We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend at Mayas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayas Native Garden
Ranked #6 of 23 Moalboal B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Weekend at Mayas”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I would 100% recommend Mayas to anyone on a budget looking for a great place to stay at in Moalboal. Not only are the rooms clean and comfortable but the property as a whole, specifically restaurant and bar, is a great place to relax due to the great food and friendly staff. The location is terrific, as Mayas is in the nicest part of Panagsama Beach and is right across from adventure company Planet Action (worth a visit). Whether you plan on diving here or not (we didn't), I would strongly recommend Mayas and Panagsama Beach to anyone who is interested in exploring the Cebu area. The Native House is a great option for a group of 4+

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    46
    15
    2
    5
See reviews for
9
46
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Great option in Moalboal for those looking for cheap, safe, and clean place. The staff is very friendly, the location is good (10 minute motorbike ride from the main beach and close to several dive shops), and the restaurant has great food. There are multiple room types for different group sizes. If you're going to Moalboal you should definitely stay here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

This was my first trip to Moalboal and the staff at Mayas made it one to remember. Not only were they amongst the friendliest and most attentive I have experienced, they really made you feel at home. The whole experience was amongst the most relaxing I have had - it has been hard to get back to work since.

The rooms are amazing, particularly considering the price - not 5 star standard naturally, but comfortable and suited our needs perfectly. The different rooms could easily suit backpackers right up to honeymooning couples

My highlight was the food. While the mexican was delicious, the extra effort the staff put in on our final night and on the night of one of our members birthday's was touching. Beautiful fresh fish, octopus, ribs - all at an amazing price.

Highly recommend Mayas to anyone wanting a unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mitchell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

i have travelled to panagsama many times in the past but this was our first time to maya's .

the staff are very friendly and i enjoyed the native still huts as they are very comfortable with good hot water for showers .
look forward to coming back next yr.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotsdougie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We were a group of students and stayed at Mayas for 8 days in early october 2011. We booked out the 3 cottages and the family cottage was truly amazing! You get so much for what you actually have to pay! the accommodation itself was outstanding for that price! The place is literally 50m from the beach and many different dive centers (such as Blue Abyss-run by Klemens) so it very easy to get around! There are a lot of good shops, bars and restaurants around but we definitely recommend to just eat your 3 meals at Mayas. The breakfast is sooo good..especially the pancakes and the different set of breakfast including the usual house-made mango shake! The staff also organised two barbecues and lunch/dinner was served at every hour and every time it was really good! They also have a great bar serving cocktails and cold beer, which is of course important!
The most important part of the whole experience was by no doubt the staff! They were all extreemly welcoming and loving, and just made the stay memorable!

Other than that, The ride to Mayas from cebu city is 2 hours 30 minutes but it is really convenient that Mayas organised cheap shuttle service straight to the hotel. Once you arrive, you wont want to leave again or go visit other places. Even if you do, you can rent out motorbikes (beware of the doges running over the roads) or go adventure trips such as rock climbing or horse riding! The diving spots are just great at Panagsama Beach and this is definitely a destination I recommend to everyone!

Overall It is one of those places you will never want to leave and one can truly be described as paradise. We all had an amazing time and we will all never forget Mayas Native Garden!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Philippe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xinbei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We didn’t stay at Maya’s but listened to conversations of those who were staying there while we ate. Everyone seemed quite pleased. It wouldn’t have worked for us as there was no pool (our backpacker days are over) and was quite stuffy with few trees to protect the cottages from the burning sun. The vegetation was nice and very well- manicured.

We ate there quite often as we found the food to be tasty and the service to be much, much better than across the way from them. Mostly we stuck to the Mexican dishes, which had a good taste and made us long for real Mexican food, Sonoran style. The servers were quite attentive and not hanging over you hoping for tip or ignoring you and then acting offended when you didn’t leave one. In addition they make a mean Mojito with fresh mint from their garden.

We found the Swedish owner a bit aloof but friendly enough when you got her talking. She got along with all of her guests and made sure everything was up and running right. Again as it’s owned by a European the cleanliness was outstanding.

While we would stay there in a heartbeat if the larger places with a pool were full; we will definitely be back to eat her Calamari appetizers (very well done) and Mexican food (It’s the Philippines, so don’t get too excited- try the Mexican lasagna, wonderfully creative.) Oh, you’ll recognize us by the stack of glasses with a few mint leaves still stuck on the side. Cheers!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jashock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

After leaving Cebu City a bit disapointed (both the city and the hotel we stayed it sucked) we didn't expect much from Panagsama Beach and this resort. But when we got there it turned out to be the best choice we made so far!

We rented the 'family cottage' for only 1500 pesos per night. The cottage was beautiful, had a nice balcony and a great view of the garden. The airconditioning was a split unit, which means that is doesn't make any noise inside. The bathroom was simple, but clean and the hot shower worked fine.

The best thing about this place, however, were the restaurant and the people who worked at the resort. During our 5 day-stay we ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at the cosy restaurant next to the cottages and the garden. The fish and meat from the grill were superb, and they also have a great choice of Mexican food like burrito's and enchiladas.

If you want to go out just ask someone and they will provide all the help you need (motorbike, massage, snorkling or diving trips). We compared prices with some other people in the village, but they were just the same as at the resort.

All in all: the best value for money at Panagsama Beach. It made our stay unforgettable!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jcb3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moalboal hotels
3.2 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
421 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
0.2 mi away
Savedra Beach Resort
Savedra Beach Resort
#5 of 6 in Moalboal
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sampaguita Resort
Sampaguita Resort
#2 of 6 in Moalboal
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
#1 of 23 in Moalboal
448 reviews
2.9 mi away
Moalboal Beach Resort
Moalboal Beach Resort
#12 of 23 in Moalboal
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayas Native Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayas Native Garden

Property: Mayas Native Garden
Address: Panagsama Beach, Moalboal 6032, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Moalboal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mayas Native Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayas Native Garden, is located on Panagsama Beach. Panagsama Beach is an old fishing village, which has become a divers paradise, with the discovery of Pescador Island, Tongo Point and other superb dive spots. The village has developed into a laidback heaven for divers, backpackers, adventurists, sun & cocktail tourists, expats as well as eco tourists. This diverse composition of tourist together with the warm and friendly Cebuanos (inhabitants of Cebu Island), makes Panagsama a unique place to spend your holiday, leave or weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mayas Native Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayas Native Garden Moalboal, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing