We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of paradise at a very reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ravenala Beach Bungalows
viroflay
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A piece of paradise at a very reasonable price”
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Ravenala beach Bungalows has always ranked high on my list of the most pleasant places to stay in the Philippines for a peaceful beach vacation.
As a returning guest to Ravenala Beach Bungalows after 7 years of absence of the country, I was pleased to see that the 10-room only wonderful little charming resort has an even more beautiful tropical garden that provides a most welcome shade, has added an open-air spa, has its own boat which is very practical to go snorkeling, has wifi but, moreover, beyond these additional comforts, it has retained its family-like atmosphere and attentive service and the white sandy beach remains as enjoyable as ever. The half-board package is highly recommended as the buffet dinner offers a wide variety of dishes.

Room Tip: the two beach bungalows without aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank liliqueViroflay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
denmark
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed at the beach front bungalows, only a few meters from the water, great location. Rooms are cleaned every day, hot water in the showers. The beach is white and sandy, but out in the water you need shoes. Snorkling is great, walk a few meters out, stick your head down and corals and fish everywhere. The best thing is that you almost have the whole beach to your self and also no wild night life (- and no middle-aged men looking for a piece of meat). Even the beach vendors seems nicer than other places, they respect a "no". Really nice relaxed atmosfere, perfect for families. Yes, the menu is not that varied, but ask for it, and they will try get it for you - maybe write in advance if you have any specific wishes. Very affordable prices for the food/drinks. The van that picked us up at the airport was 5000 pesos round trip, most other hotels in the area charge 6000. The staff is extremely friendly and service minded. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shiny101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

My wife, my 1 year old son and I just came back from a 4 night stay at Ravenala Beach Bungalows (2 and a half hours drive from Cebu airport - transfers cost a rather hefty USD 55 each way by minivan arranged by the resort). At times, during our stay, we had the place entirely for ourselves and overall we found it pleasant, but let's go with order.

On the positive side, the resort has a nice layout with a pretty and very green garden with palms which is ideal for small children to play. The garden has also a few plastic beach chairs for guests to lie on (the head rest cannot be adjusted and the foam cover is not exactly clean but all in all they serve their purpose).
The resort has probably the best beach front of the area: a wide beach of (quite) fine and almost white sand; however if you want to swim in the sea (the resort has no pool) you must be equipped with appropriate shoes because as soon as the beach's sand ends and you enter the water a coral reef with shallow water starts and you have to walk on corals for several dozen meters (depending on the tide) before you reach deep waters. Not exactly easy nor pleasant if you don't have proper shoes. Basically you go from shallow, waist level waters to deep sea waters in one step, so be ready for it. The beach and the water are quite clean, with no significant debris nor waste.
The bungalows merge nicely in the surroundings with a nice tropical and unobtrusive design. The rooms are simple but functional, as well as reasonably priced for Philippine standards (about USD 65/room for an aircon room with b/fast for 2). Although there is a bit of smell of damp and moulds in the room, it is not as strong as in other resorts and you get used to it quite quickly anyway.
The staff are all very friendly and genuinely accomodating which is a pleasure in itself. They also offer you the use of their pc to check your mails. The connection is a bit slow but it works (and it is for free...).
Another pleasant surprise is that you can hear no roosters and there is no burning of leaves and debris going on (both are unfortunately common features of the resorts of the country).

There are a few things which could be improved. All the problems below are quite common in the Philippines and this resort is no exception, unfortunately.

The food is just ok, although the menu lacks variety. As a matter of fact, the choice of food is very limited. Although the quality is slightly above average for Philippine's standards, it is still well below what you can find in other parts of SE Asia. The choice for breakfast (included in the price) is limited to tea, coffe, eggs, bacon or ham (both very greasy), pancake, fresh fruit and fruit juice. It is still better than in other resorts of the country, but it would pretty easy to add some cereals and yogurt to make it a bit more complete without spending a fortune.
The menu for lunch/dinner is very limited as well and after the first meal you have basically exhausted all the choices. You can go to a restaurant in a resort nearby and this will help you cover barely the second day. If you stay longer, you will start dreaming at night time of grilled fish, chicken drumsticks and pork chop as there is little else available. A bit of variety could be added with some more skillful management of the procurement for the restaurant, even if the number of guests is not that significant.

Another thing which could be improved is the fact that the beach has plenty of stray dogs roaming around. They don't seem aggressive (unlike Thai stray dogs), but from an hygienic point of view it is far from ideal, as the garden of the resort (let alone the beach) is often littered with excrements.

The resort is poorly lit at night. It is not really difficult to find your way back to the room, but it is really pitch dark after 6.30 pm and a few more lights wold add to the charm of the place (and spare you from banging your head on the numerous trees on your way to the room).

Just beside one side of the resort there is a local rest house-cum-restaurant which attracts hordes of local youths at weekends. They gather to party, play volleyball and swim. Nothing wrong with it, but the music and the shouting go on incessantly from 10 am of Saturday until Sunday pm (maybe even after that, but that's when we left). When we heard a surge of shoutings at 4 am on Sunday we wished the aircon of the room was noisier in order to cover the screams. The only time they really got up our noses was when a couple of youngsters moved to our beach front to fire crackers a few meters from us. My wife shooed them off and they disappeared in no time. So although the resort is not marred by the usually ubiquitous roosters, the plague of energetic revellers can be as annoying. We did not get to understand whether this is a permanent feature of the place or something related to the Christmas season. At any rate, if you go, make sure you book a room on the opposite side of the resort.

There are no activities at the resort, apart from visiting a nearby waterfalls (which we passed) and diving (which seemed inactive though). There is the possibility of hiring a boat for some snorkelling along the reef. We asked the staff of the resort about it (it was not readily on offer) and they kindly went to call the boatman who showed up with his noisy motor boat after about 20 minutes. He claimed he had a complete snorkelling gear and he was offering a one hour snorkelling ride in tow of the boat for about USD 15. We negotiated down the price a bit and off we went. When we were already on the boat my wife and I were offered two decrepit masks and one snorkel. When we asked for one more snorkel (we were two...) the boatman pretended to look for one but it was obvious he had had only one for a long, long time. Since the prospect of one of us gasping for air while being towed in the water by the boat seemed closer to waterboarding techniques of Guantanamo base rather than leisure, we kindly asked to be brought back, which the boatman did with no further questions. So much for snorkeling.
Again, it would be easy to fix this, at basically no cost.

So overall, considering the price, the resort is quite pleasant. It is just a pity that yet again we have a place that from a natural point of view has so much to offer but the lack of attention to simple details makes it just above average. Which is already an achievement in itself - considering - but it lacks the spark that would make you want to go back again and again.

  • Liked — The beach, the garden, the friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — The lack of variety of food, the stray dogs, the noisy revellers nearby.
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GiloManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

I must say the price for a 3-day hotel accomodation was very affordable. It's a fantastic beachfront location and the ambiance of the place is very relaxing.

The staff are very nice, helpful and understanding and we are extremely happy with their services.

The nice owner of the hotel Eddie, sat down with us, shared his life stories and jokes that made us laugh and suprisingly think..

Thank you for making our vacation so memorable!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaibiganMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moalboal hotels
0.6 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
429 reviews
2.7 mi away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
3.6 mi away
Sampaguita Resort
Sampaguita Resort
#2 of 6 in Moalboal
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Asian-Belgian Dive Resort
Asian-Belgian Dive Resort
#4 of 35 in Moalboal
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dolphin-House Resort-SPA-Diving
2.8 mi away
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
#1 of 24 in Moalboal
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenala Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenala Beach Bungalows

Property: Ravenala Beach Bungalows
Address: White Beach, Moalboal, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Moalboal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenala Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ravenala Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenala Beach Bungalows Hotel Moalboal
Ravenala Beach Bungalows Moalboal, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing