We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and friendly place to stay....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Love's Beach and Dive Resort
Moalboal, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly place to stay....”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We came there with a Safari Trip from Sipalay and from the moment the Boat was attached to the Buoyline, the hospitality of this nice Resort was perfect. Drinks were offered from the beginning to the end, the Rooms were nice and clean, the Restaurant offered a lot of european and filipino food for everybody. The Diveshop was easy accessible by 3 steps down the restaurant, and the Divemasters and Secretary very helpful to choose the right divespot. The whole staff of the resort was helpful to the Crew of the Safari'Boat to fill up everything for the next trip. All in all it was a very pleasant, calm and relaxed stay. Thanks a lot for this nice experience and hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptervnce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Guest Relations Manager at Love's Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Hi Peter,

thanks for your visit, we hope you can come again,and thank you for taking the time tos hare your feeback here. Its very helpful for us and our guests alike.

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    41
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
34
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were fortunate that though we hit a holiday weekend, the resort wasn't very busy (until we left, then people wre pouring in). It was recommended by the dive contact of my husband as they are the dive operators there. The dive shop facilities and staff were recommendable but the rooms average. The food was barely edible though we guessed perhaps because they weren't busy so not fully staffed properly.

In any case, the kids enjoyed the clean pool and the small garden they had. Just a bit too public and bizarre for me to have a massage in their massage pavillion right in the middle of the resort where everyone passes by!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHL2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Guest Relations Manager at Love's Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Hi SHL,

massages by the ocean in the pavilion are quite popular, however some like yourself prefer to have it in the privacy of their room, no problem this is also available on request.

We get regular positive feedback about our food,I'm sorry your meals did not meet your expectations, please do not hesitate to send it back if there is a problem. We are very receptive to your complaints and concerns and our kitchen staff are more than happy to recook your meal.

Glad you enjoyed the diving, please come a visit us again.

regards,
Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Last year my wife and I took a bus from Cebu City to Moalboal and stayed at Love's upon the recommendation of an "Americano" that I met in Comotes. The bus stopped in the main part of town in Moalboal and we simply asked the tricycle driver to take us to Love's. Check-in was painless and we found ourselves in a comfortable room. There was a small pool that saw little use and veranda for dining and just sitting to watch the gorgeous sunsets.

I was underwhelmed by the rocky beach and the sea floor was covered with sea urchins. However I rented a snorkel and mask for the day for about $2 and waded out 75 yards or so and experienced a very nice coral reef about 20 feet under the surface. The coral was great as were the undersea creatures. There were plenty of colorful fish, starfish and I even saw a couple of banded sea kraits.

Love's is also a good base to explore Kawasan Falls - a few miles from Moalboal.

The food at Love's was good, the alcohol reasonable, and the service was good as well and I've recommended Love's to others.I

Room Tip: In Cebu City go to the South Bus Terminal - there are departures every 30 minutes to Moalboal (trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Guest Relations Manager at Love's Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Hi Kim,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback, very much appreciated.

it sounds like you were here at a time when the tides were very low, does change the landscape a bit, but as you found out a short swim of a few meters has you over the edge of a breathtaking diving and snorkeling spot, glad you got to see it.

We can help you organise a trip, with or without dives, to kawasan falls. Or If you prefer just ask our staff for some info on how to get there yourself, very easy.

Hope to see you and your wife again sometime,
Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xinbei, Taiwan
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We didn’t stay there, but we did eat there. And I did get the opportunity to talk with the owners (husband and wife) at their mini-market on the main road.

The food was only OK. Overall we were unimpressed by all the food we ate in and around Moalboal; Love’s was no exception. The restaurant commands an excellent view sitting right atop the water and looking out across the sea toward Negros and other islands nearby. The sea breeze, the rolling waves, and the serenity made it a great lunch. It would be a great place to drink, too.

I found both owners to be extremely pleasant and friendly. I wouldn’t, however, pay the accommodation prices they were asking for what they offered. While the place was clean and they have a very small pool, some rooms are on the second story which would have been bad for our party because of health reasons. The rooms on the ground floor are more like a long house with concrete separation between the rooms. The prices are among the highest around. But they must do well as they were building yet another building of rooms.

Note: from the main road to their place is really quite a long walk. It took us over 20 minutes at a slow pace because of the twists and turns. Also note there is nothing else nearby so if you were to stay here, you really are at the mercy of their restaurant for your needs. Their mini-market was quite clean, kept up and well stocked with fair prices.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jashock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Guest Relations Manager at Love's Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Hi Jashock,

the layout of Moalboal can be a bit confusing at first, our staff would be able to provide directions or a map for you on request. You'll find the walk to Panagsama, where all of Moalboals bars and restaurants can be found, is only about 5-10 minutes.

The resort gives the impression of being tucked away,but we like that, nice and peaceful but close to the fun when you need it.

We have a good selection of rooms and prices, seems you were only shown one kind, possibly all that was available at the time? Either way the staff should have given you a balanced view so apologies for that.

Glad you got a chance to try the restaurant, its one of my favorite places to hang out as well, great views and a nice ocean breeze-who needs AC.

Hope you get a chance to swing by again so I can give you a proper tour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
524 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 663 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

The grounds of the hotel are lovely with plenty of shade from the many trees. There is a pool and massage on site. Seaview rooms are smaller than the deluxe rooms, but do have the advantage of having a small, shared seaview balcony. All units have either a private or shared balcony.
Cable TV’s with very few channels are mounted 1 foot from the ceiling so not good for viewing. Semi enclosed showers with excellent hot water that can be adjusted from 36 to 42 degrees, but there is no hot water in the sink, minifridge, reasonably comfortable bamboo furniture, true queen-sized beds with firm mattresses, ample cupboard space, makeup table with mirror. No in room safe but there is a hotel safe. The hotel advertises wifi, but it doesn’t exist. They say that it will be available in a month, so inquire if this is important to you. If you want a good night’s sleep be sure to bring earplugs because the dogs bark through the night and the roosters begin doing their thing at 4am.

At 3000p per night for the each of the 2 sea view rooms and 2700p for the deluxe rooms (breakfast included), Love’s is overpriced for Moalboal.

The seaside restaurant serves good food. The deep-fired calamari is excellent as is Elvie’s shrimp curry.

The 5-month-old associated dive shop is PADI certified, and if you prefer small groups of divers as opposed to the large cattle boats, this is the dive shop for you. Cayo, the manager and dive master is a pleasure to dive with. They are owned by Savedra.

There are no banks or ATMs in Moalboal so bring plenty of cash. The hotel only accepts cash and while the dive shop does accept Visa, though they prefer pesos.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank driftdiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Manager at Love's Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Hi DriftDiver,

thank you for the review, quite right the dive center Cebu Fun Divers is part of the same group as Savedra Dive Center, Seven Seas Aquanauts. Cayo is the head diver here and runs a great show.

The local cockerels, the sound of the Philippine islands, are here to stay. However dogs, or any other noises can be dealt with easily, If anything like that is disturbing you please let our staff know as soon as you can and they will be shooed away, no need to put up with such disturbances.

We do keep a close eye on our prices and keep them as competitive as possible, we do encourage our guests to compare before booking. We do our best to bring you a pleasant environment at the most affordable rates.

Internet connections are improving rapidly,in the past we have suffered a little with this being in a remote area but service providers are getting better. If this is a concern for you we are happy to provide the results of an internet speed test on request.

Once again thank you for your comments, this is the kind of feedback that keeps us improving.

Hope to see you again,
Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

I got the opportunity to talk directly to the owner of the resort on the phone for our reservation 3 wks before we went there for the Holy Week. Since they only cater to 2 persons in a room, I booked 2 superior rooms with 3 extra beds each room & another aircon room for 2 for a total of 12 persons. I was really sure that everything was set after a 30 min conversation BUT I WAS VERY WRONG! We were so tired after a 3 hr drive from Cebu proper but when we arrived, I was shockeD! The resort IS VERY SMALL & CROWDED, they DIDN'T HAVE ENOUGH PARKING SPACE & THE PARKING AREA WAS VERY DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER ON. Then, the owner insisted that I only booked 3 rooms for 8 persons & she even RAISED HER VOICE AT ME! She told me to follow her to their reception area to look at the reservation form that she did & while I was following her she kept on murmuring a lot of things which I thought was inappropriate. I was so mad that time & I thought that she's trying to deceit us in getting extra rooms which we didn't have to but I just kept my cool. When she saw the reservation form & saw that I was right, she didn't even say sorry for all the things she said to me! She then told me that the rooms were not yet ready & that we will have to wait for the extra beds to be placed in our rooms. While waiting we decided to have our lunch. Since they offer meals, we checked their menu book & to our dismay, their prices were so high! We just decided to leave the resort for lunch & hopefully our rooms are finished when we get back. BUT THEN AGAIN I WAS WRONG!!! Only 2 out of 3 rooms were available but are not yet finished! Plus, the refreshments they listed in each room were not complete in the refrigerator. That's when we concluded that the resort were really trying to deceit us in a lot of things. Good thing we were keen enough to notice everything that was wrong & they were not able to gain extra from us. To add to everything that were already wrong, THE LINENS WERE LOUSY, THE TV WAS NOT FUNCTIONING & the AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEM WAS TERRIBLE!!! It was as if we never even had one! WE WILL NEVER GO BACK TO THAT RESORT EVER AGAIN! & I DO NOT RECOMMEND THE RESORT TO ANYONE!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nana_081300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Manager at Love's Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Hi Nana,

thank you for your detailed review, feedback is always welcome.

I am sorry to hear that your trio got off to such a bad start, particularly after such a long drive.

Our check in process is typically much smoother than you describe, guests are invited for a drink if their rooms are not immediately available, a confirmation email would normally be sent with the booking details so such confusion is avoided.

All guests are encouraged to double check the details of the booking email we send, mistakes can happen but are easily resolved.

Our restaurant prices are comparable to other establishments in Moalboal, and a lot cheaper than most resorts, generally considered quite affordable.The menu changes a bit too often to include on the website but we are happy to email a copy to anyone interested.

Mini bars in the room are either fully stocked on guests arrival, or in the rare case an item is not in stock we adjust the inventory which you are of course welcome to inspect.

best regards,
Lee Butler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moalboal hotels
3.4 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
0.4 mi away
Savedra Beach Resort
Savedra Beach Resort
#5 of 6 in Moalboal
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sampaguita Resort
Sampaguita Resort
#2 of 6 in Moalboal
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
#1 of 24 in Moalboal
467 reviews
2.5 mi away
Asian-Belgian Dive Resort
Asian-Belgian Dive Resort
#4 of 35 in Moalboal
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Love's Beach and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Love's Beach and Dive Resort

Property: Love's Beach and Dive Resort
Address: Panagsama Beach South, Moalboal 6032, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Moalboal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Love's Beach and Dive Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Love's Beach and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Love's Beach And Dive Resort Moalboal, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing