We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Sea right in front resort!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asian-Belgian Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Asian-Belgian Dive Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Sea right in front resort!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

6 of us including me lived at this resort from 13-16 June 2013. It's very far from the airport and needs a 3 hr car ride but it's totally worth it.. The sea is really beautiful and clear.. The resort is located right near the great beautiful sea..We snorkel almost everyday at the beach where there are nice coral reefs and rich marine life in front..My friends did diving in front with the diving instructor and the owner..was a great experience..

We lived in all 3 types of their rooms, dolphin,seaview and swiss cottage.. As this is a really small town, the amenities are very basic, don't expect hotel facilities and services here if you are very used to hotel.. There are times water shortage occurs which happen once in my trip.However the managers Monique and Roland are nice hosts always with smile, they tried to answer to our queries as much as possible.. even though I know there are times they cant do anything like water shortages, the TV in dolphin room cant connect to the satellite at all..

If you just want a basic room, swiss cottage are pretty good but do note there is no TV and fridge here..just there for a bath and sleep..

If you want something more, seaview room is most decent priced and have TV, fridge and a big queen size bed but flaw is it's located beside the dive room and restaurant so there is not much privacy, bed is really soft so might have to get used to it if you are a fan of soft bed..please note only one seaview room is available..

As for the dolphin room, it can accommodate 6 people in a room great for family and it's spacious, have a great balcony which overlooks to the sea,great for a chill .. however, its connection there are pretty weak, wifi cant be connected there, TV cable connection always goes offline, it's pretty pricey if you are there as a couple.

We had all our meals in the resort restaurant, food in the restaurant were delicious and as i'm a vegetarian, they cater to my needs and can do it the style I want :) very thankful for that, however price are slightly expensive and as they prepared food from scratch, we always waited for more than 1 hour for our food during peak hours.. suggestion is you can order your food at least 1 hr before you want to have it to avoid waiting too long when hungry. though I would say it's really worth the wait!

The overall stay was not bad , felt two flaws are no outside food and drinks are allowed, felt Monique tone wasn't nice when she was telling us, we understood if every guest do that, there are no business for them but I have times I have cravings for my own local food like instant noodles and porridge which is not on the menu.. maybe they should charge for the hot water so that can solve my homesickness for my local food and still earning money for the resort :)

another flaw is that there are no blankets provided for all the rooms..maybe it's because the weather in Cebu can get really hot but I still prefer to sleep with a blanket, felt weird without one.

Anyway, thankful for the stay ! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosycheeks l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    72
    18
    9
    2
See reviews for
40
85
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ANGERS
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice place, nice friendly staff. Food ok, great french fries, like in Belgium, Great room (The Dolphin) but expensive 4500php per night. Great view, beautiful garden, except, when I was there, it rain all the time, the sky was too dark and little bit stormy, so.....no diving.
The road to go there is not a road and you need a 4X4 to avoid problem.

Room Tip: If your budget allow it, go fo the Dolphin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saveurs-oubliees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here at the end of April. We were a group of 8. Monique, Roland and staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. Rooms were good value. Food was good grub. Did enjoy grilled fish. Not a lot of variety but they do very well for a small resort. Awesome view. resort really is right off the ocean. Great place to watch sunsets. Few dives were pleasant. They also arranged snorkeling boat for non divers at a very good price. Overall just felt like this was a really nice and quiet place to relax. Would go back in a heartbeat. Would book the dolphin room next time for the more comfortable bed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aiyun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Don't look further...come to Asian-Belgian Dive Resort...if you want to have excellent dives, amazing snorkeling moments in the front of the resort (YesYes, I saw turtles and the corals are awesome and you will see a lot of fish), lazy days, delicious food, very good service (all the staff are great; they all smiling & laughing all day long & they are very helpful), the beach is very nearby.
Our room in the garden was good (aircon and yes...hot shower) and very clean.
The bed has a good mattress, thick enough. (It was brand new.)
You will have a great sea view...if you take the other rooms in the front of the resort.
There are 2 new rooms (Dolphin Watch Rooms)....and...waauuuwww....they are very beautiful and a lot of space inside.
We had a great time there.
Even the dog, Jacky, is everybody's friend.
The sun was always shining, it is very quiet there so you can relax all day long!
But...if you want to go to town or to the waterfalls, than the managers will arrange a tricycle for you.
If you like, you can also go to Oslob...snorkeling with the famous whalesharks.
Fun for everybody.
One thing is for sure...we are coming back!
Because it feels like "home'.
Oh, I nearly forgot to mention: Try the Belgium pancakes...they are really tasty and very delicious!
And the mango-shakes are the best in the world!

Room Tip: Take the new room on the sea front. They call it "Dolphin Watch Room". But all the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here for a few days, great hospitality.
Food was OK, but very salty and had to ask them to not put any salt in. Good portion size though.

Rooms are clean and fit the bill for a budget stay. However my room was next to the kitchen as it was noisy and had to keep the curtains closed as there was no privacy.

Great place to snorkel from so would def recommend it for that reason.

Room Tip: A hut at the back. Don;t have th room next to the kitchen as it's noisy and no privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank urbandivaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our family of five stayed at this resort from 24th march for 5 nights. We all had a great time; diving, relaxing , taking it easy, enjoying the fabulous seaview and most of all ; enjoying the good cookings. We really look forward to every meals and making sure we placed our order early.
We were never more at home than at this resort, with great staffs providing all our needs.
However we must also remember that Moalboal is not a city and therefore had to lower our expectations, we do get an occasional brownout and the loss of water supply.
Another highlight of the stays was a trip to Oslob arrange by the hostess ; the very efficient Monique. We snorkelled with at least five or six whalesharks !
My daughter brought back lot of fond memories playing and swimming with the ever energetic "Jackie", the resort sweet dog;a Rockweller. We look forward to be going back there again next year ! Cheers to you all at the resort. J.Lim Singapore

Room Tip: Be early and book the dophin watch rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I had a great experience with the friendly staff at this hotel. Very low-key place with a casual feel and friendly staff. The views across the sea channel are awesome. It's ideal for divers with an excellent shore dive right off the property and other great sites within a boat ride. The food was good too. You'll need some transportation as the location is about 10 kilometers from the main town....

Room Tip: Get one of the two rooms right on the water - newer with good air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moalboal hotels
0.8 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.4 mi away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
3.3 mi away
Sampaguita Resort
Sampaguita Resort
#2 of 6 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
#1 of 22 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.0 mi away
Moalboal Beach Resort
Moalboal Beach Resort
#12 of 22 in Moalboal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Turtle House Moalboal
Sea Turtle House Moalboal
#15 of 28 in Moalboal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asian-Belgian Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asian-Belgian Dive Resort

Property: Asian-Belgian Dive Resort
Address: Saavedra, Moalboal, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Moalboal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Asian-Belgian Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small dive-resort plus restaurant at the sea front, next to White Beach. Amazing for diving & snorkeling. Kayaks are for free. Just relax, swim, dive, snorkel and enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Asian-Belgian Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asian-Belgian Dive Hotel Moalboal
Asian-Belgian Dive Resort Moalboal, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing