We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location,good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marina Village Beach and Dive Resort
Ranked #13 of 24 Moalboal B&B and Inns
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Quiet location,good value for money”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Ive stayed at the Marina village on two occasions. Although there is no restaurant at Marina Village its not a problem - many places in the area to choose from.1600 pesos gets you a large room with aircon and mini bar also two free breakfasts. Good standard for this price although the creaky beds leave something to be desired ! staff very efficient and welcoming.

You also have free access to the Cabana beach resort just up the road - particularly nice surroundings with a clean pool,Its normally quiet with not too many people, very nice taking breakfast with cooling sea breezes on the seafront.

Another plus is the gated security and 24hr security guard. You can snorkel from the Cabana beach front but to be quiet honest the ref is in poor condition and not so many fish.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scoobie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Village Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2016
Hi Scoobie

obviously there has been some time between your review and this response, the reef in front is now the best snorkeling spot in town.

The sardine ball that made Pescador island famous disappeared from there and reappeared in front of Marina/Savedra Dive Center, it's been there for a few years already and has since been declared a protected area, come and give a it a look next time you are in the area.

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
20
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

The hotel is located centrally on Pansagama beach, but don't be fooled by the name, there is actually no beach here. It's a small knit community with locals and foreigners, heavily dominated by scuba diving shops and divers. If you are not a diver, you will most likely not enjoy yourself at Pansagama (Moalboal).

Marina Village Beach and Dive resort does not have it's own dive center, but there are plenty within just a few minutes walking distance and Savedra is right next to the resort. We recommend Nelsons dive shop, as it is a good quality center and cheaper than most others.

If you are interested in custom dive package or a dive course, I highly recommend OuterReef Adventures, owned by Roger Carraway. Two of us took our AOWD course with Roger, and it was a great choice. He is not located directly at Pansagama, but will pick you up and drop you off, and will help you out in many other ways during your stay including finding accomodation, transport, and custom dive courses. I will write a separate review on this dive center ...stay tuned (or do a google search for his website).

The Marina resort has a neat garden property which is gated and manned by security at night, so you can be sure it is safe. We stayed in a aircon room, the cheapest one they had, and did not have any complaints at all (sorry, I forgot the room number). Bed was fine, aircon worked fine, fridge was stocked, and we were provided with free packets of coffee and tea in the room. I loved that there was WIFI and each room had it's own terrace, which was great for relaxing after a day of diving.

Breakfast was also good, and was seved to us by the pool right across the street at Cabana Beach Club (the two hotels are owned by the same management). You can also use the pool as a guest at Marina resort. Dinner wise, we at at different places each day just to have some variety, and we enjoyed Little Corner restaurant the best - big portions and tasty food (turn left out of Marina, last place on the right).

I definitely enjoyed all the perks of Marina Beach and Dive Resort (WIFI, pool, breakfast, terrace, aircon, fridge, coffee/tea) for a great price. The only drawback (as with most other places in the Philippines) was the early morning rooster wake up calls. Overall, this place was well worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marinar003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Village Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2016
Hi Marina

thanks for the review and visit, not sure i agree with all of your comments though. The Panagsama coastline varies quite a bit, directly in front of Marina it is a rocky beach, 100 meters to the left a sandy one, you do not have to explore far.

There are also a lot of things to do outside of diving, snorkeling an obvious one, but if you want to get away from the ocean there are many action tours to choose from. Canyoneering, Hiking, Horse Riding, Mountain Biking just to name a few. These are all on offer by a number of well established companies, pop into Savedra Dive Center next door for a few recommendations.

Regards
Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Stayed here because we booked our PADI Open Water qualification with Cebu Dive Centre and so were able to use their pool. First room, rm. 3, was dreadful. Neither me nor my boyfriend could get to sleep. The pillows were huge and too firm, the bed ridiculously squeeky, the flush on the toilet broke twice, and generally it was very noisy as it backed onto the Savedra Dive Centre. When we did start to drop off at 4am the cockerells and dogs then started up...nightmare. After this we spoke to the staff and asked to change rooms and they were so helpful, showing us two other rooms we could change to. Our 2nd room was very nice with thinner softer pillows and no squeeky bed, and a much quieter room in general. It turned out that it was one of their new rooms and was to a much higher standard than the other. We didn't eat any evening meals in the restaurant, which is further down the road with the pool. Breakfast was good but not spectacular - fresh juice and coffee, fresh milk with cornflakes and good scrambled eggs and bacon. Great location in the centre of Panagsama beach which is a small and close nit community with friendly inhabitants. Good access to all amenities however only made it to Moalboal town once by tuk-tuk (about a 10 min journey) - to use the pharmacy as there isn't one at Panagsama. No other need to go there. Highly recommend Hannahs Place for great sandwiches - homemade bread and plenty of cheese in the salami and cheese! The best place for evening meal is the Little Corner restaurant (turn left out of Marina, last place on right). Great tasty food and good portion size. Went to Pescador island for a couple of dives after qualifying - the huge shoals of sardines were very impressive. There was talk of sharks but we were unlucky the day we went. Overall really enjoyed our stay in Panagsama.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Weeza25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Village Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2016
Hi Weeza

thanks for the review and your visit. Checking the room is always a great idea, personal preference can be a big part of making your stay comfortable. You are always welcome to have a look and staff will do their best to accommodate any requested changes.

The first room in which you stayed is no longer there, they are currently being upgraded to newer, modern accommodations.

regards
Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

We booked a twin room (nr. 15) with fan, a/c, boiler with free instant coffee, mini fridge, small terrace, room serviced every day, breakfast (choice of 4 options) and swimming pool for 1500 Pesos. The place was very clean, central but still quiet, and the pool felt great. Marina Village belongs to the owners of two other hotels in Moalboal: "Cabana Beach Club" (more upscale) and "Sole e Mare". The three of them are almost together, and the pool is located on the sea front at Cabana Beach Club (as Marina guest you may use it and the breakfast is served in the pool). The wifi works fine. Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mmhbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B, Guest Relations Manager at Marina Village Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2016
Hi mmhbcn

Thank you for your visit and leaving your comments here, much appreciated

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moalboal hotels
0.0 mi away
Savedra Beach Resort
Savedra Beach Resort
#5 of 6 in Moalboal
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
3.1 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sampaguita Resort
Sampaguita Resort
#2 of 6 in Moalboal
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
#1 of 24 in Moalboal
467 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabana Beach Club Resort
Cabana Beach Club Resort
#6 of 6 in Moalboal
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Village Beach and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Village Beach and Dive Resort

Property: Marina Village Beach and Dive Resort
Address: Panagsama Beach, Moalboal 6032, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Moalboal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marina Village Beach and Dive Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Marina Village Beach and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Village Beach And Dive Resort Moalboal, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing