We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best location at Panagsama Beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayas Native Garden
Ranked #7 of 25 Moalboal B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 22, 2011

After leaving Cebu City a bit disapointed (both the city and the hotel we stayed it sucked) we didn't expect much from Panagsama Beach and this resort. But when we got there it turned out to be the best choice we made so far!

We rented the 'family cottage' for only 1500 pesos per night. The cottage was beautiful, had a nice balcony and a great view of the garden. The airconditioning was a split unit, which means that is doesn't make any noise inside. The bathroom was simple, but clean and the hot shower worked fine.

The best thing about this place, however, were the restaurant and the people who worked at the resort. During our 5 day-stay we ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at the cosy restaurant next to the cottages and the garden. The fish and meat from the grill were superb, and they also have a great choice of Mexican food like burrito's and enchiladas.

If you want to go out just ask someone and they will provide all the help you need (motorbike, massage, snorkling or diving trips). We compared prices with some other people in the village, but they were just the same as at the resort.

All in all: the best value for money at Panagsama Beach. It made our stay unforgettable!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jcb3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 134 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2011

We did not stay at this hotel, but since its not listed under restos, I will just make my comments here. We discovered this place before leaving Moalboal and ate there one night and I must say the best Chicken Burritos I have had in a long time in the Philippines were prepared there. They set them up so you can actually put them together yourself giving you all the ingredients ....The waitress was very friendly and we felt welcomed. This in part may be because they were not busy, but in any case it was a really nice find and we only regret that we did not have time for a second run at those burritos before we left.

This is a great alternative to the more expensive Tipolo across the way.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank leftovertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

I had a great time at Mayas Native Gardens with "Tickie' & the wonderful girls! Someone had my single cottage (luckily) when I arrived so they put me in the larger cottage with A/C at a reduced price. The food was the best in the area including the value.Hamburgers & fries were my favorite with burrittos a close second.The WiFi worked great even in the cottage.It is truly a native garden with beautiful flowers,plants,and trees which attracted hummingbirds,butterfies,and lizards. The grounds were pruned & watered everyday to be enjoyed from the big porch. Well lighted with paths,a security guard, and service until 7:00am to 9:00pm(?) daily.A big covered BBQ area which opened at 6:00pm nightly. My month stay was interupted by a family emergency so I left after two weeks with the balance of my bill happily REFUNDED!!!! I will most certainly be back. I have stayed on Cebu scuba diving in Dumaguete,Dauin,Bohol,and Malpascua. This is my #1 choice.
Note: Go to the disco on Saturday night !!! (The loud music did not bother my rest)

Room Tip: Stay in the middle cottage,order the big hamburger/fries & Mexican food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krazytomdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Maya's is located near the entrance of Panagsama Beach. It's a quiet place without much disturbance but convenience to shops/restaurants/diving shops/adventures etc. It is just 1 min walk from the famous disco bar where music on all night long every Sat.

Maya's staffs are nice, friendly and helpful. And they cook very good food too. Try out their breakfast and BBQ dinner.

We stayed at the aircon cottage for 4 nights. There is a nice balcony which is a very relaxing space for a lazy afternoon.

Although there had been some problems with the lamp and shower during our stay, staffs are willing to help and fix them timely. One thing to improve is the showering system, it will be perfect to have a stronger shower after a long day adventure/diving.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank momochu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We stayed in the middle bungalow which was just completed. It was made using traditional materials with a modern bathroom and bright airy room. It is basic but very comfortable with a good mattress.
The restaurant food was simple and simply delicious with tasty local coffee. We ate most meals at Mayas and the food never disappointed.
We scuba dived with Nelson's which is five minutes from Mayas and enjoyed Pescador Island, seeing sharks, turtles, lovely coral and much more.
The snorkeling right by Mayas (about 50 meters) was lovely in the clear warm water and it's amazing how much macrolife you can experience close to shore. You can also mountain bike along the local trails, play football twice a week with the local kids so there are many different ways to work up a thirst and an appetite.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hendy70KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

I stayed back when Mayas had a single cottage and were still at work on the landscaping. I showed up on a trike looking for a budget place - had a look around the area; Tipolo looked great, but was fully booked. The backpacker's lodge was cheap, but hardly a place to leave your things when your out diving or drinking Tanduay. The other places were middle of the road, and none of the front desks really wanted to barter or discount rooms.

Maya's offered a great bang for the buck - a personal cottage with a safe, a fan, and a clean bathroom with a hot shower - perfect for a solo traveler. The deck was great for lounging, and it included an outside sink for cleaning up dive equipment and washing off your feet and footwear. The staff were great, and if you ask they can take care of laundry, cook any food you bring in, or provide a good breakfast for a few hundred pesos.

Unfortunately you don't have a beachside place to sunbathe, but I recommend stopping over and having lunch at the neighboring Restaurant/Resort and buy Jochen a beer or two. He happily let me have access to his beach and furniture, which was literally 1 minute from the cottage. Mayas is also a 5 minute walk from most of the bars/dive shops, but this can be good/bad depending on how much peace and quiet or excitement you're looking for. All in all a great place to stay - I've recommended to friends who have had similarly good experiences at Mayas in Moalboal. I will stay here again if I'm ever in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattF44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Wickelbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moalboal hotels
0.0 mi away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
3.2 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 7 in Moalboal
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savedra Beach Resort
Savedra Beach Resort
#6 of 7 in Moalboal
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
#1 of 25 in Moalboal
492 reviews
2.1 mi away
Moalboal Tropics
Moalboal Tropics
#6 of 25 in Moalboal
31 reviews
2.3 mi away
Asian-Belgian Dive Resort
Asian-Belgian Dive Resort
#3 of 37 in Moalboal
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayas Native Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayas Native Garden

Address: Panagsama Beach, Moalboal 6032, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Moalboal
Price Range: $16 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mayas Native Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayas Native Garden, is located on Panagsama Beach. Panagsama Beach is an old fishing village, which has become a divers paradise, with the discovery of Pescador Island, Tongo Point and other superb dive spots. The village has developed into a laidback heaven for divers, backpackers, adventurists, sun & cocktail tourists, expats as well as eco tourists. This diverse composition of tourist together with the warm and friendly Cebuanos (inhabitants of Cebu Island), makes Panagsama a unique place to spend your holiday, leave or weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mayas Native Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayas Native Garden Moalboal, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing