into a laidback heaven for divers, backpackers, adventurists, sun & cocktail tourists, expats as well as eco tourists. This diverse composition of tourist together with the warm and friendly Cebuanos (inhabitants of Cebu Island), makes Panagsama a unique place to spend your holiday, leave or weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mayas Native Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayas Native Garden Moalboal, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing