We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveler rating
65
49
19
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
49
19
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsburritonice cottagesbahay kubotwo nightscold beerbungalowdivehutsmanilaagoda
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 144 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Great option in Moalboal for those looking for cheap, safe, and clean place. The staff is very friendly, the location is good (10 minute motorbike ride from the main beach and close to several dive shops), and the restaurant has great food. There are multiple room types for different group sizes. If you're going to Moalboal you should definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

This was my first trip to Moalboal and the staff at Mayas made it one to remember. Not only were they amongst the friendliest and most attentive I have experienced, they really made you feel at home. The whole experience was amongst the most relaxing I have had - it has been hard to get back to work since.

The rooms are amazing, particularly considering the price - not 5 star standard naturally, but comfortable and suited our needs perfectly. The different rooms could easily suit backpackers right up to honeymooning couples

My highlight was the food. While the mexican was delicious, the extra effort the staff put in on our final night and on the night of one of our members birthday's was touching. Beautiful fresh fish, octopus, ribs - all at an amazing price.

Highly recommend Mayas to anyone wanting a unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mitchell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

i have travelled to panagsama many times in the past but this was our first time to maya's .

the staff are very friendly and i enjoyed the native still huts as they are very comfortable with good hot water for showers .
look forward to coming back next yr.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotsdougie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We were a group of students and stayed at Mayas for 8 days in early october 2011. We booked out the 3 cottages and the family cottage was truly amazing! You get so much for what you actually have to pay! the accommodation itself was outstanding for that price! The place is literally 50m from the beach and many different dive centers (such as Blue Abyss-run by Klemens) so it very easy to get around! There are a lot of good shops, bars and restaurants around but we definitely recommend to just eat your 3 meals at Mayas. The breakfast is sooo good..especially the pancakes and the different set of breakfast including the usual house-made mango shake! The staff also organised two barbecues and lunch/dinner was served at every hour and every time it was really good! They also have a great bar serving cocktails and cold beer, which is of course important!
The most important part of the whole experience was by no doubt the staff! They were all extreemly welcoming and loving, and just made the stay memorable!

Other than that, The ride to Mayas from cebu city is 2 hours 30 minutes but it is really convenient that Mayas organised cheap shuttle service straight to the hotel. Once you arrive, you wont want to leave again or go visit other places. Even if you do, you can rent out motorbikes (beware of the doges running over the roads) or go adventure trips such as rock climbing or horse riding! The diving spots are just great at Panagsama Beach and this is definitely a destination I recommend to everyone!

Overall It is one of those places you will never want to leave and one can truly be described as paradise. We all had an amazing time and we will all never forget Mayas Native Garden!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Philippe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We didn’t stay at Maya’s but listened to conversations of those who were staying there while we ate. Everyone seemed quite pleased. It wouldn’t have worked for us as there was no pool (our backpacker days are over) and was quite stuffy with few trees to protect the cottages from the burning sun. The vegetation was nice and very well- manicured.

We ate there quite often as we found the food to be tasty and the service to be much, much better than across the way from them. Mostly we stuck to the Mexican dishes, which had a good taste and made us long for real Mexican food, Sonoran style. The servers were quite attentive and not hanging over you hoping for tip or ignoring you and then acting offended when you didn’t leave one. In addition they make a mean Mojito with fresh mint from their garden.

We found the Swedish owner a bit aloof but friendly enough when you got her talking. She got along with all of her guests and made sure everything was up and running right. Again as it’s owned by a European the cleanliness was outstanding.

While we would stay there in a heartbeat if the larger places with a pool were full; we will definitely be back to eat her Calamari appetizers (very well done) and Mexican food (It’s the Philippines, so don’t get too excited- try the Mexican lasagna, wonderfully creative.) Oh, you’ll recognize us by the stack of glasses with a few mint leaves still stuck on the side. Cheers!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank jashock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews