We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tipolo Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 24 Moalboal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Sea-facing rooms are really seaview room. Seaview are all blocked by tall trees, which is quite disappointing. Anyway, you could have the full seaview at sunbeds corners. I saw the most attractive sunset there. It was amazing.

Beside the window view, everything it offers are just prefect.

Snorkeling right in front of the resort was a nice experience to me. There is quite many small fishes and corals below water. It was fun to see it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveltannat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 178 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2011

Lovely place to stay, clean and comfortable. Excellent location for snorkling just outside, and for going to sleep to the sound of the sea... And, very thoughtfully, there's free drinking water! The only negatives, no mozzie net provided (take your own if you're tasty!) and the bedside lamps are too dim to read by.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank splashthefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stayed at Tipolo for 2 nights ['villa queen size bed']. . We were aware that the balcony would not be sea-facing but little did we expect it to be overlooking the lane right below. What's worse, the balcony was not private - the adjacent room also had access to it. If you tried to draw the flimsy curtains, the curtain rods just fell off the hooks!
There were frequent power outages (because of the rains) and the water supply also seemed to stop at these times.
In short, we felt as though we were robbed of a 'holiday feeling'

pros: room tariff (cheap), electronic safe in the room, nice food at the restaurant, close to Kawasan falls and the resort offers adventure packages for those who are into that kind of thing.

Please make sure you DO NOT take the villa - insist on a sea-facing room. Those looked quite nice (although you might still have trouble with power/water).

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momoftwobrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights at the Tipolo last month. Strongly recommend the adventure tours offered with Planet Action. We did the snorkelling and the river trekking, and both were just amazing. Snorkelling we saw a wall of sardines, a turtle, a lobster and a lion fish amongst so much else - more than anything else we saw in the rest of the Philippines. The river trek is simply a must do if you're in good physical condition and don't mind climbing waterfalls. I'd never done anything quite like it - but the guides were great and they will help get you through it!

Other than the spotless room, brilliant adventures, and the warm and friendly hospitality, the food was exquisite. I have eaten all over the world, and it's very rare to be served such fine food at such reasonable prices. The tomato soup was delicious - the Thai curry and the pizza - all splendid. Even if you're not lucky enough to stay at the Tipolo - make sure you go there for a meal. The food is THAT good.

I could see that if you aren't into action or diving then Moalboal may not be for you - but the food and hospitality and general atmosphere at the Tipolo are enough to justify a good few days here.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank osouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Our room, which was in its own little wooden cabin, was spotlessley clean, and cleaned every day. Despite the terrible weather we had a lovely stay! The staff were so lovely and friendly. The restaurant was brilliant quality and value - really it was all just perfect!
I would love to stay there again xxx

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sixty_monroes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

My son and I stayed at Tipolo for several days in January 2011, one of several stops on our Philippine adventure. The resort is very attractive with nice landscaping and very comfortable and well appointed rooms. What really stood out, however, was the friendliness and courtesy of the staff and the owners - we truly felt like family friends. The attached restaurant, Last Filling Station, offered excellent food at very good prices and offers a brick oven for delicious pizzas. Combined with a cold San Miguel - perfect! This was the most relaxing vacation stay that I have had in many years. I plan to return next year, with my wife this time, and am already looking forward to the trip.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 622fnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Tipolo Beach Resort basically allows us to relax and to have fun, depending on your preference. Tipolo have the best people there. One fine example would be the boss. Rarely do you see at any other resort that the boss actually bothers to come out and have a beer/chat with you! Another would be the Adventure guides. They are REALLY REALLY friendly..so is the boss.

The place alone is quiet and calm. The resort is located in such a way that you can actually see the sunset just by taking a maximum of 10 steps out of your room! If you want a better view, you can just walk down the steps to the beach!

Overall, my stay at Tipolo Beach Resort is by far the best place i've ever stayed apart from my home! (;

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adventureboy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moalboal hotels
0.2 mi away
Savedra Beach Resort
Savedra Beach Resort
#6 of 7 in Moalboal
84 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 7 in Moalboal
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
#1 of 24 in Moalboal
485 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mayas Native Garden
Mayas Native Garden
#8 of 24 in Moalboal
134 reviews
2.9 mi away
Moalboal Beach Resort
Moalboal Beach Resort
#12 of 24 in Moalboal
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tipolo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipolo Beach Resort

Address: Panagsama Beach, Moalboal 6032, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Moalboal
Price Range: $26 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tipolo Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tipolo Beach Resort is located at Panagsama beach in Moalboal on Cebu Island - one of the best dive and adventure destination in the Philippines. Recently build and centrally located to scuba diving, sporting activities and renowned Moalboal and Cebu islands attractions. With so many things to see and do, it is the perfect place to enjoy all Moalboal and Cebu Island has to offer. Our beaches boast the best diving and snorkeling access around. Adventurers can try river climbing, volcano hiking, horse back riding, mountain biking or canyoning for a thrill, or, if relaxation is more your style, there is no better place to do nothing at all. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tipolo Beach Hotel Moalboal
Tipolo Beach Resort Moalboal, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing