We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the same rate you may get better deals further down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tipolo Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 26 Moalboal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2010

We paid 1500 for a twin room with fan, a/c, mini fridge and bathroom, wifi. The place was very clean and it is nice and relaxing. It doesn't have a private beach, like I ave read here (or at least, not what I consider a beach) but instead some stairs with direct access to the water. The restaurant is a bit pricey and the breakfasts they serve are quite good and tasty. For the same rate (1500 pesos) we then moved to Marina Village, which also includes breakfast and swimming pool.
At Tipolo I didn't try Planet Action (which belongs to the same owners as Tipolo) because I thought it was a bit pricey (50 US$)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmhbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 181 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2010

Great place to relax outside the bungalow and look at the sea! Great adventures with Planet Action!!! We loved canyoning, it was the first time for us and will won't forget it! Expert guides and so much fun! The restaurant is small and they cook very nice food, both Thai and Western. They also take the food to your bungalow! There is no beach but who needs it when you just swim a few meters and you can enjoy great snorkeling! I extremely recommend this place to everybody who is looking for relax and loves sport!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank fairylotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Stayed at Tipolo in Jan 2010. It is a nice, quiet place but close to other restaurants and some little shops to walk there in 5 minutes.
The rooms are all with a veranda as they look like little houses with your own bathroom and a fan or airco. The whole resort is located on the beach. It has a restaurant on the premisses with both western and local food and serves nice breakfasts like muesli, fresh fruit, yoghurt and eggs. If you tell the staff you would like to eat on your own veranda they will bring it to you.
You can go on trips through their company Planet Action. I went on a canyoning trip and a riverclimbing trip. Very nice. You can snorkel from the beach for 30 metres and then you hit a reef and a wall with a big dropoff where you find loads of turtles and fishes so absolutely amazing.
There are all sorts of travellers (from young backpackers to older man with local girlfriens) so there is always someone to talk to. I really enjoyed this place.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank satehstokje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

I spent a week there in January of this year, and I was very pleased with my selection. The rooms are meters from the water and the reef edge was no more than 20/30 meters from the shore, so every day I was swimming with the turtles.

In addition, Tipolo attracted an interesting range of people working in sorts of occupations, so many of the nights were spent deep in interesting conversations. This stretch of MoalBoal is a little quieter which was a blessing, except for saturday nights,when the music starts up, but that is a minor inconvenience. The owner has been building and improving the site for many years, so everything works, and the staff have been there a long time and are very knowledgeable.
So if you want easy acess to good snorkeling, and a nice place to stay in, this is it!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chriswenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Have just had a 4 day stay at Tipolo beach, came on recommendation of a friend, the accomodation is more than up to standard very clean and although couldn't have a luxury room the standard room more than adequate.
We took a planet action trip of river walking and I have to say this was absolutely amazing the guides were very professional and made you feel safe on route despite the fact we have never swam in waterfalls or scaled a vertical walk before,full of encouragement, and this all ended with a few beers and a fab BBQ waiting for us when we had finished an absolutely exhilerating experience. ,
Yes the disco was loud but hey once a week no problem, we ate at a few different restaurants absolutely cheap cheap food, and we ate a fair bit at Tipolo last filling station simple fresh and tasty, and Jochen and staff were extremely friendly thank you so much, can't wait to come back!!
George and Val Bell

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VANDGHGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Read about Planet Action Adventure Tours (affiliated to Tipolo) on Lonely Planet Vietnam (9th edition) and googled them. I'm very impressed with Tipolo's website - very informative, offering details of the various rooms and even a video of the premises! The rooms are really as seen on the website. Prices are also reasonable... and they have free wifi!

The only thing holding me back was that... there were no reviews on Tripadvisor. (I'm very dependent on Tripadvisor for my travels). Posted on the forum, but it didn't do me a lot of help. The only comment received was that Tipolo is next to a disco and that it's very noisy.

It is true - the resort is located next to the only disco in Panagsama beach, but the disco is only open on Saturday nights. Furthermore, from my room I can only hear the bass. So it's actually alright. Unless you really need a totally quiet environment to sleep in, this shouldn't bother you.

My boyfriend and I were at Tipolo from Aug 2 to Aug 13 and we really enjoyed our stay because:
1) Staff was always warm and hospitable - we always felt welcome and they were always eager to help
2) Room was always kept very clean despite us making it sandy
3) Location is as I liked - 5 min walk to the "center" where most of the restaurants were, meant that fewer people in the area. They have a private beach as well.
4) Owners (Jochen & Jinky) are very friendly people. Definitely not shifty. Jochen always enjoys chatting over beers and Jinky is very sweet, very helpful. Enjoyed many hours chatting with them. Also very impressed by how environmentally-conscious they are. And Jochen is always prompt to reply via email... I must've sent him like a thousand messages but he's been very patient.
5) Great adventure tours are offered by Planet Action (see my upcoming review)

If I'm forced to say something I dislike about them, the only thing I can find is that they have too few deluxe rooms! We stayed in a standard room as all the deluxe rooms were taken when we arrived. Could have changed rooms but got too comfortable to bother. Heard from Jochen that they are building more rooms though. Cheers to that!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvereve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipoloresort, Manager at Tipolo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2009

Hi Evelyn,

thanks a lot for this review, hope to see soon again,

Tipolo Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Damien R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moalboal hotels
3.2 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 7 in Moalboal
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
0.2 mi away
Savedra Beach Resort
Savedra Beach Resort
#6 of 7 in Moalboal
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
#1 of 26 in Moalboal
526 reviews
1.1 mi away
Turtle Bay Dive Resort
Turtle Bay Dive Resort
#3 of 7 in Moalboal
287 reviews
2.2 mi away
Moalboal Tropics
Moalboal Tropics
#6 of 26 in Moalboal
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tipolo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipolo Beach Resort

Address: Panagsama Beach, Moalboal 6032, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Moalboal
Price Range: $31 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tipolo Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tipolo Beach Resort is located at Panagsama beach in Moalboal on Cebu Island - one of the best dive and adventure destination in the Philippines. Recently build and centrally located to scuba diving, sporting activities and renowned Moalboal and Cebu islands attractions. With so many things to see and do, it is the perfect place to enjoy all Moalboal and Cebu Island has to offer. Our beaches boast the best diving and snorkeling access around. Adventurers can try river climbing, volcano hiking, horse back riding, mountain biking or canyoning for a thrill, or, if relaxation is more your style, there is no better place to do nothing at all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Tipolo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tipolo Beach Hotel Moalboal
Tipolo Beach Resort Moalboal, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing